Praktisk teologi

Provides an overview of pastoral and practical theology in the form of articles and extracts with commentary. Presents pastoral and practical theology within a theoretical framework Contains classic readings together with newly commissioned articles Engages with practical theologies from both sides of the Atlantic

Enchiridion symbolorum, definitionum et declarationum de rebus fidei et morum. Engelska & Latin

Product description:
"This is a world-class resource for all of us who feel a need for continuing ecumenical formation. The editors and authors are first-rate interpreters of the role of theological education in the churches' quest for unity in witness, dialogue and closer cooperation. Among the practical features of the handbook are timely lists of links to organizations engaged in every region and at every level of this essential work."
- Olav Fykse Tveit, General Secretary , WCC

Die Sonderausgabe umfasst alle fünf Bände:
Band 1 enthält - vollständig neu übersetzt - eine lateinisch-deutsche Studienausgabe aller Konzilsdokumente, die durch Wortwahl und Satzbau sehr nah am amtlichen Text bleibt, um auch für jene, die keine vertieften lateinischen Sprachkenntnisse besitzen, den Originaltext verstehbar zu machen.
Die Bände 2-4 kommentieren die 16 Konzilsdokumente jeweils in drei Schritten:
- Ein erster Abschnitt klärt die spezifischen Vorfragen (Anlass, Vorbereitungsdokumente, theologische Vorarbeiten usw.).
- Es folgt eine Auslegung der einzelnen Kapitel und Abschnitte des jeweiligen Dokumentes - der eigentliche theologische Kommentar.
- Den Abschluss bildet eine zusammenfassende theologische und pastorale Würdigung.
Band 5 klärt hermeneutische Fragen und bietet eine Chronik der Konzilsereignisse sowie eine abschließende theologische Zusammenschau.

Bd 1: Geschichte und Lehre des evangelischen Gottesdienstes.
Bd 2: Gestalt und Formen des evangelischen Gottesdienstes, 1: Der Hauptgottesdienst
Bd 3: Gestalt und Formen des evangelischen Gottesdienstes, 2: Der Predigtgottesdienst und der tägliche Gottesdienst ; Register
Bd 4: Die Musik des evangelischen Gottesdienstes
Bd 5: Der Taufgottesdienst

Orthodox Christian theology is often presented as the direct inheritor of the doctrine and tradition of the early Church. But continuity with the past is only part of the truth; it would be false to conclude that the eastern section of the Christian Church is in any way static. Orthodoxy, building on its patristic foundations, has blossomed in the modern period. This volume focuses on the way Orthodox theological tradition is understood and lived today. It explores the Orthodox understanding of what theology is: an expression of the Church's life of prayer, both corporate and personal, from which it can never be separated. Besides discussing aspects of doctrine, the book portrays the main figures, themes and developments that have shaped Orthodox thought. There is particular focus on the Russian and Greek traditions, as well as the dynamic but less well-known Antiochian tradition and the Orthodox presence in the West.

Scholarly interest in the early modern sermon has flourished in recent years, driven by belated recognition of the crucial importance of preaching to religious, cultural, and political life in early modern Britain. The Oxford Handbook of the Early Modern Sermon is the first book to survey this rich new field for both students and specialists. It is divided into sections devoted to sermon composition, delivery, and reception; sermons in Scotland, Ireland, and Wales; English Sermons, 1500-1660; and English Sermons, 1660-1720. ...

The Handbook takes as its subject the complex phenomenon of Christian monasticism. It addresses, for the first time in one volume, the multiple strands of Christian monastic practice. Forty-four essays consider historical and thematic aspects of the Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, OrientalOrthodox, Protestant, and Anglican traditions, as well as contemporary "new monasticism". The essays in the book span a period of nearly two thousand years - from late ancient times, through the medieval and early modern eras, on to the present day. Taken together, they offer, not a narrativesurvey, but rather a map of the vast terrain. The intention of the Handbook is to provide a balance of some essential historical coverage with a representative sample of current thinking on monasticism. It presents the work of both academic and monastic authors, and the essays are best understood asa series of loosely-linked episodes, forming a long chain of enquiry, and allowing for various points of view.The authors are a diverse and international group, who bring a wide range of critical perspectives to bear on pertinent themes and issues. They indicate developing trends in their areas of specialisation. The individual contributions, and the volume as a whole, set out an agenda for the futuredirection of monastic studies. In today's world, where there is increasing interest in all world monasticisms, where scholars are adopting more capacious, global approaches to their investigations, and where monks and nuns are casting a fresh eye on their ancient traditions, this publication isespecially timely.

