Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Swedish encyclopedia
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions allows you to discover a new subject or topic through an introduction written by authors who are experts in their field.
Collections of digital encyclopedias and handbooks
Wiley Online Library is the home of quality reference resources from across the social sciences and humanities.
Britannica Academic consists of the Encyclopedia, a Dictionary, Primary Sources, Journals/Periodicals, Images, Videos, Web’s best sites and in Year in review. Britannica also contains a large collection of biographies, maps, a compare countries tool and world statistics.
"Oxford Reference Online of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource."
"SAGE knowledge is a platform that allows you to cross-search more than 2500 titles of SAGE eBook and eReference content."
A selection of digital encyclopedias and handbooks
The Future of Human Rights av
This monograph critically examines the contemporary discourses on the nature of 'human rights', their histories, the myths that are embedded in them, and contributes an alternative reading of those histories by placing the concerns and interests of the 'people in struggle and communities of resistance' at centre stage. It examines the cold reality that despite the last century being justly being describe as the century of human rights, the 'rightless and suffering peoples' still remain; it analyzes the gulf between the actuality and possibilities for the future. It analyzes the significance of the UN and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and goes on to study the more contemporary issues such as women's struggle to feminize the understanding and practice of human rights, the post-modernist critique of the universal idiom of human rights and, most pertinently for the current world scene, it analyzes the impact of globalization on the human rights movement.
Gender and Human Rights av
In this book feminist scholars from a range of areas including international law, rights, citizenship, queer theory, constitutional law and migration studies bring fresh perspectives to gender and human rights. By relating women's international human rights to broader debates about feminism, rights and international society, this collection of essays both provides a sophisticated introduction to gender and human rights and offers a variety of fresh theoretical perspectives and methods.
A Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology av
This newly revised, greatly expanded, and updated edition is the essential tool for navigating the language of international human rights related to law, jurisprudence, politics, diplomacy, and philosophy. Broadening the scope and enhancing our understanding of international human rights, the second edition ofA Handbook of International Human Rights Terminologycontains over four hundred new commonly used key terms and acronyms as well as corrections to terms that have taken on new meaning since the publication of the original. It also includes new treaty instruments and citations of important human rights instruments. Designed to be accessible to persons from different systems and regions of the world, this handbook fills an important void in the burgeoning discourse of international human rights and will become a vital reference work for specialists, students, and newcomers to this field.
Human Rights and UN Peace Operations av
This unique book, one of the first of its kind, discusses how human rights actually featured in UN peace operations in the deadly conflicts in the former Yugoslavia between 1992 and 1996. It is based on original materials in the possession of the author, who was Director of the International Conference on the Former Yugoslava from 1992 to 1996 and also served as Director of the Office of the UN Special Representative in charge of all peacemaking, peacekeeping, and humanitarian operations in the region. The book brings out the strategic centrality of human rights in the wide-ranging humanitarian operations. It shows how the peacekeepers built in a human rights dimension for the first time in the history of UN peacekeeping. And it shows how the peace negotiators sought to build their peace proposals on the foundations of human rights. It shows the peacemakers advocating justice for the victims while proceeding with their negotiating efforts. The great value of this book is that the author, who was personally involved in all of the activities he writes about, shows how human rights were instilled in practice in UN peace operations over a period of some four years and it also reveals, for the first time, some innovative ideas advanced that might be helpful in future peace operations.