The Encyclopedia examines both long standing subdisciplinary fields in human geography like economic geography and urban geography, but also more recent ones such as emotional geographies and indigenous geographies, making a point about the move to plural geographies. The selection of entries reflects both the influence of established developments, such as the 'cultural turn', and new advances including the growing interest in Big Data, the more committed focus on decolonization of the discipline, and interest in research on the Anthropocene.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens.
Provides comprehensive coverage of major topics in urban and regional studies Under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Anthony Orum, this definitive reference work covers central and emergent topics in the field, through an examination of urban and regional conditions and variation across the world. It also provides authoritative entries on the main conceptual tools used by anthropologists, sociologists, geographers, and political scientists in the study of cities and regions. Among such concepts are those of place and space; geographical regions; the nature of power and politics in cities; urban culture; and many others.
This comprehensive MRW will provide readers with expert interdisciplinary knowledge on how urban centres and regions in locations of varying climates, lifestyles, income levels, and stages development are creating synergies and reducing trade-offs in the development of resilient, resource-efficient, environmentally friendly, liveable, socially equitable, integrated, and technology-enabled centres and regions.
The Encyclopedia of GIS features a comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Geographic Information Science, with an A-Z format providing easy access to the field. Extensive cross-references support efficient, user-friendly searches. Authored and peer-reviewed by world experts, the entries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Over 200 topics include major overviews such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services. Short entries, cross-referenced to related larger entries, define specific terms and concepts such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Larger entries include key citations to the literature, and (online) internal hyperlinks to definitional entries and current standards.
Urban studies is an expansive and growing field, covering many disciplines and professional fields, each with its own schedule of conferences, journals, and publication series. These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally. The Encyclopedia of Urban Studies is intended to present an overview of current work in the field and to serve as a guide for further reading in the field.
Archaeologists and anthropologists have long studied artifacts of refuse from the distant past as a portal into ancient civilizations, but examining what we throw away today tells a story in real time and becomes an important and useful tool for academic study. Trash is studied by behavioral scientists who use data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters to better understand our modern society and culture.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics, and allows any subject to be accessed to varying levels of detail; while the longer entries provide general reviews of subjects, the short definitions provide specific details on more specialised areas.
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
The first-and only-source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live. Comprised of more than 600 informative entries, The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology examines the interdisciplinary and complex topic of human ecology. Knowledge gathered from disciplines that study individuals and groups, such as biology, nutrition, psychology, and sociology, is blended with information about environments from the fields of family science, geography, anthropology, urban planning, and environmental science.