Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of African American Education
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Each topic in this 2-volume encyclopedia is discussed as it relates to the education of African Americans. The entries provide a comprehensive overview of educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically and predominantly Black colleges and universities. The encyclopedia follows the struggle of African Americans to achieve equality in education--beginning among an enslaved population and evolving into the present.
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Publication Date: 2008-06-05
The simplest definition of bilingual education is the use of two languages in the teaching of curriculum content in K-12 schools. There is an important difference to keep in mind between bilingual education and the study of foreign languages as school subjects: In bilingual education, two languages are used for instruction, and the goal is academic success in and through the two languages. The traditional model of foreign-language study places the emphasis on the acquisition of the languages themselves.
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
With contributions from leading school psychology practitioners, this encyclopedia provides a one-of-a-kind guide to cross-cultural school psychology. Some 400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings to answer your questions in all aspects of the field. Moreover, the encyclopedia offers support at all levels of primary and secondary education, from pre-K to 12th grade. Each entry offers a description of a particular term, a bibliography, and additional readings.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
Publication Date: 2010-02-16
"The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies" provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, served primarily the areas of school administration and teaching and was seen as a method to design and develop programs of study. The field subsequently expanded to draw upon disciplines from the arts, humanities, and social sciences and to examine larger educational forces and their effects upon the individual, society, and conceptions of knowledge. Curriculum studies has now emerged to embrace an expansive and contested conception of academic scholarship while focusing upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
Publication Date: 2005-04-30
The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. Over 400 international contributors from over 35 countries have provided extensive coverage of topics such as workforce training, accessing education, digital divide, and the evolution of distance and online education into a multibillion dollar enterprise.
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
This encyclopaedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise.
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
Publication Date: 2005-08-31
This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice, making it a unique contribution to the educational reference market. Issues related to human development and learning are examined by individuals whose specializations are in diverse areas including education, psychology, sociology, philosophy, law, and medicine. The book focuses on important themes in education and human development. Authors consider each entry from the perspective of its social and political conditions as well as historical underpinnings.
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
Dealing with language and education, this encyclopedia is suitable for university and college libraries. It aims to speak to a prospective readership that is multinational.
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
Publication Date: 2009-10-15
The Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education is a compendium of information that tells the story of law and higher education from a variety of perspectives. As many of the entries in this encyclopedia reflect, the editor and contributors have sought to place legal issues in perspective so that students of higher education and the law can inform policy makers and practitioners about the meaning and status of the law and also raise questions for future research as they seek to improve the quality of learning for all.
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
The Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering. More specifically, the Encyclopedia provides fast access to the most relevant theoretical terms provides up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the most important theories within the various fields of the learning sciences and adjacent sciences and communication technologies; supplies clear and precise explanations of the theoretical terms, cross-references to related entries and up-to-date references to important research and publications.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. With more than 400 entries, the three volumes of this indispensable resource offer a thorough and interdisciplinary view of the field for all those interested in issues involving schools and society.
International Education : An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
This encyclopedia is the most current and exhaustive reference available on international education. It provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 180 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.