Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical optics FAFN 35 and FYST 22
This page summarizes useful literature for the course Medical Optics (FAFN35-FYST22). Many of the listed books are available through the library as hard copies or ebooks.
For help with the tools and services that the library offers, please feel free to contact the library staff.
Optical-Thermal Response of Laser-Irradiated Tissue by
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
The second edition maintains the standard of excellence established in the first edition, while adjusting the content to reflect changes in tissue optics and medical applications since 1995. The material concerning light propagation now contains new chapters devoted to electromagnetic theory for coherent light. The material concerning thermal laser-tissue interactions contains a new chapter on pulse ablation of tissue. The medical applications section now includes several new chapters on Optical Coherent Tomography, acoustic imaging, molecular imaging, forensic optics and nerve stimulation. A detailed overview is provided of the optical and thermal response of tissue to laser irradiation along with diagnostic and therapeutic examples including fiber optics. Sufficient theory is included in the book so that it is suitable for a one or two semester graduate or for senior elective courses. Material covered includes (1) light propagation and diagnostic application; (2) the thermal response of tissue and therapeutic application; (3) denaturation; and (4) ablation.The theory and applications provide researchers with sufficient detail that this volume will become the primary reference for laser-tissue interactions and medical applications.
Tissue Optics by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This second edition covers the intensive growth in tissue optics--in particular, the field of tissue diagnostics and imaging--that has occurred since 2000. As in the original edition, Part I describes fundamentals and basic research, and Part II presents instrumentation and medical applications. The extensive new material includes results on tissue optical property measurements, including polarized light interaction with turbid tissues; an overview of new polarization imaging and spectroscopy techniques, optical computed tomography (OCT) developments and applications; updates on controlling tissue optical properties, and the optothermal and optoacoustic interaction of light with tissues; and descriptions of fluorescence, nonlinear spectroscopies, and inelastic light scattering.
Applied Laser Medicine by
Publication Date: 2004-06-03
This handbook is intended for the advanced specialist and for the practitioner interested in the application of lasers in medicine. It provides state-of-the art summaries of all available medical laser systems and the indications for their clinical use. The first part introduces basic laser physics, including laser-tissue interactions as well as technical equipment and particular techniques developed for medical use in connection with laser. The second part of the text covers all areas of laser application in medicine presented by senior specialists from different countries, each having extensive practical experience.
Lasers for Medical Applications by
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
Lasers have a wide and growing range of applications in medicine. Lasers for Medical Applications summarises the wealth of recent research on the principles, technologies and application of lasers in diagnostics, therapy and surgery. Part one gives an overview of the use of lasers in medicine, key principles of lasers and radiation interactions with tissue. To understand the wide diversity and therefore the large possible choice of these devices for a specific diagnosis or treatment, the respective types of the laser (solid state, gas, dye, and semiconductor) are reviewed in part two. Part three describes diagnostic laser methods, for example optical coherence tomography, spectroscopy, optical biopsy, and time-resolved fluorescence polarization spectroscopy. Those methods help doctors to refine the scope of involvement of the particular body part or, for example, to specify the extent of a tumor. Part four concentrates on the therapeutic applications of laser radiation in particular branches of medicine, including ophthalmology, dermatology, cardiology, urology, gynecology, otorhinolaryngology (ORL), neurology, dentistry, orthopaedic surgery and cancer therapy, as well as laser coatings of implants. The final chapter includes the safety precautions with which the staff working with laser instruments must be familiar. With its distinguished editor and international team of contributors, this important book summarizes international achievements in the field of laser applications in medicine in the past 50 years. It provides a valuable contribution to laser medicine by outstanding experts in medicine and engineering. Describes the interaction of laser light with tissue Reviews every type of laser used in medicine: solid state, gas, dye and semiconductor Describes the use of lasers for diagnostics
Biomedical Optics by
Publication Date: 2007-05-29
This entry-level textbook, covering the area of tissue optics, is based on the lecture notes for a graduate course (Bio-optical Imaging) that has been taught six times by the authors at Texas A&M University. After the fundamentals of photon transport in biological tissues are established, various optical imaging techniques for biological tissues are covered. The imaging modalities include ballistic imaging, quasi-ballistic imaging (optical coherence tomography), diffusion imaging, and ultrasound-aided hybrid imaging. The basic physics and engineering of each imaging technique are emphasized. A solutions manual is available for instructors; to obtain a copy please email the editorial department at email@example.com.
