Gå till huvudinnehållet
Det verkar som att du använder Internet Explorer 11 eller en äldre version. Den här webbplatsen fungerar bäst med moderna webbläsare som de senaste versionerna av Chrome, Firefox, Safari och Edge. Om du fortsätter med den här webbläsaren kan du få oväntad
Tryckta handböcker på LUX-biblioteket
Printed handbooks at the LUX Library
Blackwell Companion to the Theologians av
This two-volume companion brings together a team of contemporary theologians and writers to provide substantial introductions to the key people who shaped the Christian story and tradition. A substantial two-volume reference work, bringing together over 75 entries on the most important and influential theologians in the history of Christianity Structured accessibly around five periods: early centuries, middle ages, reformation period, the Enlightenment, and the twentieth-century to the present A to Z entries range from substantial essays to shorter overviews, each of which locates the theologian in their immediate context, summarizes the themes of their work, and explains their significance Covers a broad span of theologians, from Augustine to Thomas Aquinas, through to C. S. Lewis, James Cone, and Rosemary Radford Reuther Provides profiles of key Catholic, protestant, evangelical, and progressive theologians Includes a useful timeline to orientate the reader, reading lists, and a glossary of key terms.
Byzantine Hagiography. Vol. 1, Periods and places av
The contents of this book cover the life of St. Antony between biography and hagiography, Greek hagiography in late antiquity, the hagiography of the eleventh and twelfth centuries, and much more.
Christian Faith in the Doctrinal Documents of the Catholic Church av
This classic compendium of the documents which define the Christian faith as understood by Catholics includes the creeds of the Church from the earliest times, along with major extracts from all the important decrees of councils, popes and Vatican congregations touching on matters of faith, now fully updated through to 2000. All these documents have been organized in chronological order, under themes, each with a helpful introduction and outline, so that developments in teaching the faith, and the concerns of theology and authority at various periods in the history of the Church, become fully apparent. Indexes and Tables enhance the value of this unique collection for catechists and all students of Church history and theology. Hardbound.
Christian Mysticism av
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Christian Mysticism brings together a team of leading international scholars to explore the origins, evolution, and contemporary debates relating to Christian mystics, texts, and the movements they inspired. Provides a comprehensive and engaging account of Christian mysticism, from its origins right up to the present day Draws on the best of current scholarship by bringing together a collection of newly-commissioned readings by leading scholars Considers examples of mysticism in both Eastern and Western Christianity Offers a brilliant synthesis of the key figures and historical periods of mysticism; its core themes, such as heresy, gender, or aesthetics; and its theoretical considerations, including theological, literary, social scientific, and philosophical approaches Features chapters on current debates such as neuroscience and mystical experience, and inter-religious dialogue
Christian Theology Reader av
This Reader brings together 324 seminal texts of Christian theology, drawn from more than 200 different sources throughout the two thousand years of Christian history. Follows the same structure as its companion volume, Christian Theology: An Introduction, or it can easily be used as a freestanding resource. Contains more classical and multicultural readings to supplement the wide-ranging collection of the first edition. Features updated study panels, introductions to every reading, bibliographies, a substantially revised and expanded glossary and study questions, as well as full cross-referencing. Includes a new section on 'Theological Resources on the Internet'. Won a Christianity Today book award in its first edition. More details on the third edition of The Christian Theology Reader can be found on the following website: http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/mcgrath
Christianity : the First Three Thousand Years av
The National Book Critics Circle Award-winning author of The Reformation returns with the definitive history of Christianity for our time Once in a generation a historian will redefine his field, producing a book that demands to be read-a product of electrifying scholarship conveyed with commanding skill. Diarmaid MacCulloch's Christianity is such a book. Breathtaking in ambition, it ranges back to the origins of the Hebrew Bible and covers the world, following the three main strands of the Christian faith. Christianity will teach modern readers things that have been lost in time about how Jesus' message spread and how the New Testament was formed. We follow the Christian story to all corners of the globe, filling in often neglected accounts of conversions and confrontations in Africa and Asia. And we discover the roots of the faith that galvanized America, charting the rise of the evangelical movement from its origins in Germany and England. This book encompasses all of intellectual history-we meet monks and crusaders, heretics and saints, slave traders and abolitionists, and discover Christianity's essential role in driving the enlightenment and the age of exploration, and shaping the course of World War I and World War II. We are living in a time of tremendous religious awareness, when both believers and non-believers are deeply engaged by questions of religion and tradition, seeking to understand the violence sometimes perpetrated in the name of God. The son of an Anglican clergyman, MacCulloch writes with deep feeling about faith. His last book, The Reformation, was chosen by dozens of publications as Best Book of the Year and won the National Book Critics Circle Award. This awe-inspiring follow-up is a landmark new history of the faith that continues to shape the world.
