Här hittar du länkar till var du kan söka efter böcker såväl som e-böcker. På Kemicentrums bibliotek finns en hylla som heter 664 Livsmedelsvetenskap med böcker i tryck.
Edible Food Packaging with Natural Hydrocolloids and Active Agents av
The aim of this book is to show the potential of natural hydrocolloids and active agents to develop sustainable edible packaging materials for food preservation. For this, the current and future sources of natural hydrocolloids have been reviewed along with their extraction methods, impact on health and ability to form different packaging such as film, casing, coating, mat, pad, etc. Similarly, natural active compounds were evaluated carefully considering their sources, extraction methods, regulatory status, and compatibility with edible packaging. The book emphasizes the recent developments in methods, strategies and technologies employed to enhance the performance of antimicrobial, antioxidant and bioactive packaging. The basic testing methods used to evaluate antimicrobial and antioxidant activity of edible packaging in model media and food were discussed, and carefully selected example active edible packaging applications for different food categories were provided with critical details such as the thin balance between effectiveness of packaging and sensory properties of food. As such, it helps in understanding necessary parameters in designing an effective active edible packaging that is applicable to the target food category. Moreover, readers are primed for the first time on how to develop a fully natural antimicrobial, antioxidant or bioactive edible food packaging. This book is different from most of the similar books' avail as it provides neither methodologies about classical active packaging based on chemicals and fossil polymeric films nor is it a thorough collection of different food packaging applications. It is also not a book that concentrates on physicochemical characterization methods and engineering aspects of packaging. Instead, this is a book that provides systematic knowledge about key methods of evaluating natural resources, agro-industrial wastes and by-products for development of edible packaging, and concentrates on concepts, strategies, technologies, and applications of active edible packaging based solely on natural components. It is designed to share both positive and negative experiences in an emerging field that is expected to play a central role in improving food safety and quality, human health and environmentally friendly practices.
Handbook of Fruit Wastes and By-Products av
Processing of fruits produces large volumes of wastes and these wastes can create pollution problems and also result in loss of valuable biomass and nutrients. The Handbook of Fruit Wastes and By-Products: Chemistry, Processing Technology, and Utilization deals with the various techniques and methods involved in processing of fruit by-products. Although there are some general books on by-products of food processing industry but they are limited in context to the by-products of some particular fruits. This is the first book devoted to fruit processing by-products of wide range of important fruits including tropical, subtropical and temperate fruits; and their possible utilization in food and non-food industries. Key Features Discusses the valorization of fruit processing by-products Covers the role of the by-products as prebiotics and dietary fibers Presents extraction techniques of bioactive compounds from fruit wastes This book provides in-depth information about the fruit processing by-products, their nutritional composition, biochemistry, processing technology of by-products and the utilization of by-products into various food applications. This book also offers comprehensive coverage on the role of the fruit by-products as prebiotics and dietary fibers, their potential as the source of bioactive ingredients and their utilization in the development of novel functional foods. It also includes various novel technologies useful in extraction and evaluation of the functional components from these fruit processing by-products. The book addresses how the proper utilization of fruit processing by‐products would not only emerge as a source of extra profit to the fruit processing industry but also will help in lessen the environment pollution due to these fruit processing by-products.
Handbook of Nutrition and Food av
The new edition of the Handbook of Nutrition and Food follows the format of the bestselling earlier editions, providing a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Completely revised, the third edition contains 20 new chapters, 50 percent new figures, and updates to most of the previously existi
Maize av
Maize is widely cultivated throughout the world due to its high-yield potential. The economic and nutritional value of maize grains is associated with its starch content, protein, fibre, bioactive compounds, and minerals. Maize is used worldwide in the preparation of health-benefiting, antioxidant-rich, fortified products and dietary supplements. Maize: Nutritional Composition, Processing, and Industrial Uses explores the status of maize in terms of its production, nutritional composition, biofortification, processing methods, health benefits, maize-based products and storage. This book also emphasizes the key features of maize grains which make it an ideal crop for industrial use. It covers all aspects of recent research about the maize and provides updated information. Features: Discusses information related to chemistry of maize components Highlights comprehensive information on the physical and milling properties of maize Explains the structure, functional, and antioxidant properties of maize flour Provides the latest scientific development in the modification of maize starch Explores various maize-based food products and their storage Examines maize protein, scenarios, and quality improvement through bio-fortification In-depth information is provided regarding various health-benefiting nutrient components of maize flour, offering meaningful information for product formulation. This book unfolds the potential of maize grains for industrial use.
