LibGuides: Gender Studies: Reference works and Journals

Scholarly journals in gender studies - a selection

The journals are available in fulltext. Some are open access, some journals are available through the university subscription. Use your Sstudent-account when log-in is requested.

These titles are only a selection of scholarly journals in gender studies.

Browse scholarly journals

LUBITO
It is a list of all the print and electronic journals that Lund University Libraries have access to.
It is also an on-demand service where you can order journal articles from the UB print holdings, i.e. UB scans the printed version and the user receives a PDF copy. The order will be delivered the following weekday.
ViVa Women's History (International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam)
Viva is a bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. You can search the database and browse by year of publication.

Review Articles

A good start when you are seaching for articles within a subject field is to go to a journal that publish review articles. Here are some examples. You can also get results by searching for "Literature Review" in the Subject field within a database.

Gender Encyclopedias (e-books)

Interesting journal in social sciences

Tools for identifying and comparing scholarly journals

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory A database with bibliographic information for about a quarter of a million journals. You get a view of the journal´s content and publication information. Look under "Document Type" to see if the journal is scholarly.
Journal Citation Reports, JCR (ISI) Compare the citations and impact factors of scholarly journals. See which are the highest impact journals, the most frequently used journals, the hottest journals, the largest journals.
Web of Science You can search for a cited author or work, and every article has details on cited authors and works. The WoS platform has the best coverage on material published before 1996.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Google Scholar Here you can also see the number of citations for a specific article or work. Google also includes citations on book chapters and reports (which is missing at WoS and Scpous).

Reference works

In reference works (handbooks, companions, research surveys and subject specific encyclopedias) you will find summaries of research on a particular topic, structured for quick reference. It's an excellent starting point for further information searching on a specific subject, giving you an introduction to the key scholars, ideas and references in the area.

You can try yo combine your search terms with the word "handbook" in for example Libris or LUBsearch to see if there are available handbooks in that subject. In handbooks, the articles are often written by prominent scholars in the field, while encyclopedias will give you more basic introduction and definitions of subject terminology.

Some reference works (e-books)

The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media (2012) by Karen Ross (Ed.)
Brings together a collection of new, cutting-edge research exploring a number of different facets of the broad relationship between gender and media. Presents new research at the forefront of media and communication practice and theory.
Handbook of International Feminisms: perspectives on Psychology, Women, Culture, and Rights (2011) by Alexandra Rutherford, Rose Capdevila, Vindhya Undurti, Ingrid Palmary
The goal is to present the histories, status, and contours of feminist research and practice in their respective regional and/or national contexts. What does "feminist psychology" look like in Japan? In South Africa? In Canada? In Brazil? How did it come to look this way?
Feminist studies : a guide to intersectional theory, methodology and writing (2010) by Nina Lykke
In this book, feminist scholar Nina Lykke highlights current issues in feminist theory, epistemology and methodology. Combining introductory overviews with cutting-edge reflections, Lykke focuses on analytical approaches to gendered power differentials intersecting with other processes of social in/exclusion based on race, class, and sexuality.
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies (2007) by Haggerty, George E. and Molly Mcgarry (Eds).
Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gather new essays by established and emerging scholars, addressing the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality. The book engages the future of Queer Studies by asking what sexuality stands in for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics.

General reference (e-books)

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (2007) Anderson, Gary L. & Kathryn Herr (Ed.). A three-volume encyclopedia which is designed to give understanding to the topics, concepts and ideas which have motivated and shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced, and continue to influence, the study of activism.
Oxford Reference Online Platform for 177 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works.