Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of GIS
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The Encyclopedia of GIS features a comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Geographic Information Science, with an A-Z format providing easy access to the field. Extensive cross-references support efficient, user-friendly searches. Authored and peer-reviewed by world experts, the entries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Over 200 topics include major overviews such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services. Short entries, cross-referenced to related larger entries, define specific terms and concepts such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Larger entries include key citations to the literature, and (online) internal hyperlinks to definitional entries and current standards.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
The United Nations estimates that by 2030, more than two-thirds of the total world population will live in urban areas. Most of this increase will take place not in Europe or in the United States but in the megacities and newly emerging urban regions of what used to be called the developing world. Urban studies is an expansive and growing field, covering many disciplines and professional fields, each with its own schedule of conferences, journals, and publication series. These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally. The Encyclopedia of Urban Studies is intended to present an overview of current work in the field and to serve as a guide for further reading in the field.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas. The encyclopedia includes over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world.
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Archaeologists and anthropologists have long studied artifacts of refuse from the distant past as a portal into ancient civilizations, but examining what we throw away today tells a story in real time and becomes an important and useful tool for academic study. Trash is studied by behavioral scientists who use data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters to better understand our modern society and culture.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics, and allows any subject to be accessed to varying levels of detail; while the longer entries provide general reviews of subjects, the short definitions provide specific details on more specialised areas.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
Publication Date: 2003-08-13
The first-and only-source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live. Comprised of more than 600 informative entries, The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology examines the interdisciplinary and complex topic of human ecology. Knowledge gathered from disciplines that study individuals and groups, such as biology, nutrition, psychology, and sociology, is blended with information about environments from the fields of family science, geography, anthropology, urban planning, and environmental science.