Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Printed Reference Books at the LUX Library
Encyclopaedia of Islam, (EI1) First edition 1913-1936 by
Publication Date: Reprint ed. 1993
The First Encyclopaedia of Islam was originally published between 1913 and 1936 as The Encyclopaedia of Islam: A Dictionary of the Geography, Ethnography and Biography of the Muhammadan Peoples in four volumes and one supplement volume.Due to its tremendous success these editions soon went out of print and became valuable collectors items. Some years later, the publisher decided to start a Second Edition, which is now completed. The paperback First Edition is intended to make this goldmine of information available at a very low price. The value of the First Edition (as well as the Second) is recognized worldwide. In more than 9,000 alphabetically arranged articles, varying in length from 50 to 50,000 words, a wide range of elements of Islamic culture, from religion and literature to the lives of famous Muslims, is discussed by some of the worlds most famous scholars of the twentieth century.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'An by
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
The Quran is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world s population. Understood by Muslims to contain Gods own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to quranic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur nic studies. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brills Encyclopaedia of the Quran (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur n. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within quranic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur n to appear in a Western language. Cross-referencing and indices Frequent cross-references will draw readers to related entries and each article will conclude with a citation of relevant bibliography. The final part of the EQ contains indices of transliterated terms, of qur nic references and of the authors and exegetes cited in the entries and essays. Fully international workThe EQ is a fully international work supported by an international board of advisors. Scholars from many nations have written articles for the encyclopaedia.
Reference Books Online via Lund University Libraries
Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2), Second Edition by
Publication Date: (1955-2005)
The Encyclopaedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.
The search engine for EI Online automatically searches all editions (EI1, EI2, EI3) and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI3), THREE by
Publication Date: 2007-
The Third Edition of Brill s Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It will appear in four substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI3 is a work in progress, publication of which started in 2007. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches all editions (EI1, EI2, EI3) and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Oxford Dictionary of Islam by
Publication Date: 2003-05-15
Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this superb Oxford Dictionary provides more than 2,000 vividly written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners. What emerges is a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. Naturally, readers will find many entries on topics ofintense current interest, such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS. But the coverage goes well beyond recent headlines. There are biographical profiles, ranging from Naguib Mahfouz (the Nobel Prize winner from Egypt) to Malcolm X, including politicalleaders, influential thinkers, poets, scientists, and writers. Other entries cover major political movements, militant groups, and religious sects as well as terms from Islamic law, culture, and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks (such as Mecca and Medina). A series of entrieslooks at Islam in individual nations, such as Afghanistan, the West Bank and Gaza, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and the United States, and there are discussions of Islamic views on such issues as abortion, birth control, the Internet, the Rushdie Affair, and the theory of evolution. Whether we are listening to the evening news, browsing through the op-ed pages, or reading a book on current events, references to Muslims and the Islamic world appear at every turn. The Oxford Dictionary of Islam offers a wealth of information for anyone curious about this burgeoning andincreasingly important world religion.
Qurʾānic Studies Online
Qur'anic Studies Online includes:
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies.
Early Western Korans Online is a collection of 62 korans printed in Arabic type in several Western European cities between 1537 and 1857.
Qurʾān Concordance is a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʾān.
Dictionary of Qurʾānic Usage is a fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled in accordance with modern lexicographical methods by scholars who have a lifelong immersion in Qur'anic Studies.
Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth Online is an indispensable sourcebook of the development of Islam in all its facets during the first three centuries since its foundation as reflected in the canonical ḥadīth.
Concordance et indices de la Tradition Musulmane Online, a major source for Islamic theology and law that forms an important source for historians of early Islam.
Routledge Revivals: Medieval Islamic Civilization. Vol. 1. by
Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Islamic civilization flourished in the Middle Ages across a vast geographical area that spans today's Middle and Near East. First published in 2006, Medieval Islamic Civilization examines the socio-cultural history of the regions where Islam took hold between the 7th and 16th centuries. This important two-volume work contains over 700 alphabetically arranged entries, contributed and signed by international scholars and experts in fields such as Arabic languages, Arabic literature, architecture, history of science, Islamic arts, Islamic studies, Middle Eastern studies, Near Eastern studies, politics, religion, Semitic studies, theology, and more. Entries also explore the importance of interfaith relations and the permeation of persons, ideas, and objects across geographical and intellectual boundaries between Europe and the Islamic world. This reference work provides an exhaustive and vivid portrait of Islamic civilization and brings together in one authoritative text all aspects of Islamic civilization during the Middle Ages. Accessible to scholars, students and non-specialists, this resource will be of great use in research and understanding of the roots of today's Islamic society as well as the rich and vivid culture of medieval Islamic civilization.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women by
Publication Date: 2013-10-16
Scholarship on Islam and women has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, with increasing specialization within the field, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines. With this surge in interest there is a genuine need for a systematic reference work to provide balanced comprehensive coverage of the field.The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women is designed to meet this need by providing clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam.The Encyclopedia, which is based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and is one of four encyclopedias in the Islamic World series, will be published as an e-book, in print, and on Oxford Islamic Studies Online. It will feature several hundred in-depth articles written by leading experts and is intended as a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.