A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
This dictionary offers jargon-free entries on food, nutrition, diet, and health that clearly explain even the most technical of nutritional terms.
From abalone to zymogens, its coverage spans types of food (including both everyday and little-known foods), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics. This new edition includes expanded coverage of food safety and relevant organizations, and of the nutritional information included for many foodstuffs. It also incorporates over 40 new line drawings, including numerous illustrations of the chemical structures of nutrients.
It is an essential resource for students of nutrition, dietetics, food science, and health and human sciences; professionals within the food industry, including nutritionists, cooks, and food manufacturers; and anyone interested in food who wants to discover more about what they eat.
Food Engineering Handbook : Food Engineering Fundamentals
Food Science Text Series
Handbook of Brewing
With a foreword written by Professor Ludwig Narziss¿one of the world¿s most notable brewing scientists¿the Handbook of Brewing, Third Edition , as it has for two previous editions, provides the essential information for those who are involved or interested in the brewing industry. The book simultaneously introduces the basics¿such as the biochemistry and microbiology of brewing processes¿and also deals with the necessities associated with a brewery, which are steadily increasing due to legislation, energy priorities, environmental issues, and the pressures to reduce costs. Written by an international team of experts recognized for their contributions to brewing science and technology, it also explains how massive improvements in computer power and automation have modernized the brewhouse, while developments in biotechnology have steadily improved brewing efficiency, beer quality, and shelf life.
Handbook of Research on Food Processing and Preservation Technologies
Handbook of Research on Food Processing and Preservation Technologies will be a 5-volume collection that attempts to illustrate various design, development, and applications of novel and innovative strategies for food processing and preservation. The role and applications of minimal processing techniques (such as ozone treatment, vacuum drying, osmotic dehydration, dense phase carbon dioxide treatment, pulsed electric field, and high-pressure assisted freezing) are also discussed, along with a wide range of applications. The handbook also explores some exciting computer-aided techniques emerging in the food processing sector, such as robotics, radio frequency identification (RFID), three-dimensional food printing, artificial intelligence, etc. Some emphasis has also been given on nondestructive quality evaluation techniques (such as image processing, terahertz spectroscopy imaging technique, near infrared, Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy technique, etc.) for food quality and safety evaluation. The significant roles of food properties in the design of specific foods and edible films have been elucidated as well. The first volume in this set, Nonthermal and Innovative Food Processing Methods, provides a detailed discussion of many nonthermal food process techniques. These include high-pressure processing, ultraviolet light technology, microwave-assisted extraction, high pressure assisted freezing, microencapsulation, dense phase carbon dioxide aided preservation, to name a few. The volume is a treasure house of valuable information and will be an excellent reference for researchers, scientists, students, growers, traders, processors, industries, and others.
