Gå till huvudinnehållet
Det verkar som att du använder Internet Explorer 11 eller en äldre version. Den här webbplatsen fungerar bäst med moderna webbläsare som de senaste versionerna av Chrome, Firefox, Safari och Edge. Om du fortsätter med den här webbläsaren kan du få oväntad
Tryckta uppslagsverk på LUX-biblioteket
Printed reference books at the LUX Library
Christianity : the complete guide av
A monumental and authoritative work covering every aspect of Christianity and the impact it has made on the world, throughout history and to the present day. This is the complete guide to the astonishing heritage of Christianity worldwide.
Dictionary of Christian Biography av
There are, within this dictionary, the brief biographies of rather more than 6500 Christians. They have been selected for inclusion in this volume because, in their public lives, their commitment to Christianity played an important part.
Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations av
This reference is a pioneering work which explores and defines the many factors which characterise the historic and ongoing relationship between the two traditions. From Aaron to Zionism, the editors have brought together over 700 entries--including events, institutions, movements, people, places and publications--contributed by more than 100 internationally renowned scholars. The Dictionary, compiled under the auspices of the Cambridge-based Centre for the Study of Jewish-Christian Relations, offers a focus for the study and understanding of Jewish-Christian relations internationally, both within and between Judaism and Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Theology av
An essential and reliable reference work and manual of the Christian faith this book provides both students and interested readers with a basic text presenting the findings of modern scholarly thought and research. Ecumenical in spirit and approach, no responsible and inquiring Christian can afford to be without it.>
Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche (LThK ; 11 vol. + Abkürzungsverzeichnis) av
Produktbeskrivning: Das »Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche« ... gehört in seiner 3. Auflage ... zu den großen, international anerkannten Standardwerken, die sowohl für die theologische Wissenschaft als auch für die kirchliche Praxis unentbehrlich sind. Das »LThK« ist ein deutschsprachiges katholisches Lexikon mit weltkirchlicher und ökumenischer Offenheit. Schwerpunkte der Darstellung sind die katholische Theologie und die katholisch-kirchlichen Verhältnisse im deutschsprachigen Raum. Einbezogen sind der europäischnordamerikanische Raum, die Kirche in der sogenannten Dritten Welt sowie die evangelische und orthodoxe Theologie.
... Jeder Artikel schließt mit einer Übersicht über die wichtigste Literatur, zudem werden Quellen- und Werkausgaben genannt.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (18 vol.) av
An international work of reference on the teachings, history, organization, and activities of the Catholic Church, and on all institutions, religions, philosophies, and scientific and cultural developments affecting the Catholic Church from its beginning to the present.
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church av
From Library Journal 1997: It will come as no surprise to those already familiar with earlier editions (1957, 1974) that the third edition of this title remains unrivaled as the authoritative one-volume dictionary of the Christian church, its doctrines and practices, and its most influential historical figures. In addition, the reader will find a host of entries pertaining to the Bible and its world.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Martin Luther (3 vol.) av
This encyclopedia is a collaboration of the leading scholars in the field of Reformation research and the thought, life, and legacy of influence - for good and for ill - of Martin Luther. In 2017 the world marks 500 years since the beginning of the public work of Luther, whose protest againstcorrupt practices and the way theology was taught captured Europe's attention from 1517 onward. Comprising 125 extensive articles, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Martin Luther examines:* the contexts that shaped his social and intellectual world, such as previous theological and institutional developments * the genres in which he worked, including some he essentially created* the theological and ethical writings that make up the lion's share of his massive intellectual output* the complicated and contested history of his reception across the globe and across a span of disciplinesThis indispensable work seeks both to answer perennial questions as well as to raise new ones. Intentionally forward-looking in approach, the ORE of Martin Luther provides a reliable survey to such issues as, for instance, how did Luther understand God? What did he mean by his notion of "vocation?"How did he make use of, but also transform, medieval thought patterns and traditions? How did Luther and the Reformation re-shape Europe and launch modernity? What were his thoughts about Islam and Judaism, and how did the history of the effects of those writings unfold? Scholars from a variety of disciplines - economic history, systematic theology, gender and cultural studies, philosophy, and many more - propose an agenda for examining future research questions prompted by the harvest of decades of intense historical scrutiny and theological inquiry.