Church in Ancient Society av
'This is a tour de force by a great scholar... a magisterial account of the doctrinal and institutional history of the early Church, particularly in the east Roman provinces. The easy style, not without a sprinkling of colloquialisms, conceals the author's great learning and enthusiasm for his subject... Henry Chadwick's book will remain a standard work on the history of early Christianity for the forseeable future.' -English Historical Review'
Handbook of Theological Education in World Christianity : Theological Perspectives - Regional Surveys - Ecumenical Trends av
"This is a world-class resource for all of us who feel a need for continuing ecumenical formation. The editors and authors are first-rate interpreters of the role of theological education in the churches' quest for unity in witness, dialogue and closer cooperation. Among the practical features of the handbook are timely lists of links to organizations engaged in every region and at every level of this essential work."
- Olav Fykse Tveit, General Secretary , WCC
History of Theology av
As valuable as it is stimulating, this series offers an introduction to a discipline that has rarely been the subject of a comprehensive historical presentation. The multiple volumes that encompass this study bring theology out of its small circle of experts, and show it for what it is to all: a cultural expression of faith that is sensitiveto the needs of the day and developed in close dialogue with other forms of theculture.
The history of theology presented here is meant to be a history of the whole of Catholic Christian theology, from which the Second Vatican Council has served as both a point of arrival and a point of departure. The authors provide a history of theology that covers the twenty centuries of theological thought beginning with biblical revelation. They focus on the word "theology" and its accepted meaning and offer a careful history that shows what "theology" meant in successive periods, periods that must be seen for what they are in light of the faith journeys and cultural itineraries they represent and for their influence on our lives today.
History of Theology will be published in multiple volumes. Volumes cover the entire age of patristic theology from the first to the seventh centuries, medieval and renaissance theology from the late eighth to the fourteenth centuries, and the period from the Council of Trent to the twentieth century. Translated from Italian, this scholarly work is carefully organized and annotated. Text and chronologicaltables are included along with a list of abbreviations and a topical index.
Oxford Companion to Christian Thought av
At the dawn of the third millennium, what does it mean to be a Christian? This ambitious and imaginative new reference work is the most authoritative, yet accessible, introduction in English to the living tradition of Christian thought-the 'spiritual, moral, and intellectual luggage' that Christians carry with them into the future. It focuses on the broad sweep of ideasrather than factual detail, surveying all traditions and centuries but concentrating more on the present than the past. The profound pluralism of Christianity determines the choice of subjects as well as the way they are handled, with contributors from all the main traditions writing with sympathyon their own particular topic, expressing diversities of emphasis and even significant disagreements, making the text highly readable, challenging, and at times controversial.
Presence of God : A History of Western Christian Mysticism (6 vol.) av
Vol. I. The Foundations of Mysticism
Vol. II. The Growth of Mysticism
Vol. III. The Flowering of Mysticism
Vol. IV. The Harvest of Mysticism in Medieval Germany
Vol. V. The Varieties of Vernacular Mysticism (out of print)
Vol. VI. The Crisis of Mysticism (out of print?)
Routledge Companion to Modern Christian Thought av
This Companion provides an unrivalled view of the field of modern Christian thought, from the Enlightenment to the twentieth century and beyond. Written by an outstanding team of theologians and philosophers of religion, it covers the following topics within Christian thought: Key figures and influencers Central events and movements Major theological issues and key approaches to Christian Theology Recent topics and trends in Christian thought Each entry is clear and accessible, making the book the ideal resource for students of Christian thought and history and philosophy of religion, and a valuable reference for professional theologians and philosophers.
Routledge Companion to the Christian Church av
The nature and story of the Christian church is immensely important to theology students and scholars alike. Written by an international team of distinguished scholars, this comprehensive book introduces students to the fundamental historical, systematic, moral and ecclesiological aspects of the study of the church, as well as serving as a resource for scholars engaging in ecclesiological debates on a wide variety of issues. It divides into six parts: the church in its historical context the different denominational traditions global perspectives methods and debates in ecclesiology key concepts and themes ecclesiology and other disciplines: social sciences, philosophy, literature and film. Authoritative, accessible and easily navigable, this book is indispensable for everyone interested in the nature and history of the Christian Church.
Handböcker online via Lunds universitets bibliotek
Handbooks online via Lund University Libraries
Blackwell Companion to Catholicism av
The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism offers an extensive survey of the history, doctrine, practices, and global circumstances of Roman Catholicism, written by a range of distinguished and experienced Catholic writers. The essays are addressed to all those who wish to broaden and deepen their knowledge of Catholic life and thought.
Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics av
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics
presents a comprehensive and systematic exposition of Christian ethics, seen through the lens of Christian worship.