Biomedical Photonics Handbook by
Publication Date: 2003-03-26
A wide variety of biomedical photonic technologies have been developed recently for clinical monitoring of early disease states; molecular diagnostics and imaging of physiological parameters; molecular and genetic biomarkers; and detection of the presence of pathological organisms or biochemical species of clinical importance. However, available information on this rapidly growing field is fragmented among a variety of journals and specialized books. Now researchers and medical practitioners have an authoritative and comprehensive source for the latest research and applications in biomedical photonics. Over 150 leading scientists, engineers, and physicians discuss state-of-the-art instrumentation, methods, and protocols in the Biomedical Photonics Handbook. Editor-in-Chief Tuan Vo-Dinh and an advisory board of distinguished scientists and medical experts ensure that each of the 65 chapters represents the latest and most accurate information currently available.
Handbook of Biomedical Optics by
Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Biomedical optics holds tremendous promise to deliver effective, safe, non- or minimally invasive diagnostics and targeted, customizable therapeutics. Handbook of Biomedical Opticsprovides an in-depth treatment of the field, including coverage of applications for biomedical research, diagnosis, and therapy. It introduces the theory and fundamentals of each subject, ensuring accessibility to a wide multidisciplinary readership. It also offers a view of the state of the art and discusses advantages and disadvantages of various techniques. Organized into six sections, this handbook: Contains introductory material on optics and the optical properties of tissue Describes the various forms of spectroscopy and its applications in medicine and biology, including methods that exploit intrinsic absorption and scattering contrast; dynamic contrast; and fluorescence and Raman contrast mechanisms Provides extensive coverage of tomography from the microscopic (optical coherence tomography) to the macroscopic (diffuse optical tomography) to photoacoustic tomography Discusses cutting-edge translations to biomedical applications in both basic sciences and clinical studies Details molecular imaging and molecular probe development Highlights the use of light in disease and injury treatment The breadth and depth of multidisciplinary knowledge in biomedical optics has been expanding continuously and exponentially, thus underscoring the lack of a single source to serve as a reference and teaching tool for scientists in related fields. Handbook of Biomedical Opticsaddresses this need, offering the most complete up-to-date overview of the field for researchers and students alike.
Lasers in Dermatology and Medicine by
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Laser technology is constantly evolving and progressing. The use of laser therapy is vastly expanding and for this reason a medical book of this magnitude is necessary. Lasers and Light Therapy includes an up-to-date comprehensive look at lasers and light therapy not only in the field of Cutaneous Laser Surgery, but in other medical specialties as well.
Laser-Tissue Interactions by
Publication Date: 2007-08-15
Medical practitioners, scientists and graduate students alike will find this exhaustive survey a vital learning tool. It provides a thorough description of the fundamentals and applications in the field of laser-tissue interactions. Basic concepts such as the optical and thermal properties of tissue, the various types of tissue ablation, and optical breakdown and its related effects are treated in detail. The author pays special attention to mathematical tools (Monte Carlo simulations, the Kubelka-Munk theory etc.) and approved techniques (photodynamic therapy, laser-induced interstitial thermotherapy etc.). A section on applications reviews clinically relevant methods in modern medicine using the latest references.
The Science of Phototherapy: an Introduction by
Publication Date: 2005-12-05
This volume emphasizes the science underlying the various phototherapy procedures, which encompasses aspects of classical and molecular photophysics, biological photochemistry, photobiology and biophotonics. Suitable as an introductory reference or textbook.
Optical Polarization in Biomedical Applications by
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
Optical Polarization in Biomedical Applications introduces key developments in optical polarization methods for quantitative studies of tissues, while presenting the theory of polarization transfer in a random medium as a basis for the quantitative description of polarized light interaction with tissues. This theory uses the modified transfer equation for Stokes parameters and predicts the polarization structure of multiple scattered optical fields. The backscattering polarization matrices (Jones matrix and Mueller matrix) important for noninvasive medical diagnostic are introduced. The text also describes a number of diagnostic techniques such as CW polarization imaging and spectroscopy, polarization microscopy and cytometry. As a new tool for medical diagnosis, optical coherent polarization tomography is analyzed. The monograph also covers a range of biomedical applications, among them cataract and glaucoma diagnostics, glucose sensing, and the detection of bacteria.
Optical Imaging and Microscopy by
Publication Date: 2007-08-17
This text on contemporary optical systems is intended for optical researchers and engineers, graduate students and optical microscopists in the biological and biomedical sciences. In three sections, the book discusses high-aperture optical systems, nonlinear optical techniques, and various techniques that are finding new applications. The new second edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded to account for new advances in fluorescence imaging and diffractive optical lenses.