Product description: The Routledge Companion to Christianity in Africa offers a multi-disciplinary analysis of the Christian tradition across the African continent and throughout a long historical span. The volume offers historical and thematic essays tracing the introduction of Christianity in Africa, as well as its growth, developments, and effects, including the lived experience of African Christians. Individual chapters address the themes of Christianity and gender, the development of African-initiated churches, the growth of Pentecostalism, and the influence of Christianity on issues of sexuality, music, and public health. This comprehensive volume will serve as a valuable overview and reference work for students and researchers worldwide.

In the decades following the Second Vatican Council, Catholic liturgy became an area of considerable interest and debate, if not controversy, in the West. Mid-late 20th century liturgical scholarship, upon which the liturgical reforms of the Second Vatican Council were predicated and implemented, no longer stands unquestioned. The liturgical and ecclesial springtime the reforms of Paul VI were expected to facilitate has failed to emerge, leaving many questions as to their wisdom and value.Quo vadis Catholic liturgy? This Companion brings together a variety of scholars who consider this question at the beginning of the 21st century in the light of advances in liturgical scholarship, decades of post-Vatican II experience and the critical re-examination in the West of the question of the liturgy promoted by Benedict XVI. The contributors, each eminent in their field, have distinct takes on how to answer this question, but each makes a significant contribution to contemporary debate, making this Companion an essential reference for the study of Western Catholic liturgy in history and in the light of contemporary scholarship and debate.

Produktbeskrivning: Vatican Archives provides the first comprehensive guide to one of the richest archival sources for the history of the Western world. Organized into related agency groups, it includes approximately 500 entries that describe the purpose and workings of each administrative agency of the Vatican and the official records it produces-- the very records that now constitute the archives. Serving as a research tool that provides a systematic and previously unavailable overview of the archives, this book enhances and expediates access by scholars in a broad range of disciplines.

The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism offers an extensive survey of the history, doctrine, practices, and global circumstances of Roman Catholicism, written by a range of distinguished and experienced Catholic writers. The essays are addressed to all those who wish to broaden and deepen their knowledge of Catholic life and thought.

Product description: Recent political events in the Middle East and Eastern Europe have brought Eastern Christianity to global attention. The Blackwell Companion to Eastern Christianity provides an unparalleled account of the history and development of these vital Christian traditions, at the same time placing contemporary events in their full context. The Companion provides authoritative and lively essays on the main Eastern Orthodox traditions, such as the Greek, Russian, and Georgian churches, as well as the Oriental Orthodox traditions, including the Armenian, Coptic, and Syrian churches.

Knowledge of Catholic educational scholarship and research has been largely confined to specific national settings. Now is the time to bring together this scholarship in an international Handbook reflecting the fact that the Catholic Church is an international organisation and that its various educational systems can learn from each other. The unifying theme of the Handbook will be Catholic Education: challenges and responses in a number of international settings. The analytical focus will be problem orientated in examining church-state relations, the consequences of globalisation, the impact of secularisation, the extent of Vatican II transformations of educational policy and practice, issues of school leadership and governance and other contemporary challenges. At the same time an examination will be undertaken of the various responses which are being made to these challenges. The two volumes will be organized by geography.

Practical theology has outgrown its traditional pastoral paradigm. The articles in this handbook recognize that faith, spirituality, and lived religion, within and beyond institutional communities, refer to realms of cultures, ritual practices, and symbolic orders, whose boundaries are not clearly defined and whose contents are shifting. The International Handbook of Practical Theology offers insightful transcultural conceptions of religion and religious matters gathered from various cultures and traditions of faith. The first section presents 'concepts of religion'. Chapters have to do with considerations of the conceptualizing of religion in the fields of 'anthropology', 'community', 'family', 'institution', 'law', 'media', and 'politics' among others. The second section is dedicated to case studies of 'religious practices' from the perspective of their actors. The third section presents major theoretical discourses that explore the globally significant diversity and multiplicity of religion. Altogether, sixty-one authors from different parts of the world encourage a rethinking of religious practice in an expanded, transcultural, globalized, and postcolonial world.

