List of Current Protocols in Wiley Online Library:
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
Current Protocols in Essential Laboratory Techniques
Current Protocols in Human Genetics
Current Protocols in Microbiology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Current Protocols in Neucleic Acid Chemistry
Current Protocols in Neuroscience
The ABCs of Gene Cloning
Clear and concise, this easy-to-use book offers an introductory course on the language of gene cloning, covering microbial, plant, and mammalian systems. It presents the nuts and bolts of gene cloning in a well-organized and accessible manner. Part I of this book outlines the essentials of biology and genetics relevant to the concept of gene cloning. Part II describes common techniques and approaches of gene cloning, ranging from the basic mechanics of DNA manipulation, vector systems, process transformation, to gene analysis. Part III & IV present application technologies of major impact in agriculture, biomedicine, and related areas. The ABCs of Gene Cloning, Third Edition contains updates including a tutorial chapter on gene-vector construction, methodologies on exome sequencing in finding disease genes, revised topics on gene therapy and whole genome sequencing, new developments for gene targeting and genome editing, as well as the current state of next generation sequencing. With more than 140 illustrations, this new edition provides an invaluable text for students and anyone who have interest in gaining proficiency in reading and speaking the language of gene cloning.
Genome Dynamics and Stability (eBook Series)
The Mycota. A Comprehensive Treatise on Fungi as Experimental Systems for Basic and Applied Research
Polysaccharides . Bioactivity and Biotechnology
This authoritative reference work presents comprehensive information about one of the most important and most wide-spread classes of (bio)organic compounds: the polysaccharides. The comprehensive and thoroughly up-to-date handbook presents the sources, identification, analysis, biosynthesis, biotechnology and applications of important polysaccharides likes starches, cellulose, chitin, gum and microbial polysaccharides. Polysaccharides can exhibit complex structure and various functional activities. These bio macromolecules can therefore serve as raw materials for various different materials, e.g. rayon, cellulose acetate, celluloid and nitrocellulose; and they find multiple applications, for instance as surgical threads (chitin), as sources of energy, dietary fibers, as blood flow adjuvants, in cosmetics, emulsion stabilizers, film formers, binders, viscosity increasing agents or skin conditioning agenta, as food additives in gums, chewing gum bases and as vaccines. Polysaccharides form the basis for useful products, like xanthan gum, dextran, welan gum, gellan gum, diutan gum and pullulan. Some of the polysaccharide-derived products have interesting and useful properties and show biological activities, such as immunomodulatory, antibacterial, anti-mutagenic, radioprotective, anti-oxidative, anti-ulcer, antidepressant, anti-septicaemic or anti-inflammatory activities. All these applications and properties of polysaccharides are for the first time compiled in a thorough and comprehensive overview in the present work. This reference work is organized thematically in four parts: Part I. Polysaccharides: Occurrence, Structure, Distribution and Biotechnology. Part II. Methods. Part III. Bioactive Polysaccharides. Part IV. Polysaccharides as Food. This reference work is edited by experienced experts, all chapters are written by well recognized international specialists. It is useful to all those working in the field of botany, phytochemistry, pharmacy, drug delivery, molecular biology, metabolomics, forestry, environment, conservation, biotechnology and NGOs working for forest protection.
The Prokaryotes
The Prokaryotes is a comprehensive, multi-authored, peer reviewed reference work on Bacteria and Achaea. This fourth edition of The Prokaryotes is organized to cover all taxonomic diversity, using the family level to delineate chapters.
Includes not only taxonomy, but also prokaryotic biology and technology of taxa in a broad context. Technological aspects highlight the usefulness of prokaryotes in processes and products, including biocontrol agents and as genetics tools.
Results and Problems in Cell Differentiation (eBook Series)
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics by
It covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, patents, etc.
Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology by
A single resource and gateway to the many areas of industrial biotechnology for students, researchers, and technologists. Cover important areas of pharmaceutical and biologics bioprocess technology, including: Production of vaccines Biopharmaceuticals and methods for manufacturing biomaterials Biofabrication for the production of microfluidics Tissue engineering Biosensors Bioelectronics Bioarrays Bio-nanotechnology.
Encyclopedia of Membranes
...covering the major aspects of the science, technology and application of membrane operations and related fields. The encyclopeida cover a multitude of applications in diverse disciplines such as biotechnology, medicine, agro-food and petrochemical industries, environmental protection, as well as drinking water supply. Coverage includes membrane reactors and catalytic design (catalytic membrane reactors). Practically all unit operations of process engineering can be redesigned as membrane unit operations (e. g. membrane distillation, membrane crystallization, membrane stripping, membrane scrubbing).
Nucleic Acids from A to Z by
Concise but complete, this mini-encyclopedia contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms for quick and easy reference. Guiding readers through the ever-increasing jungle of nucleic acid science and technology, the book distills the key information out of the large body of primary literature and presents it in a single volume. A first-stop resource for everyone, from students to established researchers, as both a desktop and library reference.
Reviews in cell biology and molecular medicine - formerly The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine (formerly The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine) covers both the molecular and cellular basis of life and medicine. Updated quarterly, this reference work contains more than 500 articles. As of April 2015, it is published in a "Volumes and Issues" format, with previously published articles archived as "Topical Supplements."
Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine articles are self-contained treatments of a given topic, usually with over 100 references and 10 to 20 figures and tables, making this an authoritative reference source for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, librarians and researchers. Each subject is presented on a ‘first-principles’ basis, including mathematical treatment as appropriate, tables of key data and detailed figures. Each article is a self-contained “mini-book”, accessible to readers at every level of expertise, and covers newly emerging and prominent topics in a myriad of cross-cutting subject areas.
