LibGuides: Översättarutbildningen: Databaser

Databaser

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA covers literature on all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
MLA International Bibliographyoffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The database also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Also included are journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached.
Subjects covered are: Literature, Language and Linguistics, Folklore, Literary Theory & Criticism, Dramatic Arts, as well as the historical aspects of Printing and Publishing. Listings on Rhetoric and Composition and the history, theory and practice of Teaching Language and Literature are also included.
The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals that contains detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
Oxford Reference Online (ebooks)
Oxford Reference Online provides desktop access to 177 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works. For the first time you can access a comprehensive and growing collection of Oxfords reference titles without leaving your desk. The Core Collection, the first database to be available as part of Oxford Reference Online, is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference titles works - containing well over 60,000 pages. It covers the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional. Complete listing of dictionaries and reference titles.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content.
Index Translationum
The database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979 and totals more than 2.000.000 entries in all disciplines: literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth.
Ethnologue : Languages of the world
Here, you find information about every known living language.

Handböcker

Handbook of Pragmatics Online
The Handbook of Pragmatics provides up-to-date information on research in the field of linguistic pragmatics, conceived as the interdisciplinary (cognitive, social, and cultural) science of natural language use. The encyclopaedia consists of topical articles (from anaphora and bilingualism to codeswitching, cohesion, discourse markers, implicitness, mass media, negation, social institutions, and terms of address) and brief biographies of eminent scholars. It also offers an extensive overview of research traditions that belong or have contributed to pragmatics (from accommodation theory, analytical philosophy and anthropological linguistics, to cognitive linguistics, construction grammar, conversation analysis, discourse analysis, literary pragmatics, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, relevance theory, sociolinguistics, speech act theory, and universal and transcendental pragmatics, to name just a few), of research methods (from contrastive analysis and corpus analysis to ethnography, experimentation, logical analysis, statistics, and taxonomy), and of notation systems (from formal semantics to transcription systems for spoken discourse).
Handbook of Translation Studies Online
The new Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS) aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience: not only students who often adamantly prefer such user-friendliness, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, Translation & Interpreting professionals; but also scholars and experts from other disciplines (among which linguistics, sociology, history, psychology).In addition the HTS addresses any of those with a professional or personal interest in the problems of translation, interpreting, localization, editing, etc., such as communication specialists, journalists, literary critics, editors, public servants, business managers, (intercultural) organization specialists, media specialists, marketing professionals.

Oxford Reference Online
Contains a number of english and bilingual dictionaries, as well as an extensive english language reference section, with dictionaries devoted to slang, idioms, etymology, etc.

Korpus

Corpus of Contemporary American English
The corpus of Global Web-based English (GloWbE; pronounced "globe") is unique in the way that it allows you to carry out comparisons between different varieties of English.

BdSL Online - Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (ebooks)
BdSL Online, Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (även känd under titeln Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch), är den viktigaste bibliografiska informationskällan för germanistik, tyskspråkig språkvetenskap och litteraturvetenskap.
BdSL Online, the International Bibliography of German Literature and Literary studies (also known as the quoting title Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch), is the most important bibliographic source of information in German studies. BDSL is compiled by the Stadt- und Universitaetsbibliothek (Public and University Library) Frankfurt/Main.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION!
Please note that: Unauthorized copying of individual records or other contents of the online version of BDSL is forbidden and you may NOT grant third parties any such permissions.
Terms of Use: Authorized users may access the content of the online version of the BdSL, display it, and download and print small segments of it. This reproduction is limited to the creation of single copies of a reasonable number of individual records.
Authorized users are not permitted to alter the content of the database, to adapt, change, transform, or translate it or to create derivative works based on the content of the database or to use such material in a manner that would infringe the copyright of this material.

Frantext is a major corpus of French texts
FRANTEXT is a major corpus of French texts spanning the 16th to 20th centuries and a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.