Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tryckta handböcker på biblioteket / Printed handbooks at the library
Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics av
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics presents a comprehensive and systematic exposition of Christian ethics, seen through the lens of Christian worship. An innovative exposition of Christian ethics, seen through the lens of Christian worship Challenges conventional approaches to the subject Restores a sense of the integral connection between Christian ethics and theology Stanley Hauerwas is one of the most influential figures in Christian ethics around the world Embraces contributors from the Roman Catholic, Anglican, Methodist, Presbyterian, Mennonite and Pentecostal traditions Designed to be accessible to introductory students Will have a major impact on the discipline of Christian ethics
Blackwell Companion to Postmodern Theology av
This Companion provides a definitive collection of essays on postmodern theology, drawing on the work of those individuals who have made a distinctive contribution to the field, and whose work will be significant for the theologies written in the new millennium. The definitive collection of essays on postmodern theology, drawing on the work of those individuals who have made a distinctive contribution to the field. Each essay is introduced with a short account of the writer's previous work, enabling the reader to view it in context. Discusses the following desciplines: Aesthetics, Ethics, Gender, Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Heideggerians, and Derrideans. Edited by Graham Ward, one of the most outstanding and original theologians working in the field today.
Blackwell Companion to the Theologians av
This two-volume companion brings together a team of contemporary theologians and writers to provide substantial introductions to the key people who shaped the Christian story and tradition. A substantial two-volume reference work, bringing together over 75 entries on the most important and influential theologians in the history of Christianity Structured accessibly around five periods: early centuries, middle ages, reformation period, the Enlightenment, and the twentieth-century to the present A to Z entries range from substantial essays to shorter overviews, each of which locates the theologian in their immediate context, summarizes the themes of their work, and explains their significance Covers a broad span of theologians, from Augustine to Thomas Aquinas, through to C. S. Lewis, James Cone, and Rosemary Radford Reuther Provides profiles of key Catholic, protestant, evangelical, and progressive theologians Includes a useful timeline to orientate the reader, reading lists, and a glossary of key terms.
Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine av
What is Christian doctrine? The fourteen specially commissioned essays in this book serve to give an answer to many aspects of that question. Written by leading theologians from America and Britain, the essays place doctrine in its setting - what it has been historically, and how it relates to other forms of culture - and outline central features of its content. They attempt to answer questions such as 'what has, and does, Christian doctrine teach about God, the creation, the human condition and human behaviour?' and 'what is the part played in Christian doctrine by the Trinity, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit?' New readers will find this an accessible and stimulating introduction to the main themes of Christian doctrine, while advanced students will find a useful summary of recent developments which demonstrates the variety, coherence and intellectual vitality of contemporary Christian thought.
Cambridge Companion to Feminist Theology av
This book is a critical guide to the scholarly exploration of feminist theology. It describes the main features of this modern theological development and examines its major concerns and questions. It presents comprehensive and critical analyses of the essential matters of Christian doctrine written by contributors knowledgeable in feminist theology. The book presents a challenge for future scholarship, since it critically engages with the assumptions of feminist theology, and seeks to open ways for women after feminism to enter into the vocation of theology.
Cambridge Companion to Liberation Theology av
Liberation theology is widely referred to in discussions of politics and religion but not always adequately understood. The 2007 edition of this Companion brings the story of the movement's continuing importance and impact up to date. Additional essays, which complement those in the original edition, expand upon the issues by dealing with gender and sexuality and the important matter of epistemology. In the light of a more conservative ethos in Roman Catholicism, and in theology generally, liberation theology is often said to have been an intellectual movement tied to a particular period of ecumenical and political theology. These essays indicate its continuing importance in different contexts and enable readers to locate its distinctive intellectual ethos within the evolving contextual and cultural concerns of theology and religious studies. This book will be of interest to students of theology as well as to sociologists, political theorists and historians.
