Praktisk teologi

The Atlas of Global Christianity is a thorough visual reference of the changing status of global Christianity over the 100 years since the epoch-making ‘Edinburgh 1910’ World Missionary Conference. It is the first scholarly atlas to depict the twentieth-century shift of Christianity to the Global South. It is also the first to map Christian affiliation at the provincial level.

The Dictionary covers the major living traditions of Eastern Christianity and some which are less familiar. It offers balanced treatment of the Byzantine traditions (Green, Slav, Romanian and Georgian), and the Oriental traditions (Armenian, Assyrian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Syrian, Indian), taking account of Orthodox, Catholic and Reformed communities. Both communities in their original homelands and the diaspora, exile and convert ...

Product description: For nearly two thousand years Christian themes have inspired or influenced our culture and way of life. And yet, the Old and New Testaments, the symbols and saints of Christianity, its history and teachings... are unfamiliar to a secularized society... In a single... volume, Professor Metford solves the problem. Each of the more than 1700 articles provides a key to a work of art, or to an entire tradition.

This volume offers authoritative, easy-to-find information that will assist anyone engaged in the study or practice of pastoral care and counseling.More than 1200 state-of-the-art articles, prepared by experts in the field, cover virtually every topic related to pastoral care and counseling. The volume is ecumenical in its vision, enlisting the participation of nearly 600 Protestant, Catholic, Orthodox, and Jewish contributors.

The Encyclopedia of Cremation is the first major reference resource focused on cremation. Spanning many world cultures it documents regional histories, ideological movements and leading individuals that fostered cremation whilst also presenting cremation as a universal practice. Tracing ancient and classical cremation sites, historical and contemporary cremation processes and procedures of both scientific and legal kind, the encyclopedia also includes sections on specific cremation rituals, architecture, art and text. Features in the volume include: a general introduction and editorial introductions to sub-sections by Douglas Davies, an international specialist in death studies; appendices of world cremation statistics and a chronology of cremation; cross-referencing pathways through the entries via the index; individual entry bibliographies; and illustrations. This major international reference work is also an essential source book for students on the growing number of death-studies courses and wider studies in religion, anthropology or sociology.

In recent years there has been a massive upsurge in academic, professional and lay interest in mortality. This is reflected in academic and professional literature, in the popular media and in the proliferation of professional roles and training courses associated with aspects of death and dying. Until now the majority of reference material on death and dying has been designed for particular disciplinary audiences and has addressed only specific academic or professional concerns. There has been an urgent need for an authoritative but accessible reference work reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field. This Encyclopediaanswers that need. The Encyclopedia of Death and Dyingconsolidates and contextualizes the disparate research that has been carried out to date. The phenomena of death and dying and its related concepts are explored and explained in depth, from the approaches of varied disciplines and related professions in the arts, social sciences, humanities, medicine and the sciences. In addition to scholars and students in the field-from anthropologists and sociologists to art and social historians - the Encyclopediawill be of interest to other professionals and practitioners whose work brings them into contact with dying, dead and bereaved people. It will be welcomed as the definitive death and dying reference source, and an essential tool for teaching, research and independent study.cial sciences, humanities, medicine and the sciences. In addition to scholars and students in the field-from anthropologists and sociologists to art and social historians - the Encyclopediawill be of interest to other professionals and practitioners whose work brings them into contact with dying, dead and bereaved people. It will be welcomed as the definitive death and dying reference source, and an essential tool for teaching, research and independent study.

Product description: With a combination of essay-length and short entries written by a team of leading religious experts, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodoxy offers the most comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity available in English today. An outstanding reference work providing the first English language multi-volume account of the key historical, liturgical, doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches.

... is the first work in any language to examine monasticism past and present, devoting nearly equal attention to the three great strands. Stated in chronological order of their emergence, these are: Buddhist monasticism, Earstern Christian monasticism, and Western Christian monasticism.

Covers all of the major aspects of religious revivals in the United States, from the Great Awakening of the 17th Century to the present day.

From the preface: This volume, which is a collaborative effort involving more than forty contributors from the United States and abroad, focuses on the historical, political, diplomatic, social, cultural, and religious role of the Vatican and the papacy in the modern world. The major emphasis is therefore on the Vatican since the time of the Renaissance...

Product Description
The Definitive History of the Spirit-Filled Church Encyclopedic coverage of: Activities of the Spirit over 2,000 years of church history in 60 countries and regions Outpourings at Topeka, Mukti Mission (India), Azusa Street, Duquesne University, and many other 20th-century locations Current movements among today's 500 million-plus Pentecostal and charismatic Christians worldwide.

Product description: ... a useful reference work on all aspects of Christian spirituality. It deals with every denomination throughout Christian history and is arranged alphabetically for ease of use.

From Library Journal 1991: The 100 contributors, many of them distinguished experts, have succeeded in their "attempt to collect within a single work data concerning all fields of Byzantine studies." The 5000-plus entries provide authoritative coverage not only of "traditional" topics such as art and architecture, basilica, agriculture, chronology, geography, literature, medicine, military strategy, science, and theology, but also many facets of everyday life--baths, clocks, houses, locks and padlocks, etc. The social historian will be especially pleased with the entries on abortion, childbirth, criminal procedure, food and diet, homosexuality, marriage and the family, names, prostitution, and slavery.

Baksidestext: From the famous to the obscure, this book provides concise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,300 saints.

Finns även online. Se spalten till höger.

Från bokens baksidestext: Psalmernas väg är ett kommentarverk till Den svenska psalmboken... Kommentarerna i Psalmernas väg inleds med en beskrivning av respektive psalms tillkomst och historia kompletterad med en tolkning av psalmens text. I musikkommentarerna placeras psalmernas melodier och sättningar in i sitt musikhistoriska och kulturella sammanhang.