Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tryckta uppslagsverk på biblioteket / Printed reference books at the library
Atlas of Global Christianity 1910-2010 av
The Atlas of Global Christianity is a thorough visual reference of the changing status of global Christianity over the 100 years since the epoch-making ‘Edinburgh 1910’ World Missionary Conference. It is the first scholarly atlas to depict the twentieth-century shift of Christianity to the Global South. It is also the first to map Christian affiliation at the provincial level.
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity av
Containing over 700 articles, this Dictionary allows the reader to explore Eastern Christian civilization with its cultural and religious riches. The articles are written by a team of 50 international contributors, including leading historians, theologians, linguists, philosophers, patrologists, musicians, and scholars of liturgy and iconography.
Dictionary of Christian Lore and Legend av
Product description: For nearly two thousand years Christian themes have inspired or influenced our culture and way of life. And yet, the Old and New Testaments, the symbols and saints of Christianity, its history and teachings... are unfamiliar to a secularized society... In a single... volume, Professor Metford solves the problem. Each of the more than 1700 articles provides a key to a work of art, or to an entire tradition.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity (2 vol.) av
Product description: With a combination of essay-length and short entries written by a team of leading religious experts, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodoxy offers the most comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity available in English today. An outstanding reference work providing the first English language multi-volume account of the key historical, liturgical, doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches.
Encyclopedia of Monasticism (2 vol.) av
... is the first work in any language to examine monasticism past and present, devoting nearly equal attention to the three great strands. Stated in chronological order of their emergence, these are: Buddhist monasticism, Earstern Christian monasticism, and Western Christian monasticism.
Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy av
From the preface: This volume, which is a collaborative effort involving more than forty contributors from the United States and abroad, focuses on the historical, political, diplomatic, social, cultural, and religious role of the Vatican and the papacy in the modern world. The major emphasis is therefore on the Vatican since the time of the Renaissance...
New International Dictonary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements av
The Definitive History of the Spirit-Filled Church Encyclopedic coverage of: Activities of the Spirit over 2,000 years of church history in 60 countries and regions Outpourings at Topeka, Mukti Mission (India), Azusa Street, Duquesne University, and many other 20th-century locations Current movements among today's 500 million-plus Pentecostal and charismatic Christians worldwide.
New SCM dictionary of Christian spirituality av
Product description: ... a useful reference work on all aspects of Christian spirituality. It deals with every denomination throughout Christian history and is arranged alphabetically for ease of use.
Oxford Dictionary of Saints av
Baksidestext: From the famous to the obscure, this book provides concise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,300 saints.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Martin Luther (3 vol.) av
This encyclopedia is a collaboration of the leading scholars in the field of Reformation research and the thought, life, and legacy of influence - for good and for ill - of Martin Luther. In 2017 the world marks 500 years since the beginning of the public work of Luther, whose protest againstcorrupt practices and the way theology was taught captured Europe's attention from 1517 onward. Comprising 125 extensive articles, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Martin Luther examines:* the contexts that shaped his social and intellectual world, such as previous theological and institutional developments * the genres in which he worked, including some he essentially created* the theological and ethical writings that make up the lion's share of his massive intellectual output* the complicated and contested history of his reception across the globe and across a span of disciplinesThis indispensable work seeks both to answer perennial questions as well as to raise new ones. Intentionally forward-looking in approach, the ORE of Martin Luther provides a reliable survey to such issues as, for instance, how did Luther understand God? What did he mean by his notion of "vocation?"How did he make use of, but also transform, medieval thought patterns and traditions? How did Luther and the Reformation re-shape Europe and launch modernity? What were his thoughts about Islam and Judaism, and how did the history of the effects of those writings unfold? Scholars from a variety of disciplines - economic history, systematic theology, gender and cultural studies, philosophy, and many more - propose an agenda for examining future research questions prompted by the harvest of decades of intense historical scrutiny and theological inquiry.
Vatican archives : an inventory and guide to historical documents of the Holy See av
Produktbeskrivning: Vatican Archives provides the first comprehensive guide to one of the richest archival sources for the history of the Western world. Organized into related agency groups, it includes approximately 500 entries that describe the purpose and workings of each administrative agency of the Vatican and the official records it produces-- the very records that now constitute the archives. Serving as a research tool that provides a systematic and previously unavailable overview of the archives, this book enhances and expediates access by scholars in a broad range of disciplines.
Online via Lunds universitets bibliotek / Lund University Libraries
Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity Online av
The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE. The BEEC aims to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and to update the historiography.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide to every aspect of the Christian Religion and life, including theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible. There are also many entries on theologians, philosophers, painters, musicians, and writers of religious works. It is up to date with contemporary issues, covering the Eastern Churches, issues on moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council, Black Churches, Christian attitudes to Jews, Feminist Theology, the Holiness Movement, Liberation Theology, and the ordination of women.
Oxford Dictionary of Popes av
Product description: This fascinating dictionary gives concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. Also, an appendix provides a detailed discussion and analysis of the tradition that there has been a female pope. This new edition reflects the very latest in papal research and contains additional information in the further reading sections of each entry, making the book an even more useful starting place for research into specific pontiffs.
Oxford Dictionary of Saints av
Praised as "splendid" (The Economist) and "the kind of book that gives hagiography a good name" (The Times), this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, theOxford Dictionary of Saintsoffers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world. Ranging from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated, the saints profiled here come from all walks of life, from all periods of history, and from around the world, reflecting a wide variety of personalities and achievements. This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation av
A critical chapter in the history of Christian thought, the Reformation provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world. This is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. It is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation--including not only issues of church polity andtheology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, music,the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution, and literacy.