Theologische Realenzyklopädie (36 vol. + register) av
Produktinformation: Since the publication of its first installment in 1976, the Theologische Realenzyklopädie (TRE) has provided a comprehensive account of the state of theological research. Some 2000 articles present a multitude of historical and theological data in their context of faith and thought, theology and religion. A multidisciplinary approach integrates into the theological account not only the disciplines of Old Testament and New Testament Studies, Church History, and Systematic and Practical Theology but also Judaic Studies, Religious Studies and Philosophy.
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms, Second Edition av
This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms, 1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines: contemporary theologies, biblical studies, church history, ethics, feminist theology, global theologies, hermeneutics, liberation theology, liturgy, ministry, philosophy, philosophy of religion, postcolonial theology, social sciences, spiritually, worship, and Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies. This new edition also includes cross-references that link readers to other related terms, commonly used scholarly abbreviations and abbreviations for canonical and deuterocanonical texts, an annotated bibliography, and a new introductory section that groups together terms and concepts, showing where they fit within particular theological categories. No other single volume provides the busy student, and the theologically experienced reader, with such easy access to so many theological definitions.
Uppslagsverk online via Lunds universitets bibliotek
Reference books online via Lund University Libraries
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity av
Publikationsdatum: Print publication date: 2001
Product description: Containing over 700 articles, this Dictionary allows the reader to explore Eastern Christian civilization in its cultural and religious riches. The articles are written by an international team of fifty contributors, including leading histoians, theologians, linguists, philosophers, musicians, and scholars of liturgy and iconography.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought av
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought is an authoritative and readable reference source for all interested in the development of Christian thought from the dawn of the Enlightenment to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes substantial review essays dealing with the development of central themes of Christian thought, including the doctrine of God, the person and work of Christ, and Christian understandings of other religions.
Companion Encyclopedia of Theology av
Product description: The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology provides a comprehensive guide to modern theological thought. An international team of theologians and practitioners of both Christian and Jewish faiths investigate and consider aspects of theology in 48 self-contained articles. Neither partisan and denominational, nor detached and abstract, this Companion explores the resources and applications of theology in the light of Christianity's place in the modern world.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide to every aspect of the Christian Religion and life, including theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible. There are also many entries on theologians, philosophers, painters, musicians, and writers of religious works. It is up to date with contemporary issues, covering the Eastern Churches, issues on moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council, Black Churches, Christian attitudes to Jews, Feminist Theology, the Holiness Movement, Liberation Theology, and the ordination of women.
Oxford Dictionary of Popes av
Product description: This fascinating dictionary gives concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. Also, an appendix provides a detailed discussion and analysis of the tradition that there has been a female pope. This new edition reflects the very latest in papal research and contains additional information in the further reading sections of each entry, making the book an even more useful starting place for research into specific pontiffs.
Oxford Dictionary of Saints av
Praised as "splendid" (The Economist) and "the kind of book that gives hagiography a good name" (The Times), this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, theOxford Dictionary of Saintsoffers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world. Ranging from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated, the saints profiled here come from all walks of life, from all periods of history, and from around the world, reflecting a wide variety of personalities and achievements. This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts.
Original Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia (TCE) was published in 15 volumes between 1907 and 1912 by the Robert Appleton Company. In 1913 the publisher, renamed as Encyclopedia Press, Inc., released a new edition. A year later (1914) a comprehensive Index was released as Volume 16.
This Original Catholic Encyclopedia (OCE) site holds the complete 16 volume set with the original text of all articles (~11,500) faithfully preserved.
Catholic Answers began the process of creating an authoritative reproduction of this classic, world-renowned reference by scanning 14,000+ pages from the original volumes and processing the scans with OCR software. Issues that arose from the scanning/OCR process were addressed by a team of Catholic editors and technicians. All TCE content on this site was produced by Catholic Answers directly from original Catholic Encyclopedia print volumes.