Religionsbeteendevetenskap

With its striking range and penetrating depth, Brill’s Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World traces the enduring history and wide-ranging cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. Featuring original contributions by a host of distinguished international scholars, this comprehensive reference work explores every aspect of the civilized world from literature and law to philosophy and the sciences.

Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 1

From the Mesopotamian kings in around 3000 BC to the Bishops and Patriarchs of Late Antiquity, Chronologies of the Ancient World lists all rulers and dynasties that made their mark on ancient history. This supplement to Brill’s New Pauly enriches the information from the encyclopedia with its exhaustive lists of names, dates and facts about the people who shaped the ancient world.

Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 2

The Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts gives a clear overview of authors and Major Works of Greek and Latin literature, and their history in written tradition, from Late Antiquity until present: papyri, manuscripts, Scholia, early and contemporary authoritative editions, translations and comments.

The definitive reference work within classical studies and ancient history, this Encyclopedia is essential for all students and scholars of the ancient world. 13-volume major reference in A-Z format, with entries ranging from 250-5000 words. Provides clear, concise, definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events Spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Covers the entire Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt. Internationally diverse editorial board and contributors. Highly illustrated with hundreds of photographs, figures, and maps. In addition, the online version provides: Regular revisions and new entries, updated at least three times a year. Many additional illustrations, including archaeological sites, maps, and photographs not found in the print version. Links to comprehensive collection of Companions to the Ancient World through Blackwell Reference online. Links to other resources available on the web. Powerful searching, browsing, and cross-referencing capabilities, including Open URL linking. For further details, a list of entries and sample chapters see www.encyclopediaancienthistory.com.

Defining the Enlightenment as the "long eighteenth century," the Encyclopedia focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment. It extends the conventional geographical boundaries of the Enlightenment, covering not only France, England, Scotland,the Low Countries, Italy, English-speaking North America, the German states, and Hapsburg Austria but also Iberian, Ibero-American, Jewish, Russian, and Eastern European cultures. Nor does the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment limit itself to major centers like Paris in France and Edinburgh inScotland, but shares the rich lode of recent scholarship on "secondary" and "provincial" centers such as Berlin and Geneva; Philadelphia and Milan. The Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment brings a similar spirit of inclusion to the new theoretical and methodological approaches that have flowered in the humanities during the past two decades. Including feminist and various post-modernist reassessments alongside more traditional perspectives, thefour volumes offer the broadest possible range of current knowledge. Accessibility combined with scholarly rigor make the Encyclopedia the first choice for researching any aspect of the Enlightenment.

A major work of reference for scholars and libraries, The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages offers a wealth of information available from no other single source, and providing precise and concise information on all aspects of the Middle Ages. The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages is a tool of great value, a synthesis of knowledge covering the millennium from the fifth century to the fifteenth.

What is time? Did it have a beginning? Will it ever end? These are profound questions that have been asked by serious thinkers over the centuries, from early speculations among the ancient Greeks to the startling discoveries in the modern sciences. Both philosophers and theologians have offered dynamic worldviews to accomodate new facts and ideas about time and change.

An extensive and fascinating collection of stories featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world.

Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 3

This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD.

...Definitive reference work on the role of popular agency in transforming the world in which we live. First historical encyclopedia to provide scholars and teachers and students with the information they need to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present. 8-volume major reference in A-Z format, with entries rangingfrom 500 to 14,000 words. Provides clear, concise explanations of events and larger social movements, and biographies of key people Presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas,ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the mannerin which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures...

NE är det klassiska svenska uppslagsverket, här i digital form.

Der Neue Pauly – published in print by Metzler Verlag – is the most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world currently available. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of Greco-Roman Antiquity and the reception of this in the two thousand years that followed. This unique reference work is also available in print and online as Brill’s New Pauly.

