Strong’s Numbers are an index of every word in the original biblical texts. Each Strong's Number links the root meaning of the words of the Bible back to the original meanings in the Hebrew and Greek manuscripts from which they were translated.
Online via Lunds universitets bibliotek / Lund University Libraries
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
Tryckta språkliga uppslagsverk på biblioteket / Printed language reference books at the library
The English translation of the three-volume Exegetisches Wörterbuch zum Neuen Testament, this monumental work by an ecumenical group of scholars is first of all a complete English dictionary of New Testament Greek. Going beyond that, however EDNT also serves as a guide to the usage of every New Testament word in its various contexts, and it make... more »s a significant contribution to New Testament exegesis and theology.
Described as an "invaluable reference work" (Classical Philology) and "a tool indispensable for the study of early Christian literature" (Religious Studies Review) in its previous edition, this new updated American edition of Walter Bauer's Wörterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments builds on its predecessor's staggering deposit of extraordinary erudition relating to Greek literature from all periods. Including entries for many more words, the new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature...
Enchiridion literally means in one's own hand thus handbook or manual. No term better suits this concise but thorough handbook of Greek grammar and syntax: a compact summary of grammatical and exegetical supports for anyone who has an introductory knowledge of New Testament Greek and is ready to work at translation and exegesis. Designed for both deductive and inductive study and employing an easily accessible format, the Greek Enchiridion is a ready and practical reference tool. Its wealth of scriptural examples and the abundance of paradigms and charts makes it the ideal aid for quickly locating the answer to a variety of grammatical questions ranging from the complexities of the language's case system and use of articles to the intricacies and idiosyncrasies of its verbal system. A verb bank of principal parts provides a quick parsing guide for many verbs as well as being a useful tool for building one's vocabulary.Thoroughly indexed for ease of use in looking up material about which one is uncertain, the Enchiridion will prove an invaluable resource for the student of Greek wishing to better understand the language and the Scriptures.
For seminary students, the goal of studying Greek grammar is the accurate exegesis of biblical texts. Sound exegesis requires that the exegete consider grammar within a larger framework that includes context, lexeme, and other linguistic features.While the trend of some grammarians has been to take a purely grammatical approach to the language, Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics integrates the technical requirements for proper Greek interpretation with the actual interests and needs of Bible students. It is the first textbook to systematically link syntax and exegesis of the New Testament for second-year Greek students. It explores numerous syntactical categories, some of which have not previously been dealt with in print.Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics is the most up-to-date Greek grammar available. It equips intermediate Greek students with the skills they need to do exegesis of biblical texts in a way that is faithful to their intended meaning. The expanded edition contains a subject index, a Greek word index, and page numbers in the Syntax Summary section.
This title is more comprehensive than the Abridged Greek-English Lexicon in that it contains fuller explanations of words by including the irregular forms of moods and tenses and cites the leading authorities of the different usages with characteristic phrases.
In this volume, a leading expert brings readers up to date on the latest advances in New Testament Greek linguistics. Stanley Porter brings together a number of different studies of the Greek of the New Testament under three headings: texts and tools for analysis, approaching analysis, and doing analysis. He deals with a variety of New Testament texts, including the Synoptic Gospels, John, and Paul. This volume distills a senior scholar's expansive writings on various subjects, making it an essential book for scholars of New Testament Greek and a valuable supplemental textbook for New Testament Greek exegesis courses.
In this new edition, every entry has been rechecked and revised: misspellings have been corrected; unnecessary duplicate entries have been removed; textual variants and alternative readings have been noted and identified; New Testament references have been added for similar and identical forms having two or more parsings; references to the numbering used in Strong's have been added to facilitate study and cross-referencing for the less technical user; and the introductory grammar section has been updated.
The New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to the Greek New Testament is ideal for students and for busy pastors whose knowledge of Greek grammar is limited or rusty but who want to read the Greek New Testament. It not only simplifies reading the text of the Greek New Testament but also gives the reader a wealth of tools that a lexicon and grammar alone cannot provide. For those with a basic knowledge of first-year Greek grammar and vocabulary, this completely revised and greatly expanded edition of the highly successful Linguistic Key to the Greek New Testament (1982) makes reading the Greek New Testament faster, easier, and more effective. Going through the New Testament verse by verse, The New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to the Greek New Testament provides help in three areas: Lexical - It identifies unusual and uncommon word forms that in the past had to be looked up in a lexicon, as well as their meaning, based on BAGD and other standard lexicons. Grammatical - It provides grammatical insights from the leading Greek grammars, including Wallace's Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics. Exegetical - As the title of this revised and expanded edition indicates, The New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to the Greek New Testament also provides the reader with a wealth of exegetical insights and nuances, as well as references to a wide range of commentaries, monographs, journal articles, historical works, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and so forth.
TDNT is an authorized and unabridged translation of Theologisches Worterbuch zum Neuen Testament. This work was first published in the German edition in 1933. It is designed for the intermediate and advanced Greek student. Each significant Greek word of the New Testament is generally presented in its secular Greek background; its role in the Old Testament (both in the Hebrew and the Septuagint); its use by Philo, Josephus, the rabbinical literature; its uses in the New Testament, which is sometimes classified according to synoptic, Johannine, Petrine and Pauline usage; and sometimes the Apostolic Fathers are included as well.
A translation of the 3-volume work, Notes de lexicographie neo-testamentaire, by the premier biblical exegete Ceslas Spicq, the Theological Lexicon of the New Testament will surely take its place alongside other standard language tools. One plus to this work is that it is self-consciously theological. Spicq's quest is not for morphology, orthography, or even grammar or syntax; rather, he wants to uncover the religious meaning of the language used in the New Testament. To accomplish his task, Spicq mines the vast resources of epigraphical texts, papyri, classical writings, the Greek Old Testament, Hellenistic authors, and innumerable sources to inform his study of New Testament Koine.
In über 600 Artikeln erklärt das Theologische Begriffslexikon zum Neuen Testament alle wichtigen biblischen Begriffe. Nach Wortfeldern zusammengefasst werden sie von ihrem griechischen Ursprung her erläutert. Dabei ist die Sprache für Laien ohne weiteres verständlich.
This work was first published in the German edition in 1933. It is designed for the intermediate and advanced Greek student. Each significant Greek word of the New Testament is generally presented in its secular Greek background; its role in the Old Testament (both in the Hebrew and the Septuagint); its use by Philo, Josephus, the rabbinical literature; its uses in the New Testament, which is sometimes classified according to synoptic, Johannine, Petrine and Pauline usage; and sometimes the Apostolic Fathers are included as well.
There were more than 100 scholars who contributed to the work, including specialists in Old Testament, Septuagint, Hellenistic, Semitic and Rabbinic studies. Substantial bibliographies and extensive footnotes supplement the articles.