Perspektiv på kurs

e-book!
In this thoroughly updated edition of L. Dee Fink s bestselling classic, he discusses new research on how people learn, active learning, and the effectiveness of his popular model; adds more examples from online teaching; and further focuses on the impact of student engagement on student learning. The book explores the changes in higher education nationally and internationally since the publication of the previous edition, includes additional procedures for integrating one s course, and adds strategies for dealing with student resistance to innovative teaching. <br /> <br /> This edition continues to provide conceptual and procedural tools that are invaluable for all teachers when designing instruction. It shows how to use a taxonomy of significant learning and systematically combine the best research-based practices for learning-centered teaching with a teaching strategy in a way that results in powerful learning experiences for students. Acquiring a deeper understanding of the design process will empower teachers to creatively design courses that will result in significant learning for students.

e-book!
The original Visible Learning research concluded that one of the most important influencers of student achievement is how teachers think about learning and their own role. In Ten Mindframes for Visible Learning, John Hattie and Klaus Zierer define the ten behaviors or mindframes that teachers need to adopt in order to maximize student success. These include: thinking of and evaluating your impact on students¿ learning; the importance of assessment and feedback for teachers; working collaboratively and the sense of community; the notion that learning needs to be challenging; engaging in dialogue and the correct balance between talking and listening; conveying the success criteria to learners; building positive relationships. These powerful mindframes, which should underpin every action in schools, are founded on the principle that teachers are evaluators, change agents, learning experts, and seekers of feedback who are constantly engaged with dialogue and challenge. This practical guide, which includes questionnaires, scenarios, checklists, and exercises, will show any school exactly how to implement Hattie¿s mindframes to maximize success.

Medical education, the art and science behind medical teaching and learning, has progressed remarkably. Teaching and learning have become more scientific and rigorous, curricula are based on sound pedagogical principles, and problem-based and other forms of active and self-directed learning have become the mainstream. We have progressed from the role of problem-identifier to that of solution-provider. This book provides a balanced overview of the "why" of medical education, emphasizing the need for change and adaptation, and the "how, " by demonstrating the way concepts and theories of medical education can be of immediate benefit to the medical teacher. In short, this is a simple and non-intimidating book for general medical teachers to enhance their understanding of medical education and to improve their teaching. Medical teachers from all disciplines as well as basic science and clinical teachers.

Drawing heavily from Bloom's Taxonomy, this new book helps teachers understand and implement a standards-based curriculum. An extraordinary group of cognitive psychologists, curriculum specialists, teacher-educators, and researchers have developed a two-dimensional framework, focusing on knowledge and cognitive processes, that defines what students are expected to learn in school. A series of vignettes-written by and for teachers-illustrates how to use this unique framework. A revision only in the sense that it builds on the original framework, it is a completely new manuscript in both text and organization. Its two-dimensional framework interrelates knowledge with the cognitive processes students use to gain and work with knowledge. Together, these define the goals, curriculum standards, and objectives students are expected to learn. The framework facilitates the exploration of curriculums from four perspectives-what is intended to be taught, how it is to be taught, how learning is to be assessed, and how well the intended aims, instruction and assessments are aligned for effective education. This "revisited" framework allows you to connect learning from all these perspectives. This "Professional Edition" includes an additional section ("The Taxonomy in Perspective,") which is not available in the "Revisited for Teachers" edition of the book.

This revised and greatly expanded edition of the 1988 handbook offers teachers at all levels how-to advise on classroom assessment, including: What classroom assessment entails and how it works. How to plan, implement, and analyze assessment projects. Twelve case studies that detail the real-life classroom experiences of teachers carrying out successful classroom assessment projects. Fifty classroom assessment techniques Step-by-step procedures for administering the techniques Practical advice on how to analyze your data Order your copy today.

I. INTRODUCTION AND EXPLANATION. 1. The Nature and Development of the Taxonomy. 2. Educational Objectives and Curriculum Development. 3. The Problems of Classifying Educational Objectives and Test Exercises. II. THE TAXONOMY AND ILLUSTRATIVE MATERIALS. 1. Knowledge. 2. Comprehension. 3. Application. 4. Analysis. 5. Synthesis. 6. Evaluation. Appendix.

