Religious Roots of Europe (RRE)

LA. Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of religion available in paperback. Written by an expert team of 80 international and multi-faith contributors, the volume contains over 8,200 entries, an extensive topic index, and an original and in-depth introductory essay. There is also a detailed system of cross-references so that readers can explore related topics in the book. Readers will find information on: Religions:Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoism, and much more Movements, Sects, and Cults:Over 500 entries on everything from Cargo Cults and the New Age movement to Rastafarians and Soka Gakkai Sacred Texts:Over 1,000 entries covering the sacred writings of religions worldwide Individuals:Including founders, leaders, gurus, philosophers, mystics, and heretics Sacred Sites:Cities, buildings, centers of pilgrimage Customs:Religious practices, dogmas, beliefs, traditions, festivals and fasts, and artifacts such as altars, rosaries, icons, and torah ornaments Ethics:Entries cover world-wide religious teachings on abortion, animals, birth control, war, sexuality and homosexuality, and suicide

Integrating psychology and religion, this unique encyclopedia offers a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. It provides an intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world’s religious traditions. Easy-to-read, the encyclopedia draws from forty different religions, including modern world religions and older religious movements. It is of particular interest to researchers and professionals in psychology and religion.

Among Library Journal's picks of the most important reference works of the millennium--with the "Encyclopedia Judaica and the "New Catholic Encyclopedia--Mircea Eliade's "Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries--many heavily updated--as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds.

This dictionary is a thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the book published in 1984 as the Penguin Dictionary of Religions. It has undergone substantial change and considerable expansion, doubling the number of contributors from all parts of the world.

Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). This great resource, now at last available in English and Online, Religion Past and Present Online continues the tradition of deep knowledge and authority relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies. Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present Online encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion.

This dictionary covers, in one volume, over 1,800 of the most important deities and demons from around the world. From classical Greek and Roman mythology to the gods of Eastern Europe and Mesopotamia, from Nordic giants to Islamic jinns and Egyptian monsters, it is packed with descriptions of the figures most worshipped and feared around the world and across time. Fully cross-referenced and featuring two handy guides to the functions and attributes shared by those featured, this dictionary is the essential resource for anyone interested in comparative religion and the mythology of the ancient and contemporary worlds.

The Concise Encyclopedia of Language and Religion provides the specialist and the general reader with accurate, up-to-date information on every aspect of the crucial interface between language and religion. Easy access to material in over 320 articles by scholars in many fields is provided both in a clear thematic arrangement, and by means of a comprehensive and detailed general index. Discussion of many topics including the creation of special sacred scripts, religious calligraphy, and the use of religious symbols in meditation, magic and elsewhere, is enriched and elucidated by illustrations, diagrams and tables. The Concise Encyclopedia of Language and Religion brings together articles and bibliographic entries drawn from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, all of which have been revised and updated appropriately. These articles are supplemented by a large number of completely new contributions, one of which is an extensive 12,500 word article on 'Basic Concepts and Terms in Linguistics', making this volume accessible to a wide audience.

With the contribution of 42 internationally renowned scholars, The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism provides a state-of-the-art survey of apocalypticism's role in Western history, from its origins down to the eve of the third millennium.

This new encyclopedia follows a broad definition of fundamentalism and covers fundamentalism across time and place, although the emphasis remains on its primary manifestation: Protestant fundamentalism in the United States. Entries include: * angels * Armenianism * Aryan Nation * William Jennings Bryan * Campus Crusade for Christ * dispensationalism * Druze * evangelicalism * evil * Jerry Falwell * final judgment * Great Awakening * Hasidic Jews * intifada * Keswick movement * Ayatollah Khomeini * Dwight Moody * Scofield Reference Bible * televangelism * and many more.

... is the first work in any language to examine monasticism past and present, devoting nearly equal attention to the three great strands. Stated in chronological order of their emergence, these are: Buddhist monasticism, Earstern Christian monasticism, and Western Christian monasticism.

Product description: The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature, originally published in 2005, is a landmark work in the burgeoning field of religion and nature. It covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from thinkers to religious traditions and beyond, with clarity and style. Widely praised by reviewers and the recipient of two reference work awards since its publication (see www.religionandnature.com/ern), this new, more affordable version is a must-have book for anyone interested in the manifold and fascinating links between religion and nature, in all their many senses.

This volume in the highly praised Religion and Society series examines and analyzes the role of religion in major wars, as well as the role of war in the development and spread of major religions. Entries cover historical as well as modern religious-based conflicts, such as modern Ireland and Chechnya.

The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

This dictionary is a thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the book published in 1984 as the Penguin Dictionary of Religions. It has undergone substantial change and considerable expansion, doubling the number of contributors from all parts of the world.

Product description: International and interdisciplinary--as well as historical and contemporary--in scope and coverage, this encyclopedia provides background information and authoritative analysis on a broad array of questions and issues related to the intersection of religion and violence. It offers a comprehensive but concise approach to the most important individuals (those who advocated violence as well as those who opposed it), historical events, groups and practices, theories, movements and processes, causes and effects connected to religious-driven violence...

Uppslagsverket finns även online för studenter och anställda vid Lunds universitet. Se spalten till höger.

Product description: Religion Past and Present (RPP) is a complete, updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide, the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion. This great resource, now at last available in English, continues the tradition of deep knowledge and authority relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies. Religion Past and Present indisputably belongs to the small class of essential reference works....

Product description: The Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals explores this complex topic through articles covering the following general categories of information: general concepts and ideas such as communitas, inversion, purity and pollution, and pilgrimages major forms of ritual and festival such as rites of passage, devotional rites, sacrifice, calendrical rites, carnival, and fasting religious rites and festivals of major religions, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Catholicism and Judaism rites and festivals in cultural regions such as China, sub-Saharan Africa, and the Pacific islands life-cycle rites, including those associated with birth, coming of age, marriage and death specific rites and festivals, such as Divali, Easter, Ramadan, snake handling and Yom Kippur.