- An innovative exposition of Christian ethics, seen through the lens of Christian worship
- Challenges conventional approaches to the subject
- Restores a sense of the integral connection between Christian ethics and theology
- Stanley Hauerwas is one of the most influential figures in Christian ethics around the world
- Embraces contributors from the Roman Catholic, Anglican, Methodist, Presbyterian, Mennonite and Pentecostal traditions
- Designed to be accessible to introductory students
- Will have a major impact on the discipline of Christian ethics
Blackwell Companion to Christian Spirituality av
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Spirituality is a comprehensive single-volume introduction to Christian spirituality, and represents the most significant recent developments in the field. Offers a thoroughly interdisciplinary, broadly ecumenical, and representative overview of the most significant recent developments in the field Comprises essays combining rigorous academic scholarship with accessible and elegant writing Reflects an understanding of the field as the study of the lived experience of Christian faith and discipleship Provides material on biblical, historical, and theological foundations, along with treatment of contemporary issues
Blackwell Companion to Eastern Christianity av
Product description: Recent political events in the Middle East and Eastern Europe have brought Eastern Christianity to global attention. The Blackwell Companion to Eastern Christianity provides an unparalleled account of the history and development of these vital Christian traditions, at the same time placing contemporary events in their full context. The Companion provides authoritative and lively essays on the main Eastern Orthodox traditions, such as the Greek, Russian, and Georgian churches, as well as the Oriental Orthodox traditions, including the Armenian, Coptic, and Syrian churches.
Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology av
In this major reference work, a team of the world's leading theologians provides a powerful overview of modern theology. The volume begins with an outline of modern theology by the editor, including an analysis of the contemporary situation. Following an accessible structure, the 32 contributions are divided into five sections...
Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology av
Offers a comprehensive survey and interpretation of contemporary Christian political theology in a newly revised and expanded edition This book presents the latest thinking on the topic of contemporary Christian political theology, with original and constructive essays that represent a range of opinions on various topics. With contributions from expert scholars in the field, it reflects a broad range of methodologies, ecclesial traditions, and geographic and social locations, and provides a sense of the diversity of political theologies. It also addresses the primary resources of the Christian tradition, which theologians draw on when constructing political theologies, and surveys some of the most important figures and movements in political theology. This revised and expanded edition provides the most comprehensive and accessible introduction to this lively and growing area of Christian theology. Organized into five sections, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, Second Edition addresses the many changes that have occurred over the last 15 years within the field of political theology. It features new essays that address social developments and movements, such as Anglican Social Thought, John Milbank, Anabaptist Political Theologies, African Political Theologies, Postcolonialism, Political Economy, Technology and Virtuality, and Grass-roots Movements. The book also includes a new essay on the reception of Liberation Theology. Offers essays on topics such as the Trinity, atonement, and eschatology Features contributions from leading voices in the field of political theology Includes all-new entries covering fresh developments and movements like the urgency of climate change, virtuality and the digital age, the economic crisis of 2008, the discourse of religion and violence, and new modalities of war Addresses some important social movements from a theological point of view including postmodernism, grass-roots movements, and more Provides both Islamic and Jewish responses to political theology Written for academics and students of political theology, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, 2nd Edition is an enlightening read that offers a wide range of authoritative essays from some of the most notable scholars in the field.
Blackwell Companion to Postmodern Theology av
This Companion provides a definitive collection of essays on postmodern theology, drawing on the work of those individuals who have made a distinctive contribution to the field, and whose work will be significant for the theologies written in the new millennium. Each essay is introduced with a short account of the writer's previous work, enabling the reader to view it in context.
Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies av
Publikationsdatum: Print publication date: 2008
Abstract: A wide-ranging collection of authoritative accounts covering all major areas of research in early Christian studies by a distinguished team of international authors.
Oxford Handbook of English Literature and Theology av
The Oxford Handbook of English Literature and Theologyis a defining volume of essays in which leading international scholars apply an interdisciplinary approach to the long and evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology. The volume first offers a chronological account of key moments in the formation of the tradition; goes on to demonstrate literary ways of reading the Bible, theological ways of reading literature, and literary conceptions of theological texts; and finally explores the great themes that have preoccupied the Jewish and Christian traditions. Framing editorial essays describe the history, the cultural implications, and the methodological issues of this now popular interdisciplinary study, before speculating as to its possible futures in a postmodern, multicultural world.
Oxford Handbook of Evangelical Theology av
Evangelical theology is a burgeoning field. This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. Each chapter has been written by a theologian or scholar who is widely recognized for his or her published work and is considered a leading thinker on that topic.
The Oxford Handbook of Methodist Studies av
With the decision to provide of a scholarly edition of the Works of John Wesley in the 1950s, Methodist Studies emerged as a fresh academic venture. Building on the foundation laid by Frank Baker, Albert Outler, and other pioneers of the discipline, this handbook provides an overview of thebest current scholarship in the field. The forty-two included essays are representative of the voices of a new generation of international scholars, summarising and expanding on topical research, and considering where their work may lead Methodist Studies in the future.Thematically ordered, the handbook provides new insights into the founders, history, structures, and theology of Methodism, and into ongoing developments in the practice and experience of the contemporary movement. Key themes explored include worship forms, mission, ecumenism, and engagement withcontemporary ethical and political debate.