Cambridge Companion to Paul Tillich av
The complex philosophical theology of Paul Tillich (1886-1965), increasingly studied today, was influenced by thinkers as diverse as the Romantics and Existentialists, Hegel and Heidegger. A Lutheran pastor who served as a military chaplain in World War I, he was dismissed from his university post at Frankfurt when the Nazis came to power in 1933, and emigrated to the United States, where he continued his distinguished career. This authoritative Companion provides accessible accounts of the major themes of Tillich's diverse theological writings and draws upon the very best of contemporary Tillich scholarship. Each chapter introduces and evaluates its topic and includes suggestions for further reading. The authors assess Tillich's place in the history of twentieth-century Christian thought as well as his significance for current constructive theology. Of interest to both students and researchers, this Companion reaffirms Tillich as a major figure in today's theological landscape.
Cambridge Companion to Postmodern Theology av
Theologians have responded in many different ways to the challenges posed by theories of postmodernity. Kevin J. Vanhoozer addresses the issue directly in an introductory survey of what "talk about God" might mean in a postmodern age. The book offers examples of different types of contemporary theology in relation to postmodernity, and examines the key Christian doctrines in postmodern perspective. Leading theologians contribute to this informative Companion.
Christian Faith in the Doctrinal Documents of the Catholic Church av
This classic compendium of the documents which define the Christian faith as understood by Catholics includes the creeds of the Church from the earliest times, along with major extracts from all the important decrees of councils, popes and Vatican congregations touching on matters of faith, now fully updated through to 2000. All these documents have been organized in chronological order, under themes, each with a helpful introduction and outline, so that developments in teaching the faith, and the concerns of theology and authority at various periods in the history of the Church, become fully apparent. Indexes and Tables enhance the value of this unique collection for catechists and all students of Church history and theology. Hardbound.
Christian Mysticism av
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Christian Mysticism brings together a team of leading international scholars to explore the origins, evolution, and contemporary debates relating to Christian mystics, texts, and the movements they inspired. Provides a comprehensive and engaging account of Christian mysticism, from its origins right up to the present day Draws on the best of current scholarship by bringing together a collection of newly-commissioned readings by leading scholars Considers examples of mysticism in both Eastern and Western Christianity Offers a brilliant synthesis of the key figures and historical periods of mysticism; its core themes, such as heresy, gender, or aesthetics; and its theoretical considerations, including theological, literary, social scientific, and philosophical approaches Features chapters on current debates such as neuroscience and mystical experience, and inter-religious dialogue
Christian Theology Reader av
This Reader brings together 324 seminal texts of Christian theology, drawn from more than 200 different sources throughout the two thousand years of Christian history. Follows the same structure as its companion volume, Christian Theology: An Introduction, or it can easily be used as a freestanding resource. Contains more classical and multicultural readings to supplement the wide-ranging collection of the first edition. Features updated study panels, introductions to every reading, bibliographies, a substantially revised and expanded glossary and study questions, as well as full cross-referencing. Includes a new section on 'Theological Resources on the Internet'. Won a Christianity Today book award in its first edition. More details on the third edition of The Christian Theology Reader can be found on the following website: http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/mcgrath
A Companion to Augustine av
A Companion to Augustine presents a fresh collection of scholarship by leading academics with a new approach to contextualizing Augustine and his works within the multi-disciplinary field of Late Antiquity, showing Augustine as both a product of the cultural forces of his times and a cultural force in his own right. Discusses the life and works of Augustine within their full historical context, rather than privileging the theological context Presents Augustine's life, works and leading ideas in the cultural context of the late Roman world, providing a vibrant and engaging sense of Augustine in action in his own time and place Opens up a new phase of study on Augustine, sensitive to the many and varied perspectives of scholarship on late Roman culture State-of-the-art essays by leading academics in this field
Handbuch der Dogmengeschichte (Bd I-IV) av
I. Das Dasein im Glauben
II. Der trinitarische Gott – Die Schöpfung – Die Sünde
III. Christologie – Soteriologie – Ekklesiologie – Mariologie – Gnadenlehre
IV. Sakramente – Eschatologie
Herders Theologischer Kommentar zum Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzil (1-5) av
Die Sonderausgabe umfasst alle fünf Bände:
Band 1 enthält - vollständig neu übersetzt - eine lateinisch-deutsche Studienausgabe aller Konzilsdokumente, die durch Wortwahl und Satzbau sehr nah am amtlichen Text bleibt, um auch für jene, die keine vertieften lateinischen Sprachkenntnisse besitzen, den Originaltext verstehbar zu machen.
