Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition
The Encyclopædia Britannica published by Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. The Britannica is the oldest English-language encyclopaedia still being produced. The encyclopaedia is continually reprinted and every article updated on a schedule. In March 2012, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. announced it would no longer continue to publish its printed editions.
Ne.se is the web version of the Swedish National Encyclopaedia (NE). It contains the 20 volumes of the printed version, the 3 supplementary volumes (published in spring 2000) and a dictionary. NE is Swedens largest encyclopaedia with 180 000 main entries. The supplementary volumes contains 8 500 recently written articles and new facts for many of the original entries. The NE dictionary (NEO) describes and explains 70 000 Swedish words and expressions.
The World Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2001-10-18
Including more than 13,000 alphabetically arranged entries and more than 35,000 cross-references, Oxford's World Encyclopedia offers a bounty of information on science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, medicine, geography, current affairs, politics, sports, and popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field.
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Publication Date: 1999-12-28
This encyclopedia features over 2000 full-length articles and contributions by 1300 of the world's leading thinkers. Entries are alphabetically arranged with extensive cross-referencing highlighting the relationship between them.
Encyclopedia of Time by
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
The Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present. By drawing together into one collection ideas from scholars around the globe and in a wide range of disciplines, this Encyclopedia will provide readers with a greater understanding of and appreciation for the elusive phenomenon experienced as time.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
Peer-reviewed. The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” and have largely been adapted from older sources
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.