Universities are rarely structured to facilitate learning and when they are, it is often done so in a limited way. This book looks at the theory and practice of learning and how universities can improve their quality and competence. It tackles the past failure of the quality and competence movements and advocates a move towards 'Universities of Learning'. The authors advocate an integration of elements that are often dealt with separately - theory and practice, teaching and research, and the levels of institution and individual - and handle these dimensions of integration in conjunction with each other. This new paperback edition will be essential reading for all those who are concerned with improving learning in higher education. It includes an updated preface that takes account of developments since the publication of the hardback edition.

"This fully revised, updated and expanded fourth edition of A Handbook for Teachers in Universities and Colleges covers much new ground. Academics in teaching posts in universities and colleges have often had no teacher training, and frequently lack practical knowledge of how teaching should be approached and organized. Likewise, many require guidance on planning courses, preparing and using teaching materials, and assessing students' work." "This fourth edition covers all of these areas in a clear, down-to-earth and entertaining manner, offering copious practical advice and guidance. It also includes new material on teaching with the Internet and online resources, and on the moves in institutions towards greater accountability and quality assessment."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Teaching International Studentsexplores the challenges presented to lecturer and student alike by increased cultural diversity within universities. Packed with practical advice from experienced practitioners and underpinned by reference to pedagogic theory throughout, topics covered include: the issues arising from international students studying alongside ‘home’ students the nature of learning and teacher-student relationships curriculum and development of teaching skills multicultural group work postgraduate supervision the experience of the international student Teaching International Studentsis essential reading. It demonstrates how improved training for teachers and a better understanding of the international student can enhance the experience of both and, ultimately, provide more positive learning environments for international students in the higher education system.

This Fourth Edition of the highly praised Practical Guide for Medical Teachers provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of medical education and the delivery of enthusiastic and effective teaching in basic science and clinical medicine. Healthcare professionals are committed teachers and this book is a practical guide to help them maximise their performance. Practical Guide for Medical Teachers charts the steady rise of global interest in medical education in a concise format. This is a highly practical book with useful "Tips" throughout the text. The continual emergence of new topics which are of interest to teachers in all healthcare disciplines is recognised in this new edition with seven new chapters: The hidden curriculum; Team based learning; Patient safety; Assessment of attitudes and professionalism; Medical education leadership; Medical education research; and How to manage a medical college An enlarged group of 73 authors from 14 countries provide both an international perspective and a multiprofessional approach to topics of interest to all healthcare teachers.

This unique and ground-breaking book is the result of 15 years research and synthesises over 800 meta-analyses on the influences on achievement in school-aged students. It builds a story about the power of teachers, feedback, and a model of learning and understanding. The research involves many millions of students and represents the largest ever evidence based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Areas covered include the influence of the student, home, school, curricula, teacher, and teaching strategies. A model of teaching and learning is developed based on the notion of visible teaching and visible learning. A major message is that what works best for students is similar to what works best for teachers “ an attention to setting challenging learning intentions, being clear about what success means, and an attention to learning strategies for developing conceptual understanding about what teachers and students know and understand. Although the current evidence based fad has turned into a debate about test scores, this book is about using evidence to build and defend a model of teaching and learning. A major contribution is a fascinating benchmark/dashboard for comparing many innovations in teaching and schools.

Encourages teachers to adopt best teaching practice, and challenges them to assess whether they are systematically doing all they can to deliver courses, lectures, tutorials and other educational activities and events in effective and appropriate ways. Finns i MedCULs bibliotek.

