Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Printed Handbooks at the LUX Library
Islam in the Indian Subcontinent by
Publication Date: 1980-12-01
'...highly interpretative history...reflects the author's immense erudition in the field and her personal predilection for the religious and mystical aspects of Islamic civilization.'Yohanan Friedmann, Asian and African Studies, 1985.'It possesses all the qualities of a good handbook and as such it must be judged. It is concise and compendious and yet clear and lucid.'Jan Marek, Archív Orientální, 1985.'...a worthy summary of Islam in the Indian subcontinent.''This book is a welcome summary of, and addition to, the literature on Islam in India.'Frank Whaling, Bibliotheca Orientalis, 1982.'...will have a great appeal to all those interested in the history of Islam in India and is ideally suited to the needs of university students of the subject.'D.J. Matthews, Bulletin of the SOAS, 1982.
New Cambridge History of Islam (vol. 1-6)
Publication Date: 2010
Länk till volym 1. Övriga se Libris/Lovisa.
The New Cambridge History of Islam is a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today. The six volumes reflect the geographical distribution and the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world. Four volumes cover historical developments and two are devoted to themes that cut across geographical and chronological divisions, ranging from social, political and economic relations to the arts, literature and learning. Each volume's introduction sets the scene for the ensuing chapters and examines relationships with adjacent civilizations. Written by a team combining established authorities and rising scholars in the field, this will be the standard reference for students, scholars and all those with enquiring minds for years to come.
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology by
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
Within the field of Islamic Studies, scientific research of Muslim theology is a comparatively young discipline. Much progress has been achieved over the past decades with respect both to discoveries of new materials and to scholarly approaches to the field. The Oxford Handbook of IslamicTheology provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the current state of the field. It provides a variegated picture of the state of the art and at the same time suggests new directions for future research.
Oxford History of Islam by
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Lavishly illustrated with over 300 pictures, including more than 200 in full color, The Oxford History of Islam offers the most wide-ranging and authoritative account available of the second largest--and fastest growing--religion in the world. John L. Esposito, Editor-in-Chief of the four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, has gathered together sixteen leading scholars, both Muslim and non-Muslim, to examine the origins and historical development of Islam--its faith, community, institutions, sciences, and arts. Beginning in the pre-Islamic Arab world, the chapters range from the story of Muhammad and his Companions, to the development of Islamic religion and culture and the empires that grew from it, to the influence that Islam has on today's world. The book covers a wide array of subjects, casting light on topics such as the historical encounter of Islam and Christianity, the role of Islam in the Mughal and Ottoman empires, the growth of Islam in Southeast Asia, China, and Africa, the political, economic, and religious challenges of European imperialism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and Islamic communities in the modern Western world. In addition, the book offers excellent articles on Islamic religion, art and architecture, and sciences as well as bibliographies. Events in the contemporary world have led to an explosion of interest and scholarly work on Islam. Written for the general reader but also appealing to specialists, The Oxford History of Islam offers the best of that recent scholarship, presented in a readable style and complemented by a rich variety of illustrations.
Handbooks Online via Lund University Libraries
Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought by
Publication Date: 2006
The Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought reflects the variety of trends, voices, and opinions in the contemporary Muslim intellectual scene. Challenges Western misconceptions about the modern Muslim world in general and the Arab world in particular. Consists of 36 important essays written by contemporary Muslim thinkers and scholars. Covers issues such as Islamic tradition, modernity, globalization, feminism, the West, the USA, reform, and secularism. Helps readers to situate Islamic intellectual history in the context of Western intellectual trends.
Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an by
Publication Date: 2006
The Blackwell Companion to the Qur’an is the ideal resource for anyone who wishes to read and understand the Qur’an as a text and as a vital piece of Muslim life. The volume is divided into accessible sections, including an initial orientation to the text for the first-time reader. The Companion then goes on to consider: • •The structure of the Qur’an, asking why it looks the way it does. •The content of the Qur’an and what the text is about. •The rhetoric of the Qur’an and how it conveys its message. •How Muslims have interpreted the text. •The place of the Qur’an in the religion of Islam. •The manifestation of the Qur’an in the world. The main body of the book comprises over 30 original essays written by leading scholars in the field. These are supported by notes, an extensive bibliography, and indexes of names, Qur’an citations, topics, and technical terms.
