LibGuides: Subject Guide for Asian Studies: Databases and links

General Databases

Dacheng Modern China Journal Database "Dacheng Modern China Journal Database covers c. 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from late Qing to 1949 covering a wide field of disciplines. humanities, social sciences, exact sciences, as well as popular journals. Examples include the Shidianzhai huabao, Xiandai, Shaonian Zhongguo, Dazhong shenghuo, Guocui xuebao, Qingnian Zhongguo, Minfeng. Contents are regularly updated. Searching is by keyword in title in simplified or traditional Chinese, which retrieves article titles. Advanced searching (by article or periodical title) is also possible. The periodicalas can be browsed by subject area. Clicking on a periodical title gives the issues available of that title; clicking on the issue gives a table of content. PDFs can be downloaded. Interface in Chinese and English, content in Chinese "

Subject databases

Chinalawinfo Database (PKULAW) "The Chinalawinfo Database jointly developed by Chinalawinfo Co., Ltd. and the Institute for Legal Information Studies of Peking University, is a bilingual database to provide comprehensive information on China’s national-level laws and regulations, judicial interpretations, guiding cases, local regulations, legal trends, legislative history, contracts and legal forms, and the laws and regulations of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. Contents in the database are derived from official sources to ensure authoritativeness, and the database incorporates a full range of user-friendly features including hyperlinks to related legal information, search results filtering, and summary displays of linked information through “Pkulaw window.”
Fudan University Social Science Data Repository
Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) Wanfang In Chinese and English."Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)" provides information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. "The database holds over 583,000 records covering a range of Chinese policies, regulations and laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward."

Statistics

China Data Insights Via Asia Portal. "China Data Insights is a new and more userfriendly version of China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD). The content is the same as CSYD and it is also possible to go to CSYD via the link to “Old Version” in the upper corner of the web site. China Data Insights provides access to statistical data published officially by the mainland Chinese government. China Data Insights contains 1074 kinds of statistical yearbooks, 1383340 tables, and 10592774 indicators, covering 18 topics. The content can be browsed by topic or geographical region. There are also functions for data analysis and data mining. Search is possible by topic, data sets, tables, indicators and titles."
China Statistical Yearbooks Database Access via NIAS and Asia Portal. "The CNKI China Statistical Yearbooks Database is a digital repository of statistical data published officially by the mainland Chinese government. CSYD offers: *450 titles containing over 2,600 volumes of statisticalyearbooks, including about 150 continuously published statistical yearbooks in China."

Interdiciplinary links

Digital Commons @ Lingnan University, Hong Kong
"Subjects: Multidisciplinary "
more...less...
Content: Articles; Conferences; Theses; Books; Multimedia
Languages: English; Chinese
Hong Kong Institute of Education
"Subjects: Ecology and Environment; Mathematics and Statistics; Arts and Humanities General; Language and Literature; Philosophy and Religion; Social Sciences General; Education; Law and Politics; Psychology"
more...less...
Content: Articles; References
Languages: Chinese; English
Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research
"Subjects: Agriculture, Food and Veterinary; Ecology and Environment; Physics and Astronomy; Geography and Regional Studies; Library and Information Science"
more...less...
Content: Articles; Conferences; Theses; Books
Languages: Chinese; English
Institutional Repository of Peking University
Subjects: Multidisciplinary; Ecology and Environment; Health and Medicine; Arts and Humanities General; Fine and Performing Arts; History and Archaeology; Language and Literature; Philosophy and Religion; Business and Economics; Law and Politics; Library and Information Science; Management and Planning "
more...less...
Content: Articles; Conferences; Theses; Books
Institutional Repository of Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences
"Subjects: Agriculture, Food and Veterinary; Chemistry and Chemical Technology; Ecology and Environment; Geography and Regional Studies"
more...less...
Content: References; Theses; Patents
Languages: Chinese
University of Science and Technology Beijing
"Subjects: Science General; Technology General; Arts and Humanities General; Language and Literature; Law and Politics"
more...less...
Content: Articles; Conferences; Theses; Patents; Special
Choose School Departments on entry page for the different disciplines.

Some freely available sources within Chinese Studies

List of free resources compiled by NoBas (Nordic Baltic association for Asian Studies), including historical sources, literature, library catalogues, government information and policy documents, population statistics, newspaper archives and antique maps.

https://www.ub.uio.no/english/subjects/area-studies/nobas-(nordic-baltic-association-for-asian-studies/chinesefreeresrouces.html