Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
Publication Date: 2000-03-31
This volume aims to be an up-to-date source for the region, also known as East Central Europe, Central Europe, or Southeastern Europe, taking into account the profound changes that occurred after 1989 while providing the historical context of at least two centuries back to the Congress of Vienna.
Encyclopedia of Governance
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
The Encyclopedia of Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. With nearly 600 entries, this resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages, and the effects of all types of media and message types.
Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is the very first fully-refereed A-Z compendium of the main principles, concepts, problems, institutions, schools and policies associated with political economy. Based on developments in political economy since the 1960s, it is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to the field as well as being an authoritative reference work.
Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
Publication Date: 2013-02-25
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Comprising over 400 entries across three volumes, this invaluable reference resource explores major social and political movements and related collective phenomena across the globe. Brings together a prestigious editorial team drawn from ten countries and from across four disciplines. Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics to create an understanding of many of the most significant social and political developments and changes throughout much of human history, from the French Revolution, to the global women's movement, to Martin Luther King Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement, through to more recent issues including environmentalism and the Arab Spring
Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
This book addresses the numerous national movements of ethnic groups around the world seeking independence, more self-rule, or autonomy--movements that have proliferated exponentially in the 21st century.
Europe: A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Students of the European Union have, until now, had no ready place to turn for a succinct and comprehensive description of its many institutions, policies, laws and personalities. This gap was felt among politically conscious readers and researchers eager to understand better what many sensed to be a period of upheaval and change, and among students and teachers of modern history, politics, economics and international affairs who recognized the growing influence of the EU but lacked a general reference book on its activities and felt themselves unduly reliant on Community sources for information about controversial European questions. Now in its third edition and published in the United States for the first time, this valuable resource provides an excellent, thorough and inexpensive response to those needs - from Charlemagne's Aachen to Bismarck's Zollverein, via all the key modern-day institutions, people and ideas that anyone studying or dealing with the EU is ever likely to come across.
International Encyclopaedia for Labour Law and Industrial Relations
The International Encyclopaedia for Labour Law and Industrial Relations is designed to provide information to the international business and labour relations communities; to facilitate comparative research in the field; and to contribute to the growing harmonization of labour law and standards worldwide. With overt 60 detailed country-by-country monographs and eight in-depth international monographs - and with more in preparation - as well as five volumes of case law and five volumes of reprinted legislation, it is by far the most comprehensive work of its kind in existence.
International Encyclopedia of Civil Society
Publication Date: 2009-12-03
The International Encyclopedia of Civil Society establishes a common set of understandings and terminology, and an analytical starting point for future research. Global in scope and authoritative in content, the Encyclopedia offers succinct summaries of core concepts and theories; definitions of terms; biographical entries on important figures and organizational profiles. In addition, it serves as a reliable and up-to-date guide to additional sources of information. In sum, the Encyclopedia provides an overview of the contours of civil society, social capital, philanthropy and nonprofits across cultures and historical periods.
The American Economy. A Historical Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
A compelling compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents that chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective.
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
Publication Date: 1991-08-26
Encompassing the whole spectrum of the history and theory of politics from Socrates to Rawls, this is the most comprehensive and scholarly reference work available on the subject.
The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
As a continuation of the older tradition of classical liberalism, libertarian thinking draws on a rich body of thought and scholarship. Contemporary libertarian scholars are continuing that tradition by making substantial contributions to such fields as philosophy, jurisprudence, economics, evolutionary psychology, political theory, and history, in both academia and politics. With more than 300 A-to-Z signed entries written by top scholars, The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism is purposed to be a useful compilation of and introduction to libertarian scholarship.
The Encyclopedia of U. S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior
Publication Date: 2008-04-04
The Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior covers virtually everything one would want to know about American political campaigns. With more than 450 entries, these two comprehensive volumes present a significant array topics of campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior. The encyclopedia's diverse content shows that although the subject matter of campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior is inherently related, each topic has a distinct focus.
The International Studies Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2017
The International Studies Encyclopedia, published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. It brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
Peace & Conflict Studies
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
Publication Date: 2003-04-30
Each of 38 ethnic conflicts is presented with a timeline and extensive essay covering the conflict's details, historical background, management, and significance. This book is the perfect starting point for students and general readers seeking information about the complex and often violent forces that have changed--and continue to change--the world's political landscape.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict
Publication Date: 2008-09-26
The 2nd edition of "Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict" provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. The Encyclopedia is an essential reference for students and scholars working in the field of peace and conflict resolution studies, and for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change.
Encyclopedia of War and American Society
Publication Date: 2005-11-18
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive, highly-credentialed multidisciplinary historical work that examines the numerous ways wars affect societies. The three volumes cover a wide range of general thematic categories, issues, and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the U.S. engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena
International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management 1945-1995
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
This unique study of 50 years of conflict and resolution allows readers to understand every important conflict from 1945 to 1995, and to trace recurring or related conflicts throughout this period. Concise, insightful summaries reveal the context, management, and aftermath of nearly 300 international conflicts. Introductory chapters synthesize common elements and issues across the decades and around the globe. Arranged chronologically, summaries of nearly 300 conflicts describe the history, circumstances, players, management, and outcome of each incident.
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest
Publication Date: 2009-04-13
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest is a definitive reference work on the role of popular agency in transforming the world in which we live First historical encyclopedia to provide scholars and teachers and students with the information they need to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present. Provides clear, concise explanations of events and larger social movements, and biographies of key people Presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate American diplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
This exhaustive encyclopedia provides a record of casualties of war from the last five centuries through 2015, with new statistical and analytical information. Figures include casualties from global terrorism, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and the fight against the Islamic State. New entries cover an additional 20 armed conflicts between 1492 and 2007 not included in previous editions. Arranged roughly by century and subdivided by world region, chronological entries include the name and dates of the conflict, precursor events, strategies and details, the outcome and its aftermath.