Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selection of Printed Dictionaries at the LUX Library
Selection of Dictionaries Online via Lund University Libraries
Open Access Dictionaries, see box below.
Database of Latin Dictionaries Online, DLD
The BREPOLS Database of Latin Dictionaries is comprised of a large number of Latin dictionaries and contain three kinds of dictionaries:
* Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages.
* Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words.
* Historical Latin dictionaries.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online features advanced search options, as well as extensive cross-references and full-text search functionality using the Hebrew character set. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information. New content will be added on an annual basis.
Etymological Dictionary of
• Proto-Germanic – forthcoming
• Old Frisian
• Persian – forthcoming
• Iranian Verb
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus Online
J. F. Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is a highly practical lexicon, providing researchers, teaching staff and students in the field of Medieval History with concise, essential information. This new online edition, still the “compendious lexicon for rapid information” envisaged by Niermeyer, recreates the second print edition (2002) on Brill’s Dictionary Platform , providing French, English and German translations for every entry of a Medieval Latin concept and searches on lemma and full text: searches can be refined by century of use. All entries are contextualized with relevant text passages. The Niermeyer Lexicon Minus has proved to be invaluable to medievalists for almost 50 years and is an indispensable working tool for academic libraries.
The version of Niermeyer that forms the basis of Niermeyer Online is the 2nd revised edition (2002) with an estimated 10% new / updated material over the 1st (1976) edition.
NE:s ordböcker (Dictionaries)
Dictionaries to and from Swedish and English, German, Italien, Spanish, French and Arabic and from Swedish to another 16 modern languages.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae ( TLL )
The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
Selection of Open Access Dictionaries