LibGuides: Political Science & Peace and Conflict Studies Subject Guide: Scholarly Publications

Scholarly Publications and the Scholarly Publication Process

Vetenskaplig publicering (Högskolan i Jönköping) (swe)
En film om vetenskaplig publicering och olika typer av publikationer (16 min.)

To learn more about the scholarly / scientific publication process and which document types you can find within that process, see the Types of Information Resources page.

What is a scholarly journal article?
An easy guide that explains peer-review, lists the most common components in a scholarly article and also the characteristics of different periodicals set up in a table. By Jönköping University Library.

Peer review in 3 minutes

This video was created at North Carolina State University Libraries:

Tools for identifying and comparing scholarly journals

By using tolls like the ones presented below you can see whether a journal is peer- reviewed or not, if it has a high ranking within its subject area, etc. It’s a good way to start when you looking at a new journal and wants to evaluate its quality or impact.

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
A database congaing bibliographic information and information about whether a journal is for example peer reviewed or Open Access. You can search for a quarter of million different journals.
Journal Citation Reports (InCites)
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
An open access portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyse scientific domains.

Search for Scholarly Publications

You can search for scholarly publications in several databases available via Lund University. Do have in mind that some databases might contain other publications than scholarly articles, so tick peer-reviewed publications limitor for scholarly publications.

Here are some suggestions for databases focused on scholarly publications:

LUBsearch
LUBsearch provides access to Lund University library resources – articles, journals, books, databases and more. Both online and print. Tick "peer-reviewed" limitor for scholarly publications.

Tick "Conference Materials" and sort by newest to find ongoing research in your search results.

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. It critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science is a licenced databases that consists of five databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, and more. The two Conference Proceedings Citation databases include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. In comparison to Web of Science, Scopus has a bigger scope, but Web of Science is more complete when it comes to citations prior to 1996. Another difference is that Scopus covers articles in press.
Google Scholar
A freely accessible Web search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
APSA Preprints
APSA Preprints is a free-to-access prepublication platform dedicated to early research outputs in political science and related disciplines. It has been developed through a collaboration of the American Political Science Association and Cambridge University Press.
APSA Preprints was launched on August 29th 2019 at the APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C
SwePub
Search among articles, conference papers, dissertations etc. published at Swedish universities.
Research Portal - Lund University
Research information such as researchers, publications, projects, activities from Lund University. Where possible, the option to download a full text document is available.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Subject Resources - General and Gateways page
Suggestions for subject specific databases.
Political Science Complete (PSC)
Cover topics such as Comparative Politics, Humanitarian Issues, International Relations, Law and Legislation, Non-Governmental Organizations and Political Theory. References and often fulltext to articles, conference papers, monographs.

Reference Management Tools

Guide for Reference Management Tools
A guide about reference managmenet tools for staff and students at Lund University maintained by librarians at the Social Sciences Faculty Library.

Publish

Register and publish - Lund University guidelines
The Libraries Head Office's pages about registering, publishing and self archiving at Lund University.