Google Art Project
Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Some paintings are available in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail.
WikiArt
The project aims to create high-quality, most complete and well-structured online repository of fine art. We hope to make classical art a little more accessible and comprehensible, and also want to provide a new form of interaction between contemporary artists and their audience. In the future we plan to cover the entire history of art — from cave artworks to the new talents of today.
Free images from the Met Museum in New York
The Met Musuem in New York Digitizes its Collection, now releasing 350,000 images from their collection to the public domain for free and unrestricted use.
Artstor
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
Artcyclopedia
Links to works of art online. About 7,000 artists are included in this searchable database.
Britannica ImageQuest
Named a Best Database by School Library Journal and Best of Show at ISTE, Britannica® ImageQuest™ brings lessons, assignments, and projects to life with close to three million rights-cleared images from 59 leading collections … and growing! The Bridgeman Art Gallery, Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and other top names have joined with Britannica to provide the best and broadest collection of curriculum-relevant imagery which is rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.
Statens museum for kunst
The Danish National Museum of Art has released tens of thousands of artworks free. It's artwork where the artist has been dead for more than 70 years and where the copyright has expired.
Artworks of the City of Paris' museums
Discover the artworks of the Paris Musées collections, a one-of-a-kind collection of over 180,000 artworks, presentation pages, bibliographical resources and archives, ranging from Archeology to Contemporary Art.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons (or simply Commons) is an online repository of free-use images, sound, and other media files.
UbuWeb
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. All materials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s).
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service for quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies and documentaries that your lecturer has assigned, films that broaden your horizons and spark conversations, classic films that prove timeless and foreign films that show you how other people live, think and view the world we all live in.
Tips on copyright-free or licensed images, movies and sound (in swedish)
Tips on copyright-free or licensed images, movies and sound
Electronical Arts Intermix
Founded in 1971, EAI is a nonprofit resource that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of media art.
Art film distributors