Learners complain that they do not get enough feedback, and educators resent that although they put considerable time into generating feedback, students take little notice of it. Both parties agree that it is very important. Feedback in Higher and Professional Education explores what needs to be done to make feedback more effective. It examines the problem of feedback and suggests that there is a lack of clarity and shared meaning about what it is and what constitutes doing it well. It argues that new ways of thinking about feedback are needed. There has been considerable development in research on feedback in recent years, but surprisingly little awareness of what needs to be done to improve it and good ideas are not translated into action. The book provides a multi-disciplinary and international account of the role of feedback in higher and professional education. It challenges three conventional assumptions about feedback in learning: That feedback constitutes one-way flow of information from a knowledgeable person to a less knowledgeable person. That the job of feedback is complete with the imparting of performance-related information. That a generic model of best-practice feedback can be applied to all learners and all learning situations It seeking a new approach to feedback, it proposes that it is necessary to recognise that learners need to be much more actively involved in seeking, generating and using feedback. Rather than it being something they are subjected to, it must be an activity that they drive.

e-book!
For teachers in higher education who haven't been able to catch up with developments in teaching and learning, James Davis and Bridget Arend offer an introduction that focuses on seven coherent and proven evidence-based strategies. The underlying rationale is to provide a framework to match teaching goals to distinct ways of learning, based on well-established theories of learning. The authors present approaches that readers can readily and safely experiment with to achieve desired learning outcomes, and build confidence in changing their methods of teaching. Research on learning clearly demonstrates that learning is not one thing, but many. The learning associated with developing a skill is different from the learning associated with understanding and remembering information, which in turn is different from thinking critically and creatively, solving problems, making decisions, or change paradigms in the light of evidence. Differing outcomes involve different ways of learning and teaching strategies. The authors provide the reader with a conceptual approach for selecting appropriate teaching strategies for different types of content, and for achieving specific learning objectives. They demonstrate through examples how a focused and purposeful selection of activities improves student performance, and in the process makes for a more effective and satisfying teaching experience. The core of the book presents a chapter on each of the seven ways of learning. Each chapter offers a full description of the process, illustrates its application with examples from different academic fields and types of institutions, clearly describes the teacher's facilitation role, and covers assessment and online use. The seven ways of learning are: Behavioral Learning; Cognitive Learning; Learning through Inquiry; Learning with Mental Models; Learning through Groups and Teams; Learning through Virtual Realities; and Experiential Learning. Along the way, the authors provide the reader with a basis for evaluating other approaches to teaching and other learning methodologies so that she or he can confidently go beyond the "seven ways" to adapt or adopt further strategies. This is the ideal companion for teachers who are beginning to explore new ways of teaching, and want to do some serious independent thinking about learning. The book can also be used to prepare graduate students for teaching, and will be welcomed by centers for teaching and learning to help continuing faculty re-examine a particular aspect of their teaching.

e-book!
Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition of Understanding Medical Education synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education. Written and edited by an international team, this latest edition continues to cover a wide range of subject matter within five broad areas - Foundations, Teaching and Learning, Assessment and Selection, Research and Evaluation, and Faculty and Learners - as well as featuring a wealth of new material, including new chapters on the science of learning, knowledge synthesis, and learner support and well-being. The third edition of Understanding Medical Education: Provides a comprehensive and authoritative resource summarizing the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice Meets the needs of all newcomers to medical education whether undergraduate or postgraduate, including those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level Offers a global perspective on medical education from leading experts from across the world Providing practical guidance and exploring medical education in all its diversity, Understanding Medical Education continues to be an essential resource for both established educators and all those new to the field.

