Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Printed Handbooks at the LUX library
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture
Länken leder till träfflista i Libris över LUX-bibliotekets bestånd.
Product description: The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture (ACCS) does what very few of today's students of the Bible could do for themselves. With the aid of computer technology, the vast array of writings from the church fathers—including much that is available only in the ancient languages—have been combed for their comment on Scripture. From these results, scholars with a deep knowledge of the fathers and a heart for the church have hand selected material for each volume, shaping, annotating and introducing it to today's readers. Each portion of commentary has been chosen for its salient insight, its rhetorical power and its faithful representation of the consensual exegesis of the early church.
Byzantine Hagiography. Vol. 1, Periods and places by
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
The contents of this book cover the life of St. Antony between biography and hagiography, Greek hagiography in late antiquity, the hagiography of the eleventh and twelfth centuries, and much more.
Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature by
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
The writings of the Church Fathers form a distinct body of literature that shaped the early church and built upon the doctrinal foundations of Christianity established within the New Testament. Christian literature in the period c. 100ndash;c. 400 constitutes one of the most influential textual oeuvres of any religion. Written mainly in Greek, Latin and Syriac, Patristic literature emanated from all parts of the early Christian world and helped to extend its boundaries. The History offers a systematic account of that literature and its setting. The works of individual writers in shaping the various genres of Christian literature is considered, alongside three general essays, covering distinct periods in the development of Christian literature, which survey the social, cultural and doctrinal context within which Christian literature arose and was used by Christians. This is a landmark reference book for scholars and students alike.
Christianity in the Later Roman Empire by
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
This sourcebook gathers into a single collection the writings that illuminate one of the most fundamental periods in the history of Christian Europe. Beginning from the Great Persecution of Diocletian and the conversion of Constantine the first Christian Roman emperor, the volume explores Christianity's rise as the dominant religion of the Later Roman empire and how the Church survived the decline and fall of Roman power in the west and converted the Germanic tribes who swept into the western empire. These years of crisis and transformation inspired generations of great writers, among them Eusebius of Caesarea, Ammianus Marcellinus, Julian 'the Apostate', Ambrose of Milan, John Chrysostom, Jerome and Augustine of Hippo. They were also years which saw Christianity face huge challenges on many crucial questions, from the evolution of Christian doctrine and the rise of asceticism to the place of women in the early Church and the emerging relationship between Church and state. All these themes will be made accessible to specialists and general readers alike, and the sourcebook will be invaluable for students and teachers of courses in history and church history, the world of late antiquity, and religious studies.
Church in Ancient Society by
Publication Date: 2002-02-28
'This is a tour de force by a great scholar... a magisterial account of the doctrinal and institutional history of the early Church, particularly in the east Roman provinces. The easy style, not without a sprinkling of colloquialisms, conceals the author's great learning and enthusiasm for his subject... Henry Chadwick's book will remain a standard work on the history of early Christianity for the forseeable future.' -English Historical Review'
Early Christian World (2 vol.) by
Publication Date: 2000
Product description: The Early Christian World, Volumes 1 and 2, presents an exhaustive, erudite and lavishly illustrated treatment of how the small movement which formed around Jesus i Galilee became the pre-eminent religion of the ancient world.
Fathers of the Church by
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
"The Fathers of the Church: A Comprehensive Introduction presents the most important authors and works of the early history of Christian literature. Spanning the first seven hundred years of Christianity, Hubertus R. Drobner introduces writers such as Philo, Origen, Eusebius, Jerome, and Augustine, among many others. All of the authors are presented in their respective political, social, ecclesiastical, and cultural contexts, and are organized in terms of bibliographies, editions, English translations, ancillary sources, and relevant literature."--BOOK JACKET.
Handbuch der Patristik : Quellentexte zur Theologie der Kirchenväter by
Publication Date: 2010
Product description: Das Handbuch der Patristik enthält repräsentative Quellentexte zu den Grundlagen frühchristlicher Glaubensreflexion (1. - 7. Jahrhundert). Die in systematischer Perspektive zusammangestellten Aussagen der Kirchenväter zeigen, wie Theologie in ihren Anfängen verstanden und vollzogen wurde, welchen Prinzipien sie folgte und welcher Methoden sie sich bediente. 841 Auszüge aus griechischen, lateinischen und syrischen Autoren sowie frühchristlichen Konzilien vermitteln ein differenziertes udn facettenreiches Bild des Glaubensdenkens der alten Kirche insgesamt. Kurze Einleitungen und erläuternde Anmerkungen ergänzen und erschliessen die Texte.
Theologie der Kirchenväter : Grundlagen frühchristlicher Glaubensreflexion by
Publication Date: 2010
Product description: Die neue Monographie zur Patristik schließt die Lücke zwischen Handbüchern zur Patrologie (Altaner, Drobner, LACL) einerseits und Darstellungen der frühchristlichen Dogmen- und Theologiegeschichte andererseits. Während dort Leben und Schriften der frühchristlichen Autoren sowie der Inhalt ihrer Lehren in ihrer geschichtlichen Entwicklung behandelt werden, nimmt das vorliegende Werk vor allem Selbstverständnis und Orientierungspunkte der Kirchenvätertheologie in den Blick. Dem Lehrbuch geht es um eine die gesamte patristische Epoche umfassende Darstellung der theologischen Methode der Kirchenväter.
Handbooks Online via Lund University Libraries
Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this inter-disciplinary field over recent decades. As a one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines the vast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity. It is thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. It contains authoritative and up-to-date surveys of current thinking and research in the various sub-specialties of early Christian studies, written by leading figures in the discipline. The essays orientate readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Each essay points the reader towards relevant forms of extant evidence (texts, documents, or examples of materialculture), as well as to the appropriate research tools available for the area. This volume will be useful to advanced undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as to specialists in any area who wish to consult a brief review of the 'state of the question' in a particular area or sub-specialty of early Christian studies, especially one different from their own.