Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International News - databases & links
AM Explorer Archives
AM Explorer is a database platform, which contains archival collections of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st century.
Welcome to the subject guide for the Master´s programmes in Social Sciences! Here you will find useful subject resources as well as tips on searching for and managing information and literature.
In addition to this guide there are several subject guides available within the Social Sciences Faculty at Lund University, for example in Gender Studies, Sociology, Political Science & Peace and Conflict Studies, Social Work, Psychology, Social Geography & Human Ecology, and Education. You can find them from the library's website.
Main search services
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. As of December 2010, Scopus included more than 41 million records (70% with abstracts) from nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. Scopus also offers tools to compare journals, authors, research areas, etc.
In comparison to Web of Science, Scopus has a bigger scope (aprox. 18,000 titles compared to aprox. 12,000 titles), but Web of Science is more complete when it comes to citations prior to 1996. Scopus doesn't use the JIF, but rely on other bibliometric tools such as SJR and SNIP. Another difference is that Scopus covers articles in press.
Scopus is part of Elsevier's SciVerse platform, which also includes ScienceDirect and SciVerse Hub. Through SciVerse Hub it is possible to cross search all ScienceDirect and Scopus content together with Scirus. SciVerse Hub also contains a methods search.
Evaluation of journals
Different databases/registers can be used to find information about journals (or publishers), such as ranking or impact factor.