Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Oxford Research Encyclopedias

 

Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) are digital Encyclopedias for advanced scientists, researchers, scholars and students composed of peer-reviewed overview articles that map the entirety of a field of study. OREs offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars of the topic. Multi-media features are embedded in the articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content. Each of the encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. ORE currently consists of eighteen subject modules, Lund University subscribes to two modules:

  • Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • Politics

Please note that a number of articles in all modules are free to read for non-subscribers. In seven modules all content is currently available to read without a subscription, these modules will however require payment/subscription in 2020/21. Some of these modules only have article summaries.
Paywall as of April 2020: Neuroscience, Business and Management, Economics and Finance
Paywall as of September 2020: Planetary Science, Global Public Health, Anthropology
Paywall as of September 2021: Physics

Information

Name Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Publisher/Provider Oxford University Press
Subjects included Criminlogy, Criminal Justice, Politics
Type of resource Platform with ebooks in fulltext.
Fulltext format HTML, PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time).
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, if the device supports PDF format and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Download to a portable device Yes, if the device supports PDF format and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Copying You can save or print individual articles to PDF from articles to which you have access. To generate a PDF of an individual article, simply click on the "View PDF" link at the top right of the entry text, then download or print the PDF using your web browser. You are limited by copyright restrictions to the amount of information you can print or download. It is very important that you read the Legal Notice, which includes information on printing and downloading PDFs, before printing and downloading anything from the ORE.
Printing To print any article, click the printer icon at the top right of the page, which will take you to a printer-friendly display page that you can print using your web browser. It is very important that you read the Legal Notice, which includes information on printing and downloading PDFs, before printing and downloading anything from the ORE.
Text to speech Information not available
Export references Yes
Export formats ProCite, RefWorks, Reference Manager, BibTeX, Zotero, EndNote
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Oxford Research Encyclopedias, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Permissions: In order to reuse, reproduce, digitize or translate any excerpt, article and image from the OREs, you need to fill out a permissions request form, available at https://global.oup.com/academic/rights/permissions/
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another publicly funded library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper or electronic copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study, but not for commercial use. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving library and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. Please note that by ‘Document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining Policy OUP recognizes the research benefit of Text and Data Mining (TDM) across a variety of research fields. As such, they are happy to accommodate TDM for non-commercial use. If you have any questions please e-mail Data.Mining@oup.com
Miscellaneous You can create a personal profile to allow you to save content and searches for future visits.