Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Svenska Akademiens Ordbok (SAOB)


Svenska Akademiens ordbok (SAOB) är en historisk ordbok som beskriver svenskt skrift­språk från 1521 till våra dagar och omfattar 37 band och cirka 500 000 uppslags­ord. Det första bandet trycktes år 1898, det senaste 2019. Idag är artiklarna a - väva färdiga och publicerade. Ordboken är ett viktigt hjälpmedel framför allt vid läsning av äldre texter, och den riktar sig såväl till forskare som till alla andra som är intresserade av ord och uttryck.

Sök i tre ordböcker på en gång  
På denna sida kan du söka i de tre ordböckerna ordlistan SAOL, den historiska ­ordboken SAOB, och  ordboken över modern svenska SO, samtidigt.


The Swedish Academy Dictionary (SAOB) is a comprehensive historical dictionary published by the Swedish Academy, covering the entire modern Swedish period from 1521 onwards. Everyone with an interest in languages and words can enjoy the Swedish Academy Dictionary but it is principally geared to linguists, historians, genealogists and others that require help with the reading of ancient texts. The nearest parallels to the Swedish Academy Dictionary are the Oxford English Dictionary and Grimm’s Deutsches Wörterbuch. Please note that SAOB is only available in Swedish.

Search three dictionaries at once
On this website you can search in The Swedish Academy Glossary (SAOL), the historical dictionary The Swedish Academy Dictionary (SAOB), and the dictionary of modern Swedish, The Contemporary Dictionary of the Swedish Academy (SO), at the same time. Please note that all three are only available in Swedish.

Information

Name Svenska Akademiens Ordbok (SAOB)
Publisher/Provider Svenska Akademien & Svenska Akademiens ordboksredaktion i Lund
Subjects included Multidisciplinary
Type of resource Reference
Fulltext format HTML
Accessibility Free
Login authentication required No
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline  - -
Download to a portable device - -
Copying - -
Printing - -
Text to speech - -
Export references - -
Export formats - -
How do I suggest a purchase - -
Restrictions No
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån - -
Text and Data Mining Policy - -
Miscellaneous - -