Oats Nutrition and Technology av
A considerable amount of research has emerged in recent years on the science, technology and health effects of oats but, until now, no book has gathered this work together. Oats Nutrition and Technology presents a comprehensive and integrated overview of the coordinated activities of nutritionists, plant scientists, food scientists, policy makers, and the private sector in developing oat products for optimal health. Readers will gain a good understanding of the value of best agricultural production and processing practices that are important in the oats food system. The book reviews agricultural practices for the production of oat products, the food science involved in the processing of oats, and the nutrition science aimed at understanding and advancing the health effects of oats and how they can affect nutrition policies. There are individual chapters that summarize oat breeding and processing, the many bioactive compounds that oats contain, and their health benefits. With respect to the latter, the health benefits of oats and oat constituents on chronic diseases, obesity, gut health, metabolic syndromes, and skin health are reviewed. The book concludes with a global summary of food labelling practices that are particularly relevant to oats. Oats Nutrition and Technology offers in-depth information about the life cycle of oats for nutrition, food and agricultural scientists and health practitioners interested in this field. It is intended to provoke thought and stimulate readers to address the many research challenges associated with the oat life cycle and food system.
Potato Staple Food Processing Technology av
This book introduces readers to volatile compounds of staple foods, while also systematically highlighting the processing technologies of potato staple foods, which will be of great importance in promoting the virtuous circle and structural upgrading of Potato consumption patterns are gradually changing from fresh to processed formulations, (e.g. mashed potatoes, potato chips, etc.) as a result of fast food habits adopted from developed countries. If the potato can be used to make staple foods, it will not only provide energy, but also nutrition. Though the book is primarily intended for researchers and students in the field of food technology, it will also be of interest to commercial research staff in food technology.
Steamed Breads av
Steamed Breads: Ingredients, Processing, and Quality provides an overview of all aspects of steamed bread and steamed bun technology. A valuable resource for those interested in the practical, technical, scientific, and historical aspects of the subject. Topics that are covered include classification of the different types of steamed bread, flour quality requirements, ingredients, traditional and modern production methods, bread faults and solutions, storage, food safety, nutrition, and future trends. Steamed bread and filled steamed buns or mantou are the staple food in the wheat growing areas of China. Around 50% of all flour consumed in China is used to produce steamed breads. They have recently spread to other Asian countries and are now eaten around the world. The current state of relevant research knowledge about steamed bread in Asia and throughout the world is described. The first comprehensive reference on the topic, Steamed Breads provides a complete overview of this important wheat-based Asian food of value to cereal scientists and researchers, wheat marketers and breeders, and Asian food and steamed bread manufacturers.
Sweet Potato av
Sweet Potato: Chemistry, Processing, and Nutrition presents foundational information, including identification, analysis, and use of chemical components from sweet potato in a variety of food and nonfood uses. Sweet potatoes can be easily propagated, are rich source of carbohydrates and functional components, and are highly productive, which makes them most suitable for production of staple and functional foods. With the increasing population and the challenges of providing healthy food to the world, there is an increasing consumer demand for new and better sweet potato products, particularly for those in developing countries. Providing a brief description of the specific sweet potato components, their role during processing and strategies for quality optimization, this book also explores novel methods of sweet potato starch, protein, and pectin modification providing students, researchers, and technologists working in the area of food science and others with the most recent information and state-of-the-art technology for developing new and beneficial uses of sweet potato.