Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Britannica (ebooks) Encyclopaedia Britannica
offers more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles and also articles about current events from the Britannica Books of the Year. You can also search a dictionary with 73,000 words, look at geographical and biographical sections and special features on different themes.
Japanska uppslagsverk via NIAS
The Cambridge Handbook of Japanese Linguistics av
The linguistic study of Japanese, with its rich syntactic and phonological structure, complex writing system, and diverse sociohistorical context, is a rapidly growing research area. This book, designed to serve as a concise reference for researchers interested in the Japanese language and in typological studies of language in general, explores diverse characteristics of Japanese that are particularly intriguing when compared with English and other European languages. It pays equal attention to the theoretical aspects and empirical phenomena from theory-neutral perspectives, and presents necessary theoretical terms in clear and easy language. It consists of five thematic parts including sound system and lexicon, grammatical foundation and constructions, and pragmatics/sociolinguistics topics, with chapters that survey critical discussions arising in Japanese linguistics. The Cambridge Handbook of Japanese Linguistics will be welcomed by general linguists, and students and scholars working in linguistic typology, Japanese language, Japanese linguistics and Asian Studies.
The Handbook of Japanese Linguistics av
This Handbook brings together major aspects of Japaneselinguistics, presenting overviews, current concerns and futuredirections of each topic. The areas included are phonology, syntax,semantics, morphology, language acquisition, sentence processing,pragmatics, and sociolinguistics. This Handbook is for thosewho are familiar with the topic at the basic level and wish toinvestigate it in more detail, but it also can be used as alanguage-specific and typological reference. Written by leading scholars in the field Provides a unique and authoritative survey of Japaneselinguistics Each chapter presents an overview of the topic and discussescurrent concerns and future directions
This book consists of sixteen chapters covering the phonology, morphology, writing system, tense and aspect systems, basic argument structure, grammatical constructions, and discourse and pragmatic phenomena of Japanese. It provides researchers with a useful typological reference and students of Japanese with a theory-neutral introduction to current linguistic research issues.
The Phonology of Japanese av
This is the fullest account of Japanese phonology ever published. At the same time it makes original contributions both to current understanding of the Japanese sound system and to contemporary phonological theory more generally. After a consideration of the history of linguistic variation in Japanese, the book focuses on modern standard Japanese and its major dialectical variations.
Handbook of Japanese Syntax av
This volume presents a comprehensive survey of Japanese syntax from these three research strands, namely studies based on the traditional research methods developed in Japan, those from broader functional perspectives, and those couched in the generative linguistics framework.
Handbook of Japanese Psycholinguistics av
This volume contains 18 chapters that discuss our brain functions, specifically, the process of Japanese language acquisition - how we acquire/learn the Japanese language as a first/second language - and the mechanism of Japanese language perception and production - how we comprehend/produce the Japanese language.
Handbook of Japanese Applied Linguistics av
The Handbook of Japanese Applied Linguistics reflects crosscurrents in applied linguistics, an ever-developing branch/discipline of linguistics.
Japanese Communication av
Japanese Communication: Language and Thought in Context opens with a comparison of basic American and Japanese values via cultural icons. Maynard examines topics such as masculine and feminine speech, swearing, expressions of ridicule and conflict, adverbs of emotional attitude and the eloquence of silence.
Japanese at Work av
This book empirically explores how different linguistic resources are utilized to achieve appropriate workplace role inhabitance and to achieve work-oriented communicative ends in a variety of workplaces in Japan.
Handbook of Japanese Lexicon and Word Formation av
This volume presents a comprehensive survey of the lexicon and word formation processes in contemporary Japanese, with particular emphasis on their typologically characteristic features and their interactions with syntax and semantics.
The Japanese Mental Lexicon av
This book surveys the psycholinguistic dimensions of lexical access to the mental lexicon in Japanese, and attempts to synthesize the diversity of Japanese psycholinguistic research into the nature of written word processing in Japanese.