Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Printed Reference Books at the LUX Library
Biblia patristica: index des citations et allusions bibliques dans la littérature patristique (7 vol.)
Publication Date: 1975-2000
OBS! Online via BIBLindex, se Webbplatser - patristik.
From the libguide Early Christianity / Patristics by Suzanne Estelle-Holmer, Yale University Divinity School Library 2012-09-10:
"This is a 7-volume work in French. The index is organized in the order of the Biblical books, starting with Genesis, and ending with Revelation (indicated as AP for Apocalypse of John). The organization is by columns: first column indicates the book, second the chapter, third is the verses, 4th is the Patristic author who has cited this verse, 5th is the work in which it is cited, and 6th through 10th cover the book (volume), chapter, paragraph, page and line. The Patristic writers indexed in each volume are grouped chronologically – that is, Vol. 1 covers earliest writings from the Patristic period, Vol. 2 covers next earliest writings, and so on. Abbreviations are used for the texts and collections of texts, and a list of abbreviations is before the actual index begins. This is an indispensable tool for Patristic studies."
Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity Online by
Publication Date: 2019-
The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE. The BEEC aims to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and to update the historiography.
Additional Printed Reference Books at the University Library in Lund
Handbook of Patristic Exegesis by
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Through this Handbook of Patristic Exegesis, the reader will obtain a balanced and cohesive picture of the Early Church. It gives an overall view of the reception, transmission, and interpretation of the Bible in the life and thought of the Church during the first five centuries of Christianity, the so-called patristic era. The handbook offers the context and presuppositions necessary for understanding the development of the interpretative traditions of the Early Church, in its catechesis, its liturgy and as a foundation of its systems of theology.The handbook presents a comprehensive overview of the history of patristic exegesis. Apart from a general introduction to the major topics in this field, it contains essays by leading patristic scholars on the most important Church Fathers, such as Augustine, Irenaeus, Origen, Gregory of Nyssa, and others. The essays are supplemented by bibliographies of editions and studies on patristic exegesis published from 1945 until 1995. Together, these bibliographies form the only comprehensive bibliography presently available on this topic.Now available in one volume. This one volume edition is an unabridged version of the two volume edition that was published in 2004 (no longer available).
Patrology (3 vol.) by
Publication Date: 1950-1960
Vol. 1: The Beginnings of Patristic Literature, 1962.
Vol. 2: The Ante-Nicene Fathers after Irenaeus, 1962
Volume 3: The Golden Age of Greek Patristic Literature From the Council of Nicaea to the Council of Chalcedon, 1960.
Not available yet at LUB: Vol. 4: The Golden Age of Latin Patristic Literature From the Council of Nicaea to the Council of Chalcedon, 1986.
Not available yet at LUB: Vol. 5: The Eastern Fathers from the Counci of Chalcedon (451) to John of Damascus († 750).