Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Britannica (ebooks) Encyclopaedia Britannica
offers more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles and also articles about current events from the Britannica Books of the Year. You can also search a dictionary with 73,000 words, look at geographical and biographical sections and special features on different themes.
Oxford English Dictionary, OED (ebooks)
The Oxford English Dictionary
is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED Online offers access to the complete contents of the 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary
and the 3-volume Additions Series
(1993-97). It covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
The SAGE Handbook of European Studies av
Europe is one of the world's oldest civilizations. But what does it mean to be European today? What place does Europe have in global affairs? How should we analyze its key institutions, system of governance and broader cultural, social and political dynamics? This exhaustive and timely handbook will: • explore the transformations that characterize contemporary Europe • investigate how we can best study Europe • consolidate European studies and provide a platform for future study • increase the profile of European studies.
The Oxford Handbook of Continental Philosophy av
The Oxford Handbook of Continental Philosophyis the definitive guide to the major themes of the continental European tradition in philosophy in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science av
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences av
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
The SAGE Handbook of European Union Politics av
The European Union (EU) poses quite profound questions for scholars and students of the social and political sciences. This benchmark Handbook is designed to provide an authoritative state-of-the art guide to the scope of the field suitable for both established scholars and students of the EU; reflect and contribute to the debates about the nature of the field of EU studies and EU politics in particular; and explore in detail the development of the many approaches to the study of EU politics. Divided into four sections, the Handbook focuses on theorizing European integration; the EU as polity; politics and policy making in the EU; and the EU and the international system.