Historical Atlas of Islam by
Publication Date: 2001
"An Historical Atlas of Islam" by William C. Brice was originally published by Brill in 1981. In 2001, Brill published a new edition of "An Historical Atlas of Islam / Atlas Historique de l'Islam," completely revised and substantially augmented by Professor Hugh Kennedy. This unique publication provides an overview of Islamic history from its inception up to the beginning of the twentieth century.
Routledge Handbook of Political Islam by
Publication Date: 2012
This Handbook provides a multidisciplinary overview of one of the key political movements of our time. Drawing on the expertise from some of the top scholars in the world it examines theoretical and historical backgrounds, terrorism, strategy, case studies of Islamist movements in the developing world and the West, and the relationship with democracy and gender issues.
The Oxford Handbook of American Islam by
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Islam has been part of the increasingly complex American religious scene for well over a century, and was brought into more dramatic focus by the attacks of September 11, 2001. American Islam is practiced by a unique blend of immigrants and American-born Muslims. The immigrants have come from all corners of the world; they include rich and poor, well-educated and illiterate, those from upper and lower classes as well as economic and political refugees. The community's diversity has been enhanced by the conversion of African Americans, Latina/os, and others, making it the most heterogeneous Muslim community in the world. With an up-to-the-minute analysis by thirty of the top scholars in the field, this handbook covers the growth of Islam in America from the earliest Muslims to set foot on American soil to the current wave of Islamophobia. Topics covered include the development of African American Islam; pre- and post-WWII immigrants; Sunni, Shi`ite, sectarian and Sufi movements in America; the role and status of women, marriage, and family; and the Americanization of Islamic culture. Throughout these chapters the contributors explore the meaning of religious identity in the context of race, ethnicity, gender, and politics, both within the American Islamic community and in relation to international Islam.
The Oxford Handbook of European Islam by
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
For centuries, Muslim countries and Europe have engaged one another through theological dialogues, diplomatic missions, political rivalries, and power struggles. In the last thirty years, due in large part to globalization and migration from Islamic countries to the West, what was previously an engagement across national and cultural boundaries has increasingly become an internalized encounter within Europe itself. Questions of the Hijab in schools, freedom of expression in the wake of the Danish Cartoon crisis, and the role of Shari'a have come to the forefront of contemporary European discourse. The Oxford Handbook of European Islam is the first collection to present a comprehensive approach to the multiple and changing ways Islam has been studied across European countries. Parts one to three address the state of knowledge of Islam and Muslims within a selection of European countries, while presenting a critical view of the most up-to-date data specific to each country. These chapters analyze the immigration cycles and policies related to the presence of Muslims, tackling issues such as discrimination, post-colonial identity, adaptation, and assimilation. The thematic chapters, in parts four and five, examine secularism, radicalization, Shari'a, Hijab, and Islamophobia with the goal of synthesizing different national discussion into a more comparative theoretical framework. The Handbook attempts to balance cutting edge assessment with the knowledge that the content itself will eventually be superseded by events. Featuring eighteen newly-commissioned essays by noted scholars in the field, this volume will provide an excellent resource for students and scholars interested in European Studies, immigration, Islamic studies, and the sociology of religion.
The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics by
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Over the past three decades, scholars, government analysts and terrorism experts have examined the relationship between Islam and politics. But specialists have tended to limit their analysis to a specific country or focus. Few works have provided a geographically comprehensive, in-depth analysis. Since 9/11, another wave of literature on political Islam and global terrorism has appeared, much of it superficial and sensationalist. This situation underscores the need for a comprehensive, analytical, and in-depth examination of Islam and politics in the post-9/11 era and in an increasingly globalizing world. The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics, with contributions from prominent scholars and specialists, provides a comprehensive analysis of what we know and where we are in the study of political Islam. It enables scholars, students, and policymakers to understand the interaction of Islam and politics and the multiple and diverse roles of Islamic movements, as well as issues of authoritarianism and democratization, religious extremism and terrorism regionally and globally.
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology by
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
Within the field of Islamic Studies, scientific research of Muslim theology is a comparatively young discipline. Much progress has been achieved over the past decades with respect both to discoveries of new materials and to scholarly approaches to the field. The Oxford Handbook of IslamicTheology provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the current state of the field. It provides a variegated picture of the state of the art and at the same time suggests new directions for future research...