Die Bände 2-4 kommentieren die 16 Konzilsdokumente jeweils in drei Schritten:
- Ein erster Abschnitt klärt die spezifischen Vorfragen (Anlass, Vorbereitungsdokumente, theologische Vorarbeiten usw.).
- Es folgt eine Auslegung der einzelnen Kapitel und Abschnitte des jeweiligen Dokumentes - der eigentliche theologische Kommentar.
- Den Abschluss bildet eine zusammenfassende theologische und pastorale Würdigung.
Band 5 klärt hermeneutische Fragen und bietet eine Chronik der Konzilsereignisse sowie eine abschließende theologische Zusammenschau.
History of Theology av
As valuable as it is stimulating, this series offers an introduction to a discipline that has rarely been the subject of a comprehensive historical presentation. The multiple volumes that encompass this study bring theology out of its small circle of experts, and show it for what it is to all: a cultural expression of faith that is sensitiveto the needs of the day and developed in close dialogue with other forms of theculture.
The history of theology presented here is meant to be a history of the whole of Catholic Christian theology, from which the Second Vatican Council has served as both a point of arrival and a point of departure. The authors provide a history of theology that covers the twenty centuries of theological thought beginning with biblical revelation. They focus on the word "theology" and its accepted meaning and offer a careful history that shows what "theology" meant in successive periods, periods that must be seen for what they are in light of the faith journeys and cultural itineraries they represent and for their influence on our lives today.
History of Theology will be published in multiple volumes. Volumes cover the entire age of patristic theology from the first to the seventh centuries, medieval and renaissance theology from the late eighth to the fourteenth centuries, and the period from the Council of Trent to the twentieth century. Translated from Italian, this scholarly work is carefully organized and annotated. Text and chronologicaltables are included along with a list of abbreviations and a topical index.
Modern Theologians av
This popular text has been updated to ensure that it continues to provide a current and comprehensive overview of the main Christian theologies of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Each chapter is written by a leading theologian and gives a clear picture of a particular movement, topic or individual. New and updated treatments of topics covered in earlier editions, with over half the chapters new to this edition or revised by new authors. New section singling out six classic theologians of the twentieth century Expanded treatment of the natural sciences, gender, Roman Catholic theology since Vatican II, and African, Asian and Evangelical theologies Completely new chapters on spirituality, pastoral theology, philosophical theology, postcolonial biblical interpretation, Pentecostal theology, Islam and Christian theology, Buddhism and Christian theology, and theology and film As in previous editions, the text opens with a full introduction to modern theology. Epilogue discussing the present situation and prospects of Christian theology in the twenty-first century.
New Handbook of Christian Theology av
An up-to-date and expanded version of a trusted textbook. The New & Enlarged Handbook of Christian Theology brings the information up to date and provides more than 30 additional articles. The list of contributors to this new edition broadens the inclusiveness of the denominational and ethnic representation of the author pool. This handbook provides thorough introductory articles on important themes in Christianity today. With cross references and select bibliographies, it is an indispensable reference source for students and professors.
Orthodox Christian Theology av
Orthodox Christian theology is often presented as the direct inheritor of the doctrine and tradition of the early Church. But continuity with the past is only part of the truth; it would be false to conclude that the eastern section of the Christian Church is in any way static. Orthodoxy, building on its patristic foundations, has blossomed in the modern period. This volume focuses on the way Orthodox theological tradition is understood and lived today. It explores the Orthodox understanding of what theology is: an expression of the Church's life of prayer, both corporate and personal, from which it can never be separated. Besides discussing aspects of doctrine, the book portrays the main figures, themes and developments that have shaped Orthodox thought. There is particular focus on the Russian and Greek traditions, as well as the dynamic but less well-known Antiochian tradition and the Orthodox presence in the West.
