Human Rights and Humanitarian Law

• HeinOnline

  HeinOnline is the world's largest collection of law and law-related material. The database contains more than 25 million pages in image-based (pdf) format and is updated continously.

• Oxford Reports on International Law

  This subscription database includes more than 4,000 judicial decisions on human rights topics issued by international and regional tribunals and by national courts. Begin by selecting “human rights” from the Subject menu in the blue navigation bar. Then search by keyword or use the filters on the left to narrow.

• Westlaw

  Westlaw International is a comprehensive full text database with British and American legislation and legal usage as well as a large number of legal English-language full text journals (circa 700), Legal Journals Index and Index to Legal Periodicals. You will also find EC-legislation and legal usage, international agreements, and legal documents from Australia, Hong Kong and Canada. Access through lubsearch under the tab "databases" and serach for Westlaw in the search field.

 Sort Link Group  

 Add / Reorder  

Boolean logic defines logical relationships between terms in a search and are necessary for effective searching of online databases.

The Boolean search operators are and, or and not. You can use these operators to create a very broad or very narrow search.

• And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, travel and Europe finds articles that contain both travel and Europe.
• Or combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, college or university finds results that contain either college or university.
• Not excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, television not cable finds results that contain television but not cable.

More in-depth information available here.