Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: The Danish Language and Literature Society (DSL)


The Danish Language and Literature Society / Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL) was founded in 1911 and publish dictionaries, literature and historical sources that documents the Danish language and culture from ancient times to the present day. Some of the publications can be accessed online on e-Ordbøger (e-Dictionaries) and Ordnet.dk.
e-Dictionaries provide free online access to a wide range of Danish dictionaries and linguistic reference works. The dictionaries are also available as an app for iPhone and Android.

These are some of the dictionaries that are available:

Svensk-Dansk Ordbog / Swedish-Danish Dictionary
  The dictionary provides information about the Swedish language in such a way that it not only solves the Danish user's specific problem with this or that specific Swedish word and expression, but also provides the interested user with further information, e.g. about synonyms, meaning-related words and derivatives and compositions.
Ordbog over det danske Sprog / Dictionary of the Danish Language (ODS) ODS is also called "the Great Danish Dictionary" and is a historical dictionary that deals with the Danish language from 1700 to 1950, with Supplements 1 - 33. The dictionary is the largest that has been developed for the Danish language.
Den Danske Ordbog / The Danish Dictionary (DDO)  DDO describes the vocabulary in modern Danish from approximately 1955 to today. It gives information about the spelling, inflection, pronunciation, origin, meaning and use of the words. The dictionary is updated continously.

Information

Name Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL)
Publisher/Provider Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL)
Subjects included - -
Type of resource Platform with ebooks in fulltext.
Fulltext format  
Accessibility  
Login authentication required No
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time).
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline No, but an app is available for iPhone and Android
Download to a portable device  
Copying  
Printing  
Text to speech  
Export references  
Export formats  
How do I suggest a purchase - -
Restrictions
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån No
Text and Data Mining Policy No
Miscellaneous