Oxford Companion to Christian Thought av
At the dawn of the third millennium, what does it mean to be a Christian? This ambitious and imaginative new reference work is the most authoritative, yet accessible, introduction in English to the living tradition of Christian thought-the 'spiritual, moral, and intellectual luggage' that Christians carry with them into the future. It focuses on the broad sweep of ideasrather than factual detail, surveying all traditions and centuries but concentrating more on the present than the past. The profound pluralism of Christianity determines the choice of subjects as well as the way they are handled, with contributors from all the main traditions writing with sympathyon their own particular topic, expressing diversities of emphasis and even significant disagreements, making the text highly readable, challenging, and at times controversial.
Problem of Evil av
The Blackwell Companion to the Problem of Evil presents a collection of original essays providing both overview and insight, clarifying and evaluating the philosophical and theological "problem of evil" in its various contexts and manifestations. Features all original essays that explore the various forms of the problems of evil, offering theistic responses that attempt to explain evil as well as discussion of the challenges facing such explanations Includes section introductions with a historical essay that traces the developments of the issues explored. Acknowledges the fact that there are many problems of evil, some of which apply only to those who believe in concepts such as hell and some of which apply to non-theists. Represents views from the various religious traditions, including Hindu, Jewish, Christian, and Muslim.
Reformation Theologians av
The Reformation Theologians introduces the theological context, thought, and contributions of selected theologians of the sixteenth-century Reformations to students and scholars of the theology and history of Christianity. The selection intends to provide as inclusive a range of theologians as possible within the limits of a single text of reasonable length. An ideal introduction to the ideas and contribution of key theologians of the sixteenth-century Reformation. Explores a wide range of ideas and theologians within just one volume. The contributors to this volume are internationally established scholars in the fields of historical and systematic theology.
Routledge Companion to Modern Christian Thought av
This Companion provides an unrivalled view of the field of modern Christian thought, from the Enlightenment to the twentieth century and beyond. Written by an outstanding team of theologians and philosophers of religion, it covers the following topics within Christian thought: Key figures and influencers Central events and movements Major theological issues and key approaches to Christian Theology Recent topics and trends in Christian thought Each entry is clear and accessible, making the book the ideal resource for students of Christian thought and history and philosophy of religion, and a valuable reference for professional theologians and philosophers.
Theology after Liberalism av
This Reader brings together texts which articulate or debate with the mode of theology most commonly identified as "post-liberal". It provides an introduction to this major contemporary theological option for students of systematic theology.The wide sampling of theological writing represented here seeks to move beyond the dominant conventions of modern theology, by retrieving aspects of the classical Christian tradition and exploring its potential for creative and constructive theology in the modern context.The volume, introduced by two substantial editorial essays, is divided into three sections. First, there are readings which treat major doctrinal areas as they have been handled by 'post-liberal' theologians. Second, there are readings which treat issues of the methods, norms and sources of theology. Third, there are critiques of 'post-liberal' theology from a variety of perspectives. Each reading is introduced and contextualized by the editors.
T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Theology and Climate Change av
The T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Theology and Climate Change entails a wide-ranging conversation between Christian theology and various other discourses on climate change. Given the far-reaching complicity of "North Atlantic Christianity" in anthropogenic climate change, the question is whether it can still collaborate with and contribute to ongoing mitigation and adaptation efforts. The main essays in this volume are written by leading scholars from within North Atlantic Christianity and addressed primarily to readers in the same context; these essays are critically engaged by respondents situated in other geographic regions, minority communities, non-Christian traditions, or non-theological disciplines. Structured in seven main parts, the handbook explores- 1) the need for collaboration with disciplines outside of Christian theology to address climate change; 2) the need to find common moral ground for such collaboration; 3) the difficulties posed by collaborating with other Christian traditions from within; 4) the questions that emerge from such collaboration for understanding the story of God's work; and 5) God's identity and character; 6) the implications of such collaboration for ecclesial praxis; and 7) concluding reflections examining whether this volume does justice to issues of race, gender, class, other animals, religious diversity, geographical divides and carbon mitigation. This rich ecumenical, cross-cultural conversation provides a comprehensive and in-depth engagement with the theological and moral challenges raised by anthropogenic climate change.
