Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Springer Nature Experiments

In July 2018 the Springer Protocols platform was permanently closed and all content migrated to the new Springer Nature Experiments platform. Springer Nature Experiments is a database of more than 55,000 reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences (November 2019) with about 3,000 protocols added annually. Included are protocols from Humana’s book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Please note that the actual protocols content is hosted on SpringerLink for integrated search with Springer journals and eBooks. Springer Nature Experiments itself does not host any full-text content.

Springer Nature Experiments contains three collections, the libraries at Lund University have access to all of them:

Springer Protocols  -  All 15 subject collections. Springer Protocols are ebooks and can be downloaded either by chapter (PDF) or as a complete book in PDF or EPUB format.
Nature Protocols  -  From volume 1 (1) 2006 to present. Nature Protocols are journals and can only be downloaded by article (PDF).
Nature Methods  -  From volume 1 (1) 2004 to present. Nature Methods are journals and can only be downloaded by article (PDF).

Information about downloading Springer Protocols on SpringerLink
Springer offers "full book download functionality", this means that you can download all chapters of an ebook in one go in PDF or EPUB format. The complete ebook and chapters are available to subscribed users without restrictions, but please note that "without restrictions" only mean that the books are free of DRM (Digital Rights Management). Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may still only download individual items, i.e. one (1) article, chapter or ebook for personal use, for educational, scientific or research purposes. For non-subscribed ebooks, the first two (2) pages can be viewed.
Exceptions: The full book download is NOT available for ebooks with over 100 chapters, Major Reference Works and some of the major book series (e.g. LNCS).

Information

Name Springer Nature Experiments
Publisher/Provider Springer Nature
Subjects included Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, Biotechnology, Cancer Research, Cell Biology, Genetics/Genomics, Imaging/Radiology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology/Toxicology, Plant Science, Protein Science.
Type of resource Platform with articles, chapters and ebooks in fulltext
Fulltext format HTML, PDF, EPUB (ebooks only)
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, the PDF- and EPUB-files can be downloaded. Springer support any device by automatically adjusting the site-setup that is optimal for the screensize of the device that is used.
Download to a portable device Yes
Copying Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may download and print individual items solely for educational, personal, scientific, or research purposes. By individual item is meant one (1) article or chapter but not a complete book unless specifically stated.
Printing Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may download and print individual items solely for educational, personal, scientific, or research purposes. By individual item is meant one (1) article or chapter but not a complete book unless specifically stated.
Text to speech Yes/No, the PDF-files are compatible with text-to-speech software but the HTML-files are not.
Export references Yes
Export formats Formats for Springer Protocols. RIS: Papers, Reference Manager, RefWorks, Zotero. ENW: EndNote. BIB: BibTeX, JabRef, Mendeley.
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Springers fulltext content, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries from designated terminals.
Course Packs: Registered students and staff may use single articles, chapters and other individual items of the content for the preparation of academic and educational course materials including print-outs and copies in print, with all the rights notices duly presented. If you are in doubt as to what is allowed, always ask Springer first.
Obtaining permissions: If you would like to reuse Springer content in a journal (print/online), book (hardcopy or electronic), doctoral thesis, research project etc, you must request permission first. Springer offers a variety of options for reusing Springer content via the Copyright Clearance Center.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, Springer allows for ILL requests to non-commercial libraries for personal, educational, scientific, or research purposes. Single items (one chapter or article) may be sent by post, fax or secure electronic transmission. The electronic file must retain the relevant copyright notice and be deleted immediately after printing.

Text and Data Mining Policy

 
Miscellaneous Please note that Springers MyCopy Print On Demand (POD) service is not available for users at Lund University.