Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tryckta handböcker på LUX-biblioteket
Printed handbooks at the LUX library
Hebrew Bible / Old Testament : the History of its Interpretation av
Product description: This great international enterprise combines the effort of the best Christian and Jewish experts from different countries. It is a detailed and comprehensive account of Old Testament exegesis from the beginnings of intra-biblical interpretation to the present.
Volume 1, Part 1: Antiquity
Volume 1, Part 2: The Middle Ages
Volume 2: From the Renaissance to the Enlightenment
Volume 3: From Modernism to Post-Modernism
The Hebrew Bible av
This book brings together some of the world's most exciting scholars from across a variety of disciplines to provide a concise and accessible guide to the Hebrew Bible. It covers every major genre of book in the Old Testament together with in-depth discussions of major themes such as human nature, covenant, creation, ethics, ritual and purity, sacred space, and monotheism. This authoritative overview sets each book within its historical and cultural context in the ancient Near East, paying special attention to its sociological setting. It provides new insights into the reception of the books and the different ways they have been studied, from historical-critical enquiry to modern advocacy approaches such as feminism and liberation theology. It also includes a guide to biblical translations and textual criticism and helpful suggestions for further reading. Featuring contributions from experts with backgrounds in the Jewish and Christian faith traditions as well as secular scholars in the humanities and social sciences, The Hebrew Bible is the perfect starting place for anyone seeking a user-friendly introduction to the Old Testament, and an invaluable reference book for students and teachers.
Online via Lunds universitets bibliotek
Online via Lund University Libraries
Blackwell companion to the Hebrew Bible av
Consists of newly commissiond articles from an impressive range of top international Old Testament scholars. Explores the history, archaeology, theology, sociology, and ancient Near Eastern context of the Hebrew Bible
Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls av
Abstract: 30 international scholars probe the main disputed issues in the study of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Essays engage with the lively debate continues over the archaeology and history of the site, the nature and identity of the sect, and its relation to the broader world of Second Temple Judaism and to later Jewish and Christian tradition.
The Oxford Handbook of the Prophets av
The Latter Prophets - Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Book of the Twelve - comprise a fascinating collection of prophetic oracles, narratives, and vision reports from ancient Israel and Judah. Spanning centuries and showing evidence of compositional growth and editorial elaboration overtime, these prophetic books offer an unparalleled view into the cultural norms, theological convictions, and political disputes of Israelite communities caught in the maelstrom of militarized conflicts with the empires of ancient Egypt, Babylonia, and Persia. Instructive for scholar and student alike, The Oxford Handbook of the Prophets features wide-ranging discussion of ancient Near Eastern social and cultic contexts; exploration of focused topics such as the persona of the prophet and the problem of violence in prophetic rhetoric; sophisticatedhistorical and literary analysis of key prophetic texts; issues in reception history, from these texts' earliest reinterpretations at Qumran to Christian appropriations in contemporary homiletics; feminist, materialist, and postcolonial readings engaging the insights of influential contemporarytheorists; and more. The diversity of interpretive approaches, clarity of presentation, and breadth of expertise represented here will make this Handbook indispensable for research and teaching on the Latter Prophets.
Oxford Handbook of the Psalms av
Intended for both scholar and student, The Oxford Handbook of the Psalms features a diverse array of essays that treat the Psalms from a variety of perspectives. Classical scholarship and traditional approaches as well as contextual interpretations and practices are well represented. From ancient Near Eastern backgrounds and Hebrew poetry to Qumran studies and ancient translations to Asian and African-American approaches and liturgical usage, the Handbook's coverage is uniquely wide ranging. This handbook serves as a rich introduction into the increasingly complex field and is an indispensable resource for all students of the Psalms.