Online via Lunds universitets bibliotek / Lund University Libraries
Oxford Handbook of Aquinas av
Thomas Aquinas (1224/6-1274) lived an active, demanding academic and ecclesiastical life that ended while he was still comparatively young. He nonetheless produced many works, varying in length from a few pages to a few volumes.The present book is an introduction to this influential author and a guide to his thought on almost all the major topics on which he wrote. The book begins with an account of Aquinas's life and works. The next section contains a series of essays that set Aquinas in his intellectual context. Theyfocus on the philosophical sources that are likely to have influenced his thinking, the most prominent of which were certain Greek philosophers (chiefly Aristotle), Latin Christian writers (such as Augustine), and Jewish and Islamic authors (such as Maimonides and Avicenna). The subsequent sectionsof the book address topics that Aquinas himself discussed. These include metaphysics, the existence and nature of God, ethics and action theory, epistemology, philosophy of mind and human nature, the nature of language, and an array of theological topics, including Trinity, Incarnation, sacraments,resurrection, and the problem of evil, among others. These sections include more than thirty contributions on topics central to Aquinas's own worldview. The final sections of the volume address the development of Aquinas's thought and its historical influence. Any attempt to present the views of a philosopher in an earlier historical period that is meant to foster reflection on that thinker's views needs to be both historically faithful and also philosophically engaged. The present book combines both exposition and evaluation insofar as its contributorshave space to engage in both. This Handbook is therefore meant to be useful to someone wanting to learn about Aquinas's philosophy and theology while also looking for help in philosophical interaction with it.
Oxford Handbook of English Literature and Theology av
Publikationsdatum: Print publication date: 2009
Abstract: A volume of essays in which scholars apply an interdisciplinary approach to the evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology, this work also offers a chronological account of key moments in the formation of the tradition, and explores great themes that have preoccupied the Jewish and Christian traditions.
Oxford Handbook of Eschatology av
Publikationsdatum: Print publication date: 2007
Abstract: Eschatology is the study of the 'last things': death, judgment the afterlife, and the end of the world. 'The Oxford Handbook of Eschatology' will provide an important critical survey of this diverse body of thought and practice.
Oxford Handbook of Evangelical Theology av
Evangelical theology is a burgeoning field. This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. Each chapter has been written by a theologian or scholar who is widely recognized for his or her published work and is considered a leading thinker on that topic.
Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theology av
This handbook highlights the relevance of globalization and the insights of gender studies and religious studies for feminist theology. Beginning with a discussion of the position of the discipline at the turn of the twenty-first century, it seeks to present an inclusive account of feminist theology in the early twenty-first century that acknowledges the reflection of women on religion beyond the global North and its forms of Christianity. Globalization is taken as the central theme, as the foremost characteristic of the context in which we do feminist theology today. The handbook traces the impacts of globalization on gender and religion in specific geographical contexts, describing the implications for feminist theological thinking. A final section explores the changing contents of the field, moving toward new models of theology, distinct from both the structure and language of traditional Christian systematic theology and the forms of secular feminism. The handbook draws on material from several religious traditions and every populated continent, with chapters provided by a team of international scholars.
Oxford Handbook of Philosophical Theology av
Abstract: Philosophical theology aims at achieving a theoretical understanding of the nature and attributes of God and of God's relationship to the world and its inhabitants. This book contains 26 essays which cover theological prolegomena, divine attributes, God and creation, topics in Christian philosophy, and much more.
Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology av
Abstract: This is a set of original and authoritative accounts, by a distinguished international team of authors, of all the major areas of current research in Christian systematic theology offering a thorough survey of the state of the discipline and of its prospects for those undertaking research and teaching in the field.
Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics av
Abstract: What are the practical and theoretical issues that concern and shape theological ethics? This handbook offers a guide to the discipline. Written by an international group of 30 scholars the book is aimed at all students and academics who want to explore more fully essential topics in Christian ethics.
Oxford Handbook of the Trinity av
presents the key theological and philosophical discussions relating to the Trinity,
The Oxford Handbook of Martin Luther's Theology av
As celebrations of the five-hundredth anniversary of Martin Luther's initiation of the most dramatic reform movement in the history of Christianity approach, 47 essays by historians and theologians from 15 countries provide insight into the background and context, the content, and the impactof his way of thought. Nineteenth-century Chinese educational reformers, twentieth-century African and Indian social reformers, German philosophers and Christians of many traditions on every continent have found in Luther's writings stimulation and provocation for addressing modern problems. This volume offers studies of the late medieval intellectual milieus in which his thought was formed, the hermeneutical principles that guided his reading and application of the Bible, the content of his formulations of Christian teaching on specific topics, his social and ethic thought, the ways inwhich his contemporaries, both supporters and opponents, helped shape his ideas, the role of specific genre in developing his positions on issues of the day, and the influences he has exercised in the past and continues to exercise today in various parts of the world and the Christian church.Authors synthesize the scholarly debates and analysis of Luther's thinking and point to future areas of research and exploration of his thought.
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender av
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender presents an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. These topics are not merely contentious and pervasive: they have escalated in importance within theology. Theologians increasingly agree that even the very doctrine of God cannot be contemplated without a prior grappling with each. Featuring 41 newly-commissioned essays, written by some of the foremost scholars in the discipline, this authoritative collection presents and develops the latest thinking in these areas. Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores: methodological approaches; contributions from neighbouring disciplines; sexuality and gender in the Bible, and in the Christian tradition; controversies within the churches, and within four of the non-Christian faiths; and key concepts and issues. The final, extended section considers theology in relation to married people and families; gay and lesbian people; bisexual people; intersex and transgender people; disabled people; and to friends. This volume is an essential reference for students and scholars, which will also stimulate further research.
Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology av
Offers a comprehensive survey and interpretation of contemporary Christian political theology in a newly revised and expanded edition This book presents the latest thinking on the topic of contemporary Christian political theology, with original and constructive essays that represent a range of opinions on various topics. With contributions from expert scholars in the field, it reflects a broad range of methodologies, ecclesial traditions, and geographic and social locations, and provides a sense of the diversity of political theologies. It also addresses the primary resources of the Christian tradition, which theologians draw on when constructing political theologies, and surveys some of the most important figures and movements in political theology. This revised and expanded edition provides the most comprehensive and accessible introduction to this lively and growing area of Christian theology. Organized into five sections, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, Second Edition addresses the many changes that have occurred over the last 15 years within the field of political theology. It features new essays that address social developments and movements, such as Anglican Social Thought, John Milbank, Anabaptist Political Theologies, African Political Theologies, Postcolonialism, Political Economy, Technology and Virtuality, and Grass-roots Movements. The book also includes a new essay on the reception of Liberation Theology. Offers essays on topics such as the Trinity, atonement, and eschatology Features contributions from leading voices in the field of political theology Includes all-new entries covering fresh developments and movements like the urgency of climate change, virtuality and the digital age, the economic crisis of 2008, the discourse of religion and violence, and new modalities of war Addresses some important social movements from a theological point of view including postmodernism, grass-roots movements, and more Provides both Islamic and Jewish responses to political theology Written for academics and students of political theology, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, 2nd Edition is an enlightening read that offers a wide range of authoritative essays from some of the most notable scholars in the field.