Websites - General - Religious Roots of Europe (RRE)

Selection of Websites

Web Directories

Safir
A virtual reference library published by the University Library in Lund.

Sources

Classical Latin Texts
A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature (virtually all classical literary texts up to A.D. 200, together with a few later texts (Servius, Porphyry, Justinian, Zeno)), as well as the Latin Vulgate, the Hebrew Bible, the Greek New Testament, the Septuagint, the Coptic New Testament, the King James Bible, the Revised Standard Bible, and Milton's Paradise Lost and Defensionem regiam.
Corpus Corporum : repositorium operum Latinorum apud universitatem Turicensem
The site mlat.uzh.ch is a Latin text (meta-)repository and tool under way of development...This Corpus Córporum is being developed at the University of Zurich under the direction of Ph. Roelli, Institute for Greek and Latin Philology.
more...less...
Content eg. : Biblia; Aristotelis Physica latine versa; Patrologia Latina; Grammatici Latini

The project uses exclusively free and open software and is non-commercial. Our main goals are:

- To provide a platform into which standardised (TEI) xml-files of Latin texts can be loaded (if you would like to share your texts, please contact us) and downloaded (unless copyrights or the texts' providers restrict this).
- To make these texts searchable in complex manners (including proximity search and lemmatised search). Search results, wordlists and concordances can be generated for the current text level at the bottom left of the page (we use the open-source software Sphinx).
- To be able to use the platform to publish Latin texts online (cf. the Richard Rufus Project's corpus).
- Texts may be downloaded as TEI xml or txt-files for non-commercial use (in snippets also as pdf) and can thus be reused by other researchers.

The texts are divided into corpora on a specific topic that can be searched and studied separately: the first such corpus consists of ten translations of Aristotle's Physica into Latin. They were used to study how technical Greek language could be translated into Latin. Word frequency lists are also on the server. This study was published in two papers.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Text Creation Partnership
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Text Creation Partnership has converted more than 25,000 public domain texts included in EEBO into free, publicly accessible versions.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) - Text Creation Partnership.
ECCO is a digital collection of books published in Great Britain during the 18th century. Text Creation Partnership has converted more than 2000 public domain texts included in ECCO into free, publicly accessible versions.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Im Rahmen der dMGH wurden in einem von der DFG geförderten Gemeinschaftsprojekt zwischen den MGH und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, München, sämtliche Editionsbände der MGH digitalisiert und Open Access zur Verfügung gestellt. Neue Bände werden nach einer Schutzfrist von drei Jahren in die dMGH aufgenommen („moving wall“). Bis Ende 2010 war die Volltexterfassung der älteren Bände abgeschlossen.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project (also known as the Perseus Hopper) is a digital library project of Tufts University... The project assembles digital collections of humanities resources.

Other selected websites

ETANA : Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives
ETANA is a multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East.