Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Benezit Dictionary of Artists


Benezit Dictionary of Artists was first published in 1911 and is one of the most comprehensive resource of artists’ biographies available. Benezit include entries on obscure artists, historic auction records, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps of sale. Benezit is continually updated, with a special focus on contemporary artists with current or recent exhibitions. Updates aslo reflect new scholarship, with new articles and images, revised articles, additions to bibliographies, and corrections.
Lund University also subscribes to Oxford Art Online and Grove Dictionary of Art which means that you can cross-search these resources simultaneously.  

Our subscription also includes these art reference works on the Oxford Reference platform: the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Information

Name Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Publisher/Provider Oxford University Press
Subjects included See General information
Type of resource Dictionary
Fulltext format  
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download  - -
Download and read offline  
Download to a portable device  
Copying  
Printing You may print a single copy of an individual entry, article or other single item for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use.
Text to speech No
Export references Yes
Export formats EndNote, ProCite, ReferenceManager, RefWorks
How do I suggest a purchase  
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to the dictionaries, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Course Packs: Authorized users (registered students and staff) may incorporate single portions of individual chapters in printed or electronic course packs for the use of authorized users for educational purpose. Each course pack must carry acknowledgement of the source. All copies (print and electronic) of the course packs must be deleted when the course ends. Please note that electronic course packs may not in in any way or form be posted on the Internet.
Pass on documents: No, students, teachers and researchers may not pass on copies (in print or electronically) of licensed material to other students, teachers and researchers at Lund University, not even for research, private study or otherwise.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another publicly funded library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper or electronic copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study, but not for commercial use. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving library and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. Please note that by ‘Document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy OUP recognizes the research benefit of Text and Data Mining (TDM) across a variety of research fields. As such, they are happy to accommodate TDM for non-commercial use. If you have any questions please e-mail Data.Mining@oup.com
Miscellaneous