Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Publication Date: 1996-09-30
This encyclopedia, now available in paperback, is the definitive resource for all students, teachers and researchers of social psychology eager to know more about a particular phenomenon, concept, or theory. Each key topic is addressed by internationally recognized authorities, making the encyclopedia both comprehensive and authoritative.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Publication Date: 2000-12-11
For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. Updated and expanded to include much new material, this is the only reference source that effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. This edition features over 1,200 entries, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new; contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world; a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance
Publication Date: 2012-05-09
This scholarly work is the most comprehensive existing resource on human physical appearance-how people's outer physical characteristics and their inner perceptions and attitudes about their own appearance (body image) affect their lives. The encyclopedia's 117 full-length chapters are composed and edited by the world's experts from a range of disciplines-social, behavioral, and biomedical sciences.
Encyclopedia of Counseling
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
Professional counseling involves helping clients, individually or in groups, or as couples and families, deal with various career, vocational, educational, and emotional problems. Whether performed by psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, or counselors, thousands of professionals throughout the United States, as well as the world, are providing counseling services to fellow human beings to help them address and resolve the various problems of living that exceed their coping resources and social support. The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling.
Encyclopedia of Creativity
Publication Date: 2011-05-23
The Encyclopedia of Creativity encompasses the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines like music, dance, film, art, literature, etc., the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative.
Encyclopedia of Geropsychology
Publication Date: 2017-01-19
This encyclopedia brings together key established and emerging research findings in geropsychology. It is a comprehensive coverage of the entire breadth of the field, giving readers access to all major subareas and illustrating their interconnections with other disciplines. Entries delve deep into key areas of geropsychology such as perception, cognition, clinical, organizational, health, social, experimental and neuropsychology. In addition to that, the encyclopedia covers related disciplines such as neuroscience, social science, population health, public policy issues pertaining to retirement, epidemiology and demography and medicine. Paying careful attention to research internationally, it cites English and non-English empirical literature from around the globe. This encyclopedia is relevant to a wide audience that include researchers, clinicians, students, policy makers and nongovernmental agencies.
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent
Publication Date: 2009-06-15
The Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent provides a balanced, objective assessment of the various perspectives on the nature of intelligence, innovation, and optimal states. This state-of-the-art resource covers all major facets of the field, including achievement motivation, artistic ability, creative personality, emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority underrepresentation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self actualization, thinking skills, and more.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
The Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations is a reflection of the growing integration of what were formerly two distinct approaches. With approximately 300 entries, the two volumes of this encyclopedia cover concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
More than 300 new entries cover recent phenomena, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations and publications in this updated work. Prominent individuals and personalities in the field are covered, and entries on particular countries trace the development of occultism and parapsychology in each. In certain controversial areas, the case both for and against has been indicated, with sources noted for further study. New features include an Internet resource index and a general bibliography. General and topical indexes are included to aid quick research.
Encyclopedia of Perception
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
The Encyclopedia of Perception presents a comprehensive overview of the field of perception through authoritative essays written by leading researchers and theoreticians in psychology, the cognitive sciences, neuroscience, and medical disciplines. It presents two parallel and interacting approaches: the psychophysical, or determining the relationship between stimuli in the environment and perception, and the physiological, or locating the biological systems responsible for perception.
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law addresses the interface of psychology and law and draws from the related discipline of criminal justice. These two volumes represent an outstanding collection of entries describing a wide array of contemporary and historical psychology and law topics. With more than 400 entries, this comprehensive resource is perfect to fill the substantial gap in the holdings of academic, professional, and personal libraries on this topic.
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Integrating psychology and religion, this unique encyclopedia offers a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. It provides an intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the worldâe(tm)s religious traditions. Easy-to-read, the encyclopedia draws from forty different religions, including modern world religions and older religious movements.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories
Publication Date: 2011-12-16
This work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It will set the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin's on Freud. Fifteen hundred entries will comprise key figures, theoretical concepts, false theories, historical events, and seminal writings.
Learning and Memory: a Comprehensive Reference
Publication Date: 2017-07-07
Learning and Memory: A Comprehensive Reference, Second Edition is the authoritative resource for scientists and students interested in all facets of learning and memory. This updated edition includes chapters that reflect the state-of-the-art of research in this area. Coverage of sleep and memory has been significantly expanded, while neuromodulators in memory processing, neurogenesis and epigenetics are also covered in greater detail. New chapters have been included to reflect the massive increase in research into working memory and the educational relevance of memory research. No other reference work covers so wide a territory and in so much depth. Provides the most comprehensive and authoritative resource available on the study of learning and memory and its mechanisms
Cognitive Psychology & Neuropsychology
Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
This encyclopedia serves as a unified, comprehensive reference for professionals involved in the diagnosis, evaluation, and rehabilitation of adult patients and children with neuropsychological disorders. It addresses psychological, psychosocial, and psychiatric aspects of an array of neurological disorders, emphasizing treatment and rehabilitation, not just assessment and diagnosis.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Publication Date: 2005-08-19
One of the hallmarks of cognitive behavior therapy is its diversity today. Since its inception, over twenty five years ago, this once revolutionary approach to psychotherapy has grown to encompass treatments across the full range of psychological disorders. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy brings together all of the key aspects of this field distilling decades of clinical wisdom into one authoritative volume.
Child and Adolescent Psychology
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
The Encyclopedia of Adolescence breaks new ground as an important central resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath, the text serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
Publication Date: 2010-11-20
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions. Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development offers an extensive cross-referencing system that facilitates speedy search and retrieval of information.
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
With contributions from leading school psychology practitioners, this encyclopedia provides a one-of-a-kind guide to cross-cultural school psychology. Some 400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings to answer your questions in all aspects of the field. Moreover, the encyclopedia offers support at all levels of primary and secondary education, from pre-K to 12th grade. Each entry offers a description of a particular term, a bibliography, and additional readings.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Publication Date: 2000-03-16
After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily - providing many points of access across areas of interest and fields of study. The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields associology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians, counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health