BRILL’S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of BRILL’S NEW PAULY are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an alreadyoutstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality

The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium is a three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization. The first resource of its kind in the field, it features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world.According to Alexander Kazhdan, editor-in-chief of the Dictionary: "Entries on patriarchy and emperors will coexist with entries on surgery and musical instruments. An entry on the cultivation of grain will not only be connected to entries on agriculture and its economics but on diet, the baking ofbread, and the role of bread in this changing society." Major entries treat such topics as agriculture, art, literature, and politics, while shorter entries examine topics that relate to Byzantium such as the history of Kiev and personalities of ancient and biblical history. Each article is followed by a bibliography, and numerous maps, tables,architectural designs, and genealogies reinforce and clarify the text. The new ODB will be the standard research tool and reference work for Byzantinists from graduate students to advanced scholars, and an essential resource for college and school libraries. It will also be an invaluable guide for classicists, Western medievalists, Islamicists, Slavicists, arthistorians, religious historians, and scholars of archaeology.

Authoritative, wide-ranging, and unrivalled in its accessibility, The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World is a concise and lucid survey of life in ancient Greece and Rome, spanning 776 BC - AD 180, from the first Olympic games to the death of Marcus Aurelius. An approachable, user-friendly abridgement of the highly acclaimed Oxford Classical Dictionary, this book offers over 2,500 A-Z entries on aspects of life in the classical world, from politics, medicine, philosophy, art, and architecture, to history, myth and religion, mathematics, and literature, with biographical entries on the important individuals - both real and mythological - of the period. Appendices include a clear and comprehensive account of money and its value in the classical world; a chronology of events across Greece and the east and Rome and the west; maps; and a two-way quick-reference gazetteer. This invaluable resource for students and teachers of classics and classical civilization is affordable and quick and easy to use, as well as being a fascinating guide for anyone interested in learning more about the foundations of Western culture.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major new reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are included...

Beginning in the early 14th century and continuing into the 15th and 16th centuries, the Renaissance was a period of intense intellectual and cultural activity, the fruits of which have had a profound impact on the thought, culture, philosophy, painting and sculpture, and writing of Europe and the wider world ever since. Gordon Campbell, with the help of his team of distinguished consultant and advisory editors, has created a unique new A-Z reference surveying all aspects of the Renaissance in Europe. From da Vinci to Dutch law, from gypsies to geometry, this volume contains an immense breadth of information with over 3,000 entries covering an extensive spectrum of topics including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict...

Oxford Reference Online provides desktop access to 177 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works. For the first time you can access a comprehensive and growing collection of Oxfords reference titles without leaving your desk. The Core Collection, the first database to be available as part of Oxford Reference Online, is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference titles works - containing well over 60,000 pages. It covers the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 5

The Reception of Classical Literature , a Supplement to Brill’s New Pauly gives an overview of the reception and influence of ancient literary works on the literature, art and music from Antiquity to the present.

Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 4

The Reception of Myth and Mythology highlights the routes and works through which the myths of Greece and Rome have passed into the cultural memory of Europe over the centuries, into its literature, music and art and its reflections on aesthetics and philosophy.

From the publisher: The encyclopedia for the Horn of Africa treats all important terms of the history of ideas of this central region between Orient and Africa. After its completion the set will comprise five volumes four text and one index vol-ume with altogether approx. 4000 articles. The topics range from basic data over archaeology, ethnology and anthropology, history, the languages and lit-eratures up to the art, religion and culture.

For almost half a century, the Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivaled one-volume reference work on the Greco-Roman world.

From Library Journal 1991: The 100 contributors, many of them distinguished experts, have succeeded in their "attempt to collect within a single work data concerning all fields of Byzantine studies." The 5000-plus entries provide authoritative coverage not only of "traditional" topics such as art and architecture, basilica, agriculture, chronology, geography, literature, medicine, military strategy, science, and theology, but also many facets of everyday life--baths, clocks, houses, locks and padlocks, etc. The social historian will be especially pleased with the entries on abortion, childbirth, criminal procedure, food and diet, homosexuality, marriage and the family, names, prostitution, and slavery.