Skip to Main Content
Interdisciplinary Journals
China Journal
"Focuses on topics relating to China, Hong Kong & Taiwan since 1949, plus studies of the major issues that contribute to understanding of Communist Party history & contemporary events."
The China Nonprofit Review
"This peer-reviewed, semiannual journal, published in Chinese by Social Sciences Academic Press (Beijing) and in English by Brill, serves as a forum for researchers specializing in the undertakings and organization of Chinese nonprofits. Drawing on an editorial board of international scholars and edited by researchers affiliated with the NGO Research Center of Tsinghua University in Beijing, the journal provides a truly international and authoritative source of observation, analysis, theoretical thinking and policy-making advice during a time of social transition and innovation in China."
China Review
"Covers various disciplines of study on Greater China and its people, namely, domestic politics and international relations, society, business and economic development, modern history, the arts and cultural studies."
Journal of contemporary China
"Research articles and notes, and book reviews of Chinese language works that cover the areas of economics, political science, international relations, social sciences and humanities."
China Academic Journals (CAJ) & Century Journals Project (CJP)
Access via NIAS and Asia Portal.
"China Academic Journals Full-text Database (CAJ) & Century Journals Project (CJP) together provide access to full-text and full-image interdisciplinary Chinese journals from 1915 to present.
The content available to NNC members is from 4 sections:
* Literature/history/philosophy,
* Politics/military affairs/law,
* Education/General social science,
* Economics. "
COJ - China online Journals (Wanfang)
In Chinese. Only Social Science and Humanities. Access via NIAS.
Social Science Journals
China Archive
"Sources are the basis for research on history, not only in Chinese Studies. Yet location, content or the very existence of sources are often unknown and qualified information is sometimes hard to come by. Chinese historians are often unaware of Qing archival material outside China, but also Western sinologists are only too often hampered by lack of knowledge about archives in other countries. China Archives helps scholars in Modern Chinese History to the rich sources available in Europe and beyond. It publishes research on materials and sources in archives, libraries and collections outside China, ranging from the accessibility of sources to the relevance of their content. China Archives not only offers research articles on single documents or files, but on a regular basis also offers the indispensable overview articles of a whole archive or the holdings of a (European) country."
Modern China
"An international quarterly of history and social science. Articles encouraging interdisciplinary scholarship and dialogue on China's ongoing revolutionary experience."
China Report
A quarterly journal of the Institute of Chinese Studies, Delhi, India.
General Chinese Journals
The China Quarterly
Published for SOAS, University of London
The China Quarterly is the leading scholarly journal in its field, covering all aspects of contemporary China including Taiwan. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including anthropology/sociology, literature and the arts, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics.
China Information: A Journal on Contemporary China Studies
"China Information presents timely and in-depth peer reviewed analyses of major developments in contemporary China and overseas Chinese communities in the areas of politics, economics, law, ecology, culture, and society, including literature and the arts. "
