Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selection of Websites
Arabic and English commentaries on the Qur’an.
From the website: Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
A part of Internet History Sourcebooks Project, editor Paul Halsall, Fordham University, New York
Internet Sacred Text Archive: Islam
Qur'an; Hadith; Sufi Texts; Islamic History and Culture; Islamic Date
Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University Library)
From the website: Through the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.
Islamic Manuscripts at Michigan
The site displays descriptive information for a selection of digitized manuscripts from the Islamic Manuscripts Collection at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. The descriptions posted here were created during the course of a recent project to see the collection fully catalogued.
This is an electronic version of The Holy Qur'an, translated by M.H. Shakir and published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an, Inc., in 1983. The text was provided by the Online Book Initiative and subsequently marked up at the HTI in SGML. Like all the versions of this text derived from the Online Book Initiative, it is not free from errors and represents the text as published. We will strive to correct any transcription errors pointed out to us.
Koranen i översättning (i urval) av Mohammed Knut Bernström
The Noble Quran (Multilingual)
Arabic; Shakir (English); Abdullah Yusufali (English); Pickthal (English); Pooya/M.A. Ali Engl. Commentary
Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts
From the website: As a result of generous support from the David A. Gardner '69 Magic Project, the Princeton University Library created Voyager cataloging records for most of the approximately 9,500 Islamic manuscripts in the Manuscripts Division, which are from Robert Garrett (Class of 1897) and other sources. This is the premier collection of Arabic, Persian, Ottoman Turkish, and other Islamic manuscripts in the Western Hemisphere. Initially, more than 200 of these manuscripts were digitized as the core of the Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts.
Quran in English and Arabic with audio
From the website: "English Translation by Talal Itani. Arabic Text from Tanzil.net"
Quran in English - Clear and Easy to Read
From the website: "Quran in Today's English. Clear and Easy to Read. Translated by Talal Itani."
The Quranic Arabic Corpus
From the website: Welcome to the Quranic Arabic Corpus, an annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.
Tanzil - Quran Navigator
From the website: "Tanzil is an international Quranic project aimed at providing a highly-verified precise Quran text."
Yemeni Manuscript Digitization Initiative
From the website: The private manuscript libraries of Yemen, estimated at 50,000 codices, constitutes the largest and most important set of unexamined Arabic manuscripts in the world today. The Yemeni Manuscript Digitization Initiative presents, for the first time, access to manuscripts from three private libraries in Sanaa, Yemen, and virtually conjoins them to additional Yemeni manuscripts held by the Princeton University Library and Staatsbibliothek, Berlin.
Archnet is pleased to offer open access to a very unique set of resources related to the built environment of the Muslim world. These archives, images, drawings, publications, seminar proceedings, articles, serials and project documentation comprise an unparalleled resource and research tool for the study of Islamic art and architecture. They bring together donated photo collections, journals published around the world, monographs and architect’s archives that are linked to sites, people, publications and other related materials. These resources are updated on a regular basis and new materials are always in the pipeline. Enjoy your browsing.
Islam and Islamic Studies Resources
From the website: "At the core of this website are short introductory essays on various aspects of Islam containing numerous annotated links..."
Islamic Manuscript Studies (University of Michigan Library)
From the website: This guide offers resources for the study of the manuscripts and manuscript cultures of the Islamic world.
From the website: "Welcome to Tanzil, a Quranic project aimed at providing a highly verified precise Quran text. ...Tanzil is an independent international project, and does not belong to any sect, organization, or country."