Optical Interferometry for Biology and Medicine by
Publication Date: 2011-12-03
This book presents the fundamental physics of optical interferometry as applied to biophysical, biological and medical research. Interference is at the core of many types of optical detection and is a powerful probe of cellular and tissue structure in interfererence microscopy and in optical coherence tomography. It is also the root cause of speckle and other imaging artefacts that limit range and resolution. For biosensor applications, the inherent sensitivity of interferometry enables ultrasensitive detection of molecules in biological samples for medical diagnostics. In this book, emphasis is placed on the physics of light scattering, beginning with the molecular origins of refraction as light propagates through matter, and then treating the stochastic nature of random fields that ultimately dominate optical imaging in cells and tissue. The physics of partial coherence plays a central role in the text, with a focus on coherence detection techniques that allow information to be selectively detected out of incoherent and heterogeneous backgrounds. Optical Interferometry for Biology and Medicine is divided into four sections. The first covers fundamental principles, and the next three move up successive scales, beginning with molecular interferometry (biosensors), moving to cellular interferometry (microscopy), and ending with tissue interferometry (biomedical). An outstanding feature of the book is the clear presentation of the physics, with easy derivations of the appropriate equations, while emphasizing "rules of thumb" that can be applied by experimental researchers to give semi-quantitative predictions.
The Biomedical Engineering Handbook by
Publication Date: 2006-04-28
A short decade ago, TheBiomedical Engineering Handbookdebuted and was quickly embraced as the biomedical engineer's "Bible." Four years later, the field had grown so dramatically that the handbook was offered in two volumes. Now, the early years of the new millennium have seen so much growth and change in the biomedical field that a new, larger, and broader resource is necessary. In its most versatile incarnation yet, this Third Editionis available as a set of three carefully organized and focused volumes that, when combined, maintain the handbook's standing as the most comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and timely biomedical reference available. What's included in the Third Edition? Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals This first volume surveys physiology, bioelectric phenomena, biomaterials, biomechanics, and the other broad disciplines that constitute the modern biomedical engineering landscape. It includes an entirely new section on neuroengineering in addition to many new and revised chapters and a 14-page full-color insert. Medical Devices and Systems Offering an overview of the tools of the biomedical engineering trade, this book focuses on signal analysis, imaging, sensors, devices, systems, instruments, and clinical engineering. It includes two new sections on infrared imaging and medical informatics, numerous other additions and updates, and a 32-page full-color insert. Tissue Engineering and Artificial Organs The third installment examines state-of-the-art applications of biomedical engineering. Integrating life sciences as another facet of the field, it includes a new section on molecular biology. The book also features a new section on bionanotechnology, 90 percent new material in the tissue engineering section, many new and updated chapters, and a 24-page full-color insert. Incorporating new developments, technologies, and disciplines, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Third Editionremains the most comprehensive central core of knowledge available to the field.
Biomedical Engineering by
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
Biomedical Engineering: Health Care Systems, Technology and Techniques is an edited volume with contributions from world experts. It provides readers with unique contributions related to current research and future healthcare systems. Practitioners and researchers focused on computer science, bioinformatics, engineering and medicine will find this book a valuable reference.
Biomedical Ethics for Engineers by
Publication Date: 2007-03-30
Biomedical Ethics for Engineers provides biomedical engineers with a new set of tools and an understanding that the application of ethical measures will seldom reach consensus even among fellow engineers and scientists. The solutions are never completely technical, so the engineer must continue to improve the means of incorporating a wide array of societal perspectives, without sacrificing sound science and good design principles. Dan Vallero understands that engineering is a profession that profoundly affects the quality of life from the subcellular and nano to the planetary scale. Protecting and enhancing life is the essence of ethics; thus every engineer and design professional needs a foundation in bioethics. In high-profile emerging fields such as nanotechnology, biotechnology and green engineering, public concerns and attitudes become especially crucial factors given the inherent uncertainties and high stakes involved. Ethics thus means more than a commitment to abide by professional norms of conduct. This book discusses the full suite of emerging biomedical and environmental issues that must be addressed by engineers and scientists within a global and societal context. In addition it gives technical professionals tools to recognize and address bioethical questions and illustrates that an understanding of the application of these measures will seldom reach consensus even among fellow engineers and scientists. #65533; Working tool for biomedical engineers in the new age of technology #65533; Numerous case studies to illustrate the direct application of ethical techniques and standards #65533; Ancillary materials available online for easy integration into any academic program
Fundamentals of Biomedical Optics by
Publication Date: 2017-05-07
Prof. Boudoux's book covers a comprehensive range of topics in biomedical optics and biophotonics. The organization of the material is well thought out, starting off with a toolbox of essential concepts that are general and yet detailed enough for a broad range of student backgrounds. The heart of the book covers the essential topics of tissue optics, as well as optical imaging system design concepts. With a well-balanced combination of engineering and physics, this text is an asset for students, and will be a valued long-term reference.