Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Publication Date: 2013-06-27
The Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship (CI2E) is a three-volume electronic and print reference that uniquely covers the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region). The resource is comprised of some 300 topical entries, definitions of key terms and concepts, and review essays, from a global array of more than 250 researchers, business executives, policymakers, and artists, illuminating the many facets of creativity and innovation, and highlighting their relationships to such universal concepts as knowledge management, economic opportunity, and sustainability.
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Publication Date: 2009-03-15
The Encyclopedia of Human Relationships offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations--friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Although each of these connections is unique in some respect, they share a common core of principles and processes. These three volumes provide a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.
Encyclopedia of Social Networks
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
This two-volume encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging, fast-developing field of social networking, a much-needed resource at a time when new social networks or "communities" seem to spring up on the internet every day. Social networks, or groupings of individuals tied by one or more specific types of interests or interdependencies ranging from likes and dislikes, or disease transmission to the "old boy" network or overlapping circles of friends, have been in existence for longer than services such as Facebook or YouTube; analysis of these networks emphasizes the relationships within the network.
International Studies Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
The International Studies Encyclopedia, published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. It brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior and Society
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
This is the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness. Represents the most authoritative resource covering concepts, theories, and substantive topics relating to the study of health in our globalized, 21st-century world.
Encyclopedia of Crisis Management
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Successfully engaging, dealing with, and working through a crisis requires an understanding of options and tools for individual and joint decision making. Our Encyclopedia of Crisis Management comprehensively overviews concepts and techniques for effectively assessing, analyzing, managing, and resolving crises, whether they be organizational, business, community, or political. From general theories and concepts exploring the meaning and causes of crisis to practical strategies and techniques relevant to crises of specific types, crisis management is thoroughly explored.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
With more than 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning. The Encyclopedia is enriched through important multidisciplinary contributions and perspectives as it arranges, organizes, defines, and clarifies a comprehensive list of death-related perspectives, concepts, and theories.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
Publication Date: 2009-04-02
The Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today. With more than 450 entries, these two volumes do not include coverage of professional sports and sport teams but, instead, cover the hundreds of games played not to earn a living but as informal activity. All aspects of play--from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation--are included. Simply enough, this Encyclopedia explores play played for the fun of it!
Encyclopedia of Social History
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
A reference surveying the major concerns, findings, and terms of social history. The coverage includes major categories within social history (family, demographic transition, multiculturalism, industrialization, nationalism); major aspects of life for which social history has provided a crucial per
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses.
International Encyclopedia of Civil Society
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Offers summaries of core concepts and theories in the topic of civil society; definitions of terms; and, biographical entries on important figures and organizational profiles. This encyclopedia provides an overview of the contours of civil society, social capital, philanthropy and nonprofits across cultures and historical periods.