e-book!
Foreword to the first edition:"This book is an exceptional introduction to some difficult ideas. It is full of downright good advice for every academic who wants to do something practical to improve his or hers students' learning." Paul Ramsden, Brisbane, Australia Endorsements for the fourth edition: "Biggs and Tang present a unified view of university teaching that is both grounded in research and theory and replete with guidance for novice and expert instructors. The book will inspire, challenge, unsettle, and in places annoy and even infuriate its readers, but it will succeed in helping them think about how high quality teaching can contribute to high quality learning." John Kirby, Queens University, Ontario, Canada "For those teaching in schools and universities this book provides a framework that can be used to guide teaching from thinking about what a program, topic, lesson or lecture should be about, to the execution of the teaching and reflection on the outcomes. The guiding framework emerges from a sound conceptual analysis of the how the interaction between teacher and student can be organised to result in learning that enables students to approach the levels of understanding and problem solving that we hope will emerge from our teaching." Mike Lawson, School of Education, Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia This best-selling book explains the concept of constructive alignment used in implementing outcomes-based education. Constructive alignment identifies the desired learning outcomes and helps teachers design the teaching and learning activities that will help students to achieve those outcomes, and to assess how well those outcomes have been achieved. Each chapter includes tasks that offer a 'how-to' manual to implement constructive alignment in your own teaching practices. This new edition draws on the authors' experience of consulting on the implementation of constructive alignment in Australia, Hong Kong, Ireland and Malaysia including a wider range of disciplines and teaching contexts. There is also a new section on the evaluation of constructive alignment, which is now used worldwide as a framework for good teaching and assessment, as it has been shown to: Assist university teachers who wish to improve the quality of their own teaching, their students' learning and their assessment of learning outcomes Aid staff developers in providing support for departments in line with institutional policies Provide a framework for administrators interested in quality assurance and enhancement of teaching across the whole universityThe authors have also included useful web links to further material. Teaching for Quality Learning at University will be of particular interest to teachers, staff developers and administrators.

The Third Edition of this highly respected book has been further refined following feedback and consultation; it continues to provide essential structure, support, guidance and tips for both beginning and experienced teachers and their managers. The new edition has been developed for use by both UK and international teachers. Its content is designed to be relevant and inclusive to all healthcare disciplines, and has been thoroughly reorganised to ensure more intuitive placement of information. Key points are highlighted by the new inclusion of Tips from experienced teachers in each chapter, while newly-written chapters reflect contemporary concepts and key approaches, including teaching styles, curriculum development, e-learning, virtual learning environments, leadership and professionalism. This book will continue to benefit everyone teaching health professionals at all levels, including general practitioners and hospital doctors, nurses in primary and secondary care, professionals allied to medicine and health service managers. From reviews of previous editions: 'A useful book for those with a genuine interest in the full gamut of education' - ANNALS OF THE ROYAL COLLEGE OF SURGEONS OF ENGLAND 'Comprehensive and easy to understand. If you are looking for a book that will help you develop your teaching skills and to open your mind to the broader aspects of teaching in the healthcare setting then this is a gem not to be missed. For once it is a book that lives up to its title.' - SCOTTISH JOURNAL OF HEALTHCARE CHAPLAINCY 'A book which has a considerable relevance for community practice teachers whatever their nursing discipline. The strength of the book is its practical approach to guiding and assessing students in the practice setting.' - JOURNAL OF COMMUNITY NURSING

Since the publication of the first edition of this book in 1983, A Handbook for Medical Teachers has established itself as an ideal resource for new and established teachers who frequently still have little opportunities for education training. Its popularity relates to the successful combination of sound educational principles, a how-to-do-it approach and an entertaining easy-to-read style. It is supported by numerous illustrations, examples, and pertinent cartoons. This fourth edition has been extensively revised to reflect the major changes that continue to occur in both undergraduate and postgraduate education. Many academic staff are coming under external and internal review to demonstrate their teaching competence and the quality of their courses and assessments. This book gives valuable help and advice to those having to respond to such pressures. The illustrations are by Zig Kapelis , formerly Senior Lecturer in Architecture at the University of Adelaide.

"How can university teachers improve the quality of student learning? Prosser and Trigwell argue that the answer lies in determining how students perceive their unique learning situations. In doing so they draw upon the considerable body of educational research into student learning in higher education which has been developed and published over the past three decades; and they enable university teachers to research and improve their own teaching." "This book outlines the key principles underlying successful teaching and learning in higher education, and is a key resource for all university teachers."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

This bestselling book is a unique introduction to the practice of university teaching and its underlying theory. This new edition has been fully revised and updated in view of the extensive changes which have taken place in higher education over the last decade and includes new material on the higher education context, evaluation and staff development. The first part of the book provides an outline of the experience of teaching and learning from the student's point of view, out of which grows a set of prinicples for effective teaching in higher education. Part two shows how these ideas can enhance educational standards, looking in particular at four key areas facing every teacher in higher education: * Organising the content of undergraduate courses * Selecting teaching methods * Assessing student learning * Evaluating the effectivenesss of teaching. Case studies of exemplary teaching are used throughout to connect ideas to practice and to illustrate how to ensure better student learning. The final part of the book looks in more detail at appraisal, performance indicators, accountability and educational development and training. The book is essential reading for new and experienced lecturers, particularly those following formal programmes in university teaching, such as courses leading to ILT accreditation.

