The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Britannica Academic consists of the encyclopedia, a dictionary, primary sources, journals/periodicals, images, videos, web’s best sites and Year in review. Britannica also contains a large collection of biographies, maps, a compare countries tool and world statistics.
Ne.se is the web version of the Swedish National Encyclopaedia (NE). It contains the 20 volumes of the printed version, the 3 supplementary volumes (published in spring 2000) and a dictionary. NE is Swedens largest encyclopaedia with 180 000 main entries. The supplementary volumes contains 8 500 recently written articles and new facts for many of the original entries. The NE dictionary (NEO) describes and explains 70 000 Swedish words and expressions.
Including more than 13,000 alphabetically arranged entries and more than 35,000 cross-references, Oxford's World Encyclopedia offers a bounty of information on science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, medicine, geography, current affairs, politics, sports, and popular culture. Here is an authoritative, stimulating, and up-to-date reference work, with 1,500 eye-catching illustrations, most of which are in full color.
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains.
This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate. Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field. Key Features Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them Includes specific lists of entries that deal with constitutional thought and democratic thought Refers to distinctive norms and features of various governments, legal systems, and societies Devotes large parts to the history of ideas about government, ethics, and society Provides a chronology of political theory to help readers see how a given theorist, school, or issue fits into the bigger historical picture.
This encyclopedia belongs on the bookshelf of every reader as the authoritative reference work of the generation. Breadth of coverage, quality of writing and reference features make it indispensable to general reader and philosopher.
The Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present. By drawing together into one collection ideas from scholars around the globe and in a wide range of disciplines, this Encyclopedia will provide readers with a greater understanding of and appreciation for the elusive phenomenon experienced as time.
Peer-reviewed. The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” and have largely been adapted from older sources
Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
The subject of this encyclopedia is purposefully multi- and inter-disciplinary. Knowledge boundaries are both delineated and crossed over. The goal is to convey a clear sense of how philosophy looks at the social sciences and to mark out a detailed picture of how the two are interrelated: interwoven at certain times but also differentiated and contrasted at others. The Entries cover topics of central significance but also those that are both controversial and on the cutting-edge, underlining the unique mark of this Encyclopedia: the interrelationship between philosophy and the social sciences, especially as it is found in fresh ideas and unprecedented hybrid disciplinary areas.
This encyclopedia covers all topics in the philosophy of law and social philosophy, including the history, theory, and leading theorists in both fields. Featuring specially commissioned entries by an international team of the world's most respected scholars, including more than 700 entries ensuring its place as the definitive reference work on the Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy. The encyclopedia provides: 1) a clear concise expert definition and explanation of the key concepts in the field, written by leading scholars; 2) an essential reference for experts and newcomers alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics; 3) an investigation of questions that have traditionally defined the field, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the fields of the philosophy of law and social philosophy; 4) introductions to theories and research developed in all the world's languages and legal traditions.