Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
As with many institutions, advertising has developed its own vocabulary. While some terms and concepts may overlap with other areas, many are used in a particular way and have specific meanings in advertising. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is a comprehensive yet to-the-point compilation of terms and concepts used in the advertising industry. It provides brief, easy-to-understand definitions and explanations of common advertising terms and covers all major concepts used in the industry. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is unique in that it completely covers all terms and examines all aspects of advertising.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.
Encyclopedia of Crisis Management
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Successfully engaging, dealing with, and working through a crisis requires an understanding of options and tools for individual and joint decision making. Our Encyclopedia of Crisis Management comprehensively overviews concepts and techniques for effectively assessing, analyzing, managing, and resolving crises, whether they be organizational, business, community, or political. From general theories and concepts exploring the meaning and causes of crisis to practical strategies and techniques relevant to crises of specific types, crisis management is thoroughly explored.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. With nearly 600 entries, this resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages, and the effects of all types of media and message types.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Publication Date: 2013-09-13
When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession. Reader's Guide topics include Crisis Communications & Management, Cyberspace, Ethics, Global Public Relations, Groups, History, Jargon, Management, Media, News, Organizations, Relations, Reports, Research, and Theories & Models.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication
Publication Date: 2008-04-28
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world. A ground-breaking collection of 1,339 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication. Represents the definitive international reference resource on a topic of increasing relevance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more Features topics ranging from leader-follower communication, negotiation and bargaining and organizational culture to the appropriation of communication technologies, emergence of inter-organizational networks, and hidden forms of work and organization
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet.;The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies.
Encyclopedia of Journalism
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. The set contains more than 350 signed entries under the direction of leading journalism scholar Christopher H. Sterling of The George Washington University.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Examining the tip of a gigantic iceberg, this reference resource examines a sample of the dizzying variety of formats and experiences that comprise social movement media. The guiding principles have been to ensure that experiences from the global South are given voice; that women are properly represented among contributors; that the wide spectrum of communication formats is included; that further reading is provided where relevant; and that some examples are provided of repressive social movement media, not exclusively progressive ones.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
This reference details the innovative and dynamic nature of current research methods in media studies with contributions from a diverse, international group of scholars. Examines both theory and practice with an emphasis on the recent expansion and diversification of media studies. Covers quantitative and qualitative methods, paying particular attention to the ways in which they overlap and inform one another. Focuses on emerging research methods while underscoring the continuing importance of historical antecedents. Explores the impact of new, increasingly transnational technologies on the study of media. Argues that current research must transcend methodological boundaries and develop interdisciplinary approaches for studying media.