Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Themes studied at the Department of Gender studies
Gender equality, power & diversity: databases and webportals
Information and comprehensive reviews on gender equality research, equality researchers, or applied gender research.
Jämställ.nu - all about gender mainstreaming
A portal with news, description of equality goals, instructive examples, and links. Note: this site is under construction.
Women in Politics
This database contains bibliographic references on books and articles dealing with women in politics. (IPU, Inter-Pariamentary Union)
Family Studies Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
A database with bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce and family therapy.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
A database with bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault and emotional abuse.
Culture, arts and media: databases
Sondera - samsökning i tre svenska källor
Samsökning i NAD (Nationell arkivdatabas) & SMDB (Svensk mediedatabas) samt Libris (Nationell biblioteksdatabas). Här kan du få en överblick av hur en person eller händelse har dokumenterats i TV, radio, skrift och originalhandlingar.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A major international article database that covers and indexes over 1000 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database is available on the platform of Web of Science, under "More settings" you can limit the search to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Literary Reference Center
A database with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Encyclopedia posts, author biographies, plot summaries as well as journal articles and book reviews.
Nordicom - nordiskt informationscenter för medie- och kommunikationsforskning
Medieforskningen dokumenteras i databaser som innehåller litteratur, pågående forskning och forskningsinstitutioner. Bevakning av medieutveckling och mediestatistik i Norden.
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects covered are: Literature, Language and Linguistics, Folklore, Literary Theory & Criticism, Dramatic Arts; film, radio, television and theatre.
Film Index International
A major information resource for entertainment films and personalities. You can do a film or person search, and get references to journal articles
Migration & Globalization: organizations and publications
The Association for Women's Rights in Development (AWID)
AWID is an international, multi-generational, feminist, creative, future-orientated membership organization committed to achieving gender equality, sustainable development and women's human rights.
Gender and Development (The World Bank)
Reports and publications regarding econonmic and social inequalities related to gender.
The UN organisation works for the elimination of discrimination against women and girls; empowerment of women; and achievement of equality between women and men as partners and beneficiaries of development, human rights, humanitarian action and peace and security.
Human Rights Watch World Report 2011 (pdf)
This 20th annual World Report summarizes human rights conditions in more than 90 countries and territories worldwide.
Human development reports
The Human Development Reports produced since 1990 by the United Nations Development Programme are widely considered the most influential of the many regular reports by multilateral institutions. The 2010 report is upcoming.
A guide to the UN- documentation, reports and specialized databases by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library at Uppsala University Library.