A leading M.I.T. social scientist and consultant examines five professions - engineering, architecture, management, psychotherapy, and town planning - to show how professionals really go about solving problems.The best professionals, Donald Schön maintains, know more than they can put into words. To meet the challenges of their work, they rely less on formulas learned in graduate school than on the kind of improvisation learned in practice. This unarticulated, largely unexamined process is the subject of Schön's provocatively original book, an effort to show precisely how 'reflection-in-action' works and how this vital creativity might be fostered in future professionals.

For the first time in a single core textbook, the Association for the Study of Medical Education presents a complete and authoritative guide to medical education. Written by leading experts in the field, Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This accessible and timely reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development. As well as providing practical guidance for clinicians, teachers and researchers, Understanding Medical Education will prove an invaluable resource to those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level and a first 'port-of-call' for anyone engaged in medical education as an academic discipline. Exploring medical education in all its diversity and containing all you need in one place, Understanding Medical Education is the ideal reference not only for medical educators, but for anyone involved in the development of healthcare professionals, in whatever discipline wherever they are in the world. An on-line edition of the complete book, together with individual chapter downloads, are available at www.wileymedicaleducation.com Understanding Medical Education has been brought together and edited by Professor Tim Swanwick, Director of Professional Development in the London Deanery, Visiting Fellow at the Institute of Education and Visiting Professor of Medical Education at the University of Bedfordshire.

"Susan Toohey focuses not on teaching techniques but on the strategic decisions which must be made before a course begins. She provides realistic advice for university and college teachers on how to design more effective courses without underestimating the complexity of the task facing course developers. In particular, she examines fully the challenges involved in leading course design teams, getting agreement among teaching staff and managing organizational politics."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

This book presents a theory of learning that starts with the assumption that engagement in social practice is the fundamental process by which we get to know what we know and by which we become who we are. The primary unit of analysis of this process is neither the individual nor social institutions, but the informal ‘communities of practice' that people form as they pursue shared enterprises over time. To give a social account of learning, the theory explores in a systematic way the intersection of issues of community, social practice, meaning, and identity. The result is a broad framework for thinking about learning as a process of social participation. This ambitious but thoroughly accessible framework has relevance for the practitioner as well as the theoretician, presented with all the breadth, depth, and rigor necessary to address such a complex and yet profoundly human topic.

"This book is a treasure trove of practical suggestions for promoting reflections and feedback that is based upon sound educational theory and research. I recommend it highly." - David M. Irby, PhD, Vice Dean for Education University of California The authors of this concise volume describe the two underlying principles of becoming a thoughtful practitioner: reflection and feedback. They offer strategies to assist students in developing the attitudes and skills to think about and assess their work, consciously and consistently. Physicians, nurses, psychologists, social workers who are educators of students, residents and practitioners in the health professions will find this an invaluable resource.

Praise for the previous edition: "This is a passionate and practical book" Teaching in Higher Education "This book offers valuable insights into a process for becoming a reflective learner and for developing students into reflective learners as well." Studies in Higher Education This significantly revised edition includes the most current thinking on reflective learning as well as stories from academics and students that bring to life the practical impact of reflection in action. Based on sound theoretical concepts, the authors offer a range of solutions for different teaching situations, taking into account factors such as group size, physical space, and technology. They also offer facilitation rather than traditional teaching methods as a productive and useful skill that helps teachers and encourages students to interact and develop reflexive skills that can be used beyond their student years. Based on rigorous theories, Facilitating Reflective Learning in Higher Education offers new insights for university and college teachers seeking to enhance or diversify their practices and allows them to effectively facilitate their students' reflective learning.

Kapitel 7, Different worlds in the same classroom.