LibGuides: International Master's Programme: Thesis Workshop

General databases for academic research

LUBsearch
Web of Science A platform for 5 large databases, including Social Sciences Citation Index. You can search for a cited authors or work and follow the citations of every publication. See total cites for an article and order the citations by their number of citations in turn. You will get the publications with highest impact in an area.
Scopus Scopus is the largest citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Best coverage for this after 1996 and forward.
Google Scholar Search for scholarly articles, theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities. Here you can also see the number of citations for a specific article or work. Google Scholar includes citations on book chapters and reports (which is uncommon in Scopus and WoS). However, bear in mind that not all material avaliable through this database is peer reviewed or taken from certified sources.

Subject databases

For subject related databases, use the Databases A-Z function in LUBsearch and browse by subject. Or you could browse the Subject resources-section in this LibGuide. https://lub.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=296923&p=4795268

Student papers and research produced in Sweden

Uppsök
Database containing student papers from Swedish universities. The layout is in swedish only but the database contains many papers written in english. Ask if you need help with translations while navigating the site.
Swepub Academic publications from Swedish universities. Search among scholarly articles, conference papers and dissertations.
Lund University Research Portal In Lund University Research Portal you can browse the university's research across disciplines. You can search and find information about all active researchers, units, outputs (publications), projects, infrastructures, and more, to get an overview of Lund University research or to find details for contact.

Review articles

Remember that an easy way to find review articles is to add "review" to your search in LUBsearch or (even easier!) to use the review articles-filters when using Scopus or Web of Science.

But also feel free to try out the Annual Reviews database containing review articles only.

Annual Reviews

Databases for finding newspaper articles

Handbooks

If you're looking for a narrow subject, begin your search for handbooks by searching for "handbook *subject in question"" in LUBcat. Maybe you're lucky and find something very useful and specific right away.

Finding ongoing research

Swedish Research Council project database (in english)
Lund University Research Portal
SSRN - Social Science Research Network Here you can find working papers and pre-prints of new research.