Since their earliest days, institutions providing a Protestant education have always been respected and sought-after for their rigor and relative freedom from dogma - and despite today "s secularism and plurality, they remain so. This international handbook is the ultimate companion to protestant schooling worldwide. Its 39 chapters form the most comprehensive and wide-ranging treatment of the subject yet available, addressing Protestant education on all six inhabited continents and featuring the perspectives of leading authorities and public figures.The contributions cover in detail not only the facts and features of Protestant schooling in sundry nations, but also interrogate a range of themes common to them all, themes so vital that they are of central concern to Christians around the world and of whatever denomination. Some of these topics are school choice, globalization, Bible pedagogy and character education, the fine arts, parental involvement, and the rise of Christianity in previously inaccessible locations such as China.The handbook "s stellar list of authors is a Who "s Who of authorities on the subject and includes a renowned American evangelical, a former historian of the US House of Representatives, and White House consultants responsible for framing legislation. The many contributors from outside the USA are leading academics conducting seminal research on numerous topics in the field. Both exhaustive and authoritative, The International Handbook of Protestant Educationwill be an invaluable asset to educators, ministers, parents, policy makers political leaders of any denomination ”or none.

Despite the ongoing global expansion of Christianity, there remains a lack of comprehensive scholarship on its development in Asia. This volume fills the gap by exploring the world of Asian Christianity and its manifold expressions, including worship, theology, spirituality, inter-religious relations, interventions in society, and mission. The contributors, from over twenty countries, deconstruct many of the widespread misconceptions and interpretations of Christianity in Asia. They analyze how the growth of Christian beliefs throughout the continent is linked with the socio-political and cultural processes of colonization, decolonization, modernization, democratization, identity construction of social groups, and various social movements. With a particular focus on inter-religious encounters and emerging theological and spiritual paradigms, the volume provides alternative frames for understanding the phenomenon of conversion and studies how the scriptures of other religious traditions are used in the practice of Christianity within Asia.

Evangelical theology is a burgeoning field. This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. Each chapter has been written by a theologian or scholar who is widely recognized for his or her published work and is considered a leading thinker on that topic.

The period 1689-1901 was 'the golden age' of the sermon in Britain. Sermons out-sold other books until the mid-nineteenth century and were a key part of peoples' religious worship. Sermons influenced the outcome of elections, they challenged science and were used as vehicles for popular campaigns such as that for the abolition of slavery. The popularity of sermons should not be underestimated. Preachers attracted huge crowds, the Baptist minister Charles Spurgeonregularly preached to 5,000 people, and the popular demand for sermons was never higher. Sermons were also taken by missionaries and clergy across the British empire. Sermons varied widely in form, and this enabled preaching to be adopted and shaped by every denomination, so that in this period mostreligious groups could lay claim to a sermon culture.

The Oxford Handbook of Ecumenical Studies is an unparalleled compendium of ecumenical history, information and reflection. With essay contributions by nearly fifty experts in their various fields, and edited by two leading international scholars, the Handbook is a major resource for all whoare involved or interested in ecumenical work for reconciliation between Christians and for the unity of the Church. Its six main sections consider, respectively, the different phases of the history of the ecumenical movement from the mid-nineteenth century to the present; the ways in which leadingChristian churches and traditions, Orthodox, Anglican, Methodist, Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Baptist, and Pentecostal, have engaged with and contributed to the movement; the achievements of ecumenical dialogue in key areas of Christian doctrine, such as Christology and ecclesiology, baptism,Eucharist and ministry, morals and mission, and the issues that remain outstanding; various ecumenical agencies and instruments, such as covenants and dialogues, the World Council of Churches, the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and the Global Christian Forum; the progress anddifficulties of ecumenism in different countries, areas and continents of the world, the UK and the USA, Africa, Asia, South America, Europe, and the Middle East; and finally two all-important questions are considered by scholars from various traditions: what would Christian unity look like and whatis the best method for seeking it? This is a remarkably comprehensive account and assessment of one of the most outstanding features of Christian history, namely the modern ecumenical movement.

With the decision to provide of a scholarly edition of the Works of John Wesley in the 1950s, Methodist Studies emerged as a fresh academic venture. Building on the foundation laid by Frank Baker, Albert Outler, and other pioneers of the discipline, this handbook provides an overview of thebest current scholarship in the field. The forty-two included essays are representative of the voices of a new generation of international scholars, summarising and expanding on topical research, and considering where their work may lead Methodist Studies in the future.Thematically ordered, the handbook provides new insights into the founders, history, structures, and theology of Methodism, and into ongoing developments in the practice and experience of the contemporary movement. Key themes explored include worship forms, mission, ecumenism, and engagement withcontemporary ethical and political debate.