Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selection of Printed Reference Books at the LUX Library
Christianity : the complete guide by
A monumental and authoritative work covering every aspect of Christianity and the impact it has made on the world, throughout history and to the present day. This is the complete guide to the astonishing heritage of Christianity worldwide.
Dictionary of Christian Biography by
There are, within this dictionary, the brief biographies of rather more than 6500 Christians. They have been selected for inclusion in this volume because, in their public lives, their commitment to Christianity played an important part.
Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations by
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
This reference is a pioneering work which explores and defines the many factors which characterise the historic and ongoing relationship between the two traditions. From Aaron to Zionism, the editors have brought together over 700 entries--including events, institutions, movements, people, places and publications--contributed by more than 100 internationally renowned scholars. The Dictionary, compiled under the auspices of the Cambridge-based Centre for the Study of Jewish-Christian Relations, offers a focus for the study and understanding of Jewish-Christian relations internationally, both within and between Judaism and Christianity.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (18 vol.) by
An international work of reference on the teachings, history, organization, and activities of the Catholic Church, and on all institutions, religions, philosophies, and scientific and cultural developments affecting the Catholic Church from its beginning to the present.
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church by
From Library Journal 1997: It will come as no surprise to those already familiar with earlier editions (1957, 1974) that the third edition of this title remains unrivaled as the authoritative one-volume dictionary of the Christian church, its doctrines and practices, and its most influential historical figures. In addition, the reader will find a host of entries pertaining to the Bible and its world.
Theologische Realenzyklopädie (36 vol. + register) by
Produktinformation: Since the publication of its first installment in 1976, the Theologische Realenzyklopädie (TRE) has provided a comprehensive account of the state of theological research. Some 2000 articles present a multitude of historical and theological data in their context of faith and thought, theology and religion. A multidisciplinary approach integrates into the theological account not only the disciplines of Old Testament and New Testament Studies, Church History, and Systematic and Practical Theology but also Judaic Studies, Religious Studies and Philosophy.
Selection of Reference Books Online via Lund University Libraries
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity by
Publication Date: Print publication date: 2001
Product description: Containing over 700 articles, this Dictionary allows the reader to explore Eastern Christian civilization in its cultural and religious riches. The articles are written by an international team of fifty contributors, including leading histoians, theologians, linguists, philosophers, musicians, and scholars of liturgy and iconography.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide to every aspect of the Christian Religion and life, including theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible. There are also many entries on theologians, philosophers, painters, musicians, and writers of religious works. It is up to date with contemporary issues, covering the Eastern Churches, issues on moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council, Black Churches, Christian attitudes to Jews, Feminist Theology, the Holiness Movement, Liberation Theology, and the ordination of women.
Oxford Dictionary of Popes by
Publication Date: 2010
Product description: This fascinating dictionary gives concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. Also, an appendix provides a detailed discussion and analysis of the tradition that there has been a female pope. This new edition reflects the very latest in papal research and contains additional information in the further reading sections of each entry, making the book an even more useful starting place for research into specific pontiffs.
Oxford Dictionary of Saints by
Publication Date: 2011-06-04
Praised as "splendid" (The Economist) and "the kind of book that gives hagiography a good name" (The Times), this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, theOxford Dictionary of Saintsoffers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world. Ranging from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated, the saints profiled here come from all walks of life, from all periods of history, and from around the world, reflecting a wide variety of personalities and achievements. This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts.
Original Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive resource on Catholic teaching, history, and information ever gathered in all of human history. This easy-to-search online version was originally printed between 1907 and 1